We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad, and the ugly. Bottom line , you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albergue Tupiniquim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Albergue Tupiniquim to your Saves list
Albergue Tupiniquim
Rua Paulo Barreto, 79, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22280-010, Brazil (Botafogo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“The good, the bad, and the ugly. Bottom line , you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

The Good

Location -
They are in a safe neighborhood close to everything you need (groceries, bars, food). Three blocks from a main street where you can catch a bus to anywhere in the city and a ten minute walk from the underground that can get you to the beaches in 10 minutes.

Dinner buffet -
Food in Rio is not cheap. Those kilo buffets suddenly get expensive when you get to Rio. The hostel puts on a spread that is crazy cheap and considering its all you can eat, pretty damn good. Not a huge variety of dishes, but enough to keep your stomach happy.

The Bad

Staff -
Your looking at about a 50% success rate. Several of the staff are more interested in checking their Facebook then helping you. That is including when they are suppose to be serving at the bar! There are also a couple that can help you out and give you good tips on where to go. But 50% is not a passing grade. . .

The Ugly

We stayed in two different private ensuite rooms which were pretty good. We also stayed in a dorm room our last night which I wouldn't even allow my dog to sleep in. Gross sheets, no window, and too many beds for the amount of space there was.

Bottom Line -

It is cheaper then any other place you are going to find. The location is pretty good! Don't plan on getting much help from the staff, but be happy on that rare occasion when you do get one that is doing their job.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    27
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
22
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the double room with private bathroom and except for the visiting pigeon that somehow snuck in it was really good! Great spread of food for the occasional dinners (pay extra for that) and wonderful roof top bar. The caipirinhas were quite a good deal and fellow travelers were very mellow and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in Tupiquinim due to its good reviews. However, I have to say I was deeply dissapointed. Im not really fussy when it comes to hostels, all I ask for is a clean room and a smile at reception. If youre coming to merely sleep, then this hostel is fine. If you think a smile on arrival should be a given then you will not like this place. We were not made to feel welcome at all, were not given any info about services they provide or the area and could not wait to leave. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The hostel was nice and clean. They serve meals. Lots of options for sleeping. The staff was fun to talk with. Full bar and great staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
151 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed in Tupiniquim for almost a week and absolutely appreciated the comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, good common area, the possibility of using the refrigerator where I could store kilograms of watermelon...
Internet access was a bit more expensive than I would like it to be.

On the other hand, their breakfast is simply scrumptious - lots and lots of fruit :)

I liked the location - it was only a 15 minute run from the famous Ipanema - for running freaks - there's an asphalt running trail along Ipanema and Copacabana and there are many beautiful people running there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Where in the world...?!
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed at Tupiniquim twice in Feb either side of Carnaval. Unfortunately we couldnt actually book for that period because the hostel was so popular (If you want to book for next year get in asap!), but that didnt stop us spending most of Carnaval period in their bar!

The staff were amazing, especially the owner. They organised Samba shows and barbecues through carnaval, nights out in the town, boat parties, football matches - you name it really - and always for affordable prices. When no specific events were happening the small bar and courtyard area was always a great place to hang out and socialise, but they had the thoughtfulness to turn music off at 12 so you actually could sleep if you wanted, or head into town with a group if you wanted to carry on the party.

In the day time there were lots of different areas to hang out on different floors of the hostel whether you wanted to play pool, chill in a beanbag, or watch a DVD - all were catered for.

The breakfast was amazing with lots of options including fruit, fresh breads, meats, cheese, juices and hot drinks. They also had a great cook who made an awesome homemade buffet meal each night (always different) for a ridiculously cheap 4 pounds - all you can eat.

Dorms were not huge, but there were big lockable lockers under the beds to safely store all your bags and belongings which was great for piece of mind, and meant the rooms stayed reasonably tidy. The hostel itself also had big iron gates out front so you always felt secure in that respect.

The location was good.. Botafogo is a reasonably safe feeling neighbourhood (though id still always get a cab at night rather than walking round) with lots of reasonably priced street bars and restaurants, and a couple of clubs nearby. There is also a supermarket a 3 min walk from the hostel if you want to self cater, and the beaches of Copacabana and Ipanema are between 10-20 mins bus ride away with the bus stop right next to the hostel. You can also walk to the Sugarloaf mountain in 15 mins, and Christ hovers on the hill over Botafogo!

If i was going back to Rio i would DEFINITELY stay at Tupiniquim again. Whether in a large group or alone its the best place to meet people and have an amazing time.

And if you are going for Carnaval there is no better place to be!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergue Tupiniquim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergue Tupiniquim

Address: Rua Paulo Barreto, 79, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22280-010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 494 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are at a 5 min. bus ride from a really nice-not-overcrowded beach but we are light years ahead the vast majority of the hostels in terms of service, staff, personality, fun - All rooms (except for a couple 6-people shared bathroom) have their own bathroom and there are shared bathrooms in the 2nd. and 3rd. floor if you are in a hurry ... - spacious rooms with extra big windows for maximum ventilation (except for 1 windowless shared room, but this got extra air conditioning: 6 PM to 12 pm ... - solid-noble-wood double bunks with plenty of space (1 meter) between each bed ... I said double and not triple bunks :) - 17 cm high and 120 kg resistant, comfortable, brand-new mattresses (and not those cheap and dirty ones you see in many hostels) - 6 double, triple or quadruple private rooms ... - free bedsheets and blankets - free brazilian style breakfast (08:00 to 10:00) - fully equipped backpackers kitchen where you can fully use all things (except for the fridge) - luggage room ( in case you check out and want to hang around) - plenty of space in our terrace with it's bbq area and Christ the Redeemer view ... - lots of the most popular board games such as: chess, backgammon, checkers, risk, domino, cards, etc ... - multicultural library to understand rio de janeiro and brazil - airport and bus station pickup (subject to availability) - all the travel info you might possibly need - car parking (third party) available near the hostel - taxes included - no minimum or maximum stay (except for New Year's Eve and Carnival) - no lockout or curfew ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Albergue Tupiniquim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergue Tupiniquim Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergue Tupiniquim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.