We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You could do better.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stone of a Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rio de Janeiro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stone of a Beach
Save
You added Stone of a Beach to your Saves list
Rua Barata Ribeiro 111 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22011001, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Chilliwack
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“You could do better.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

We stayed in 4 different hostels on our month trip around south america and this was the worst hostel we stayed at.

It was appealing because of its location. 4 blocks from Copacabana beach, 4 blocks from the subway at a decent price, we were sold.

We arrived and the staff was very friendly but seemed to be disorganized. The lobby was full of people waiting to be checked in and checked out. We were asked to wait an hour so they could get everything organized. The took our bags for us so we could go explore for a little while.

We returned to check in and things seemed to calm down a little. I did noticed that the lobby was full of dirty sheets and towels though. We were checked in and shown to our room. We were told we had to wait till 10pm that night to get clean sheet and towels.
We stayed in a 8 room door. At the time, there was only 2 other people staying in the room, but the floors looked like they hadn't been swept or mopped for a while.
The mattresses on our beds were made of vinyl/plastic but were ripped and dirty.
We had 2 girls move into our room that night as bugs were found in the room they were staying in. The air conditioning in our room was only able to turn on between 10pm & 10am. If you wanted to stay cool during the day, you had to cram into the lobby with everyone else and try and get a seat on the bench they had.

I would classify this as a party hostel. The roof top is a bar that play loud music and offers organized rides/tours to night clubs. Even though there are signs in the hostels that you are not to drink your own alcohol, we noticed that our roommate hid some in his locked and would come in and out at night to get drinks.

Overall, if your looking for a clean, quiet place to stay, please look somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    8
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
2
4
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Was travelling in South America and decided to stay in a hostel in Rio for the last 4 nights of the trip - I had called 2 WEEKS in advance and was told a private room was available for all 4 nights.
Flight was delayed and landed in Rio at 2am. Upon arrival at the hostel, the security guard and receptionist were both asleep, along with 3 others guys, who were apparently sleeping on the floor in the 'lobby', which is basically a dirty, poorly lit hallway.
The guy at the reception, who barely spoke any english, was unable to find my reservation despite giving him the name of the room I was assigned, and the name of the girl I had spoken to over the phone who had confirmed it. He knew the girl but apparently she had not confirmed anything, with the excuse that maybe it was because she was 'new'. He then said that another smaller room was available, after running off for 15min to check, and since I was exhausted and fed up of arguing with him, I accepted.
He was then unable to get the VISA machine to work, which I suspect he didnt know how in the first place. As an alternative, he said that I could leave my VISA card or my passport for him, -personally to hold- until the morning...to which I obviously refused.

He then said there was nothing he could do, and I was forced to leave and walk around Rio at 3am, with my luggage to look for a place to stay. I then found a hotel nearby, paid double what the hostel was charging and made the best decision to never to return to that hostel again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vina del Mar, Chile
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Fun, cheap and very good location. But it could have been a lot cleaner and the air conditioner should be on during the day!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Chile
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

Great hostel for young travellers whose priority is a good location (close to the beach and the nightlife). Helpful staff, great breakfast and security. They had special pizza or bbq night....all you can eat! and it was great, very yummy and gave people a chance to share with the other visitors. I appreciated the fact that the showers and toilets were cleaned often, but they should try to do it earlier, not in the middle of the morning when most are still showering. And Rio is so freakin' hot, that it would've been great if they kept the air conditioner all day, and not only at night!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010 via mobile

Just stayed there for 6 nights in both dorm & private rooms.

The Good -
* the bfast is yummy & goes from 9am-12pm. Especially the home made chocolate cake.... Mmmmmn!
* the roof top bar is a great way to meet people, although the staff play their bob marley cd over and over and over and... You get the picture!
* location is great, close to beach, metro and dozens of bus lines
* staff pleasant and helpful
* good price for taxi to international aport - 50BRL
* felt very safe, even walking around at night

The Bad -
* not the cleanest but okay if you have an ensuite dorm
* the football tour is a rip off. 80BRL for ticket, transport & one free beer. They were so disorganised we missed the start of the game and also this meant all the seats had been taken so we stood for the game. And no free beer! The ticket cost them 15BRL, plus if you taxied, you'd save at least 40BRL!!!
* the sheets are old with stains and holes. We had 3 different sets of sheets because of our room changes... All were the same!

The Ugly -
* bed bugs in one of the beds in the dorm we stayed in
* checkin at 1pm yet no sheets available till 11pm! Yes 11pm! And this happened EVERYDAY to lots of people!
* they screwed up our reservation and the hostel was full. Lucky some people hadn't arrived and we insisted we have their room as we had already been there 2 nights and we had already had to move twice!
* incredibly noisy!!! If its not the people staying in the hostel, its the music from either the bar upstairs or the nightclub under the hostel which you can hear the bass through your pillow and then at around 6am the traffic noise starts and hell it is noisy! And that was from all 3 different rooms we stayed in!
* the mattress are disgusting! Need replacing!

All in all I probably wouldn't recommend it! But it was great for meeting people and being social!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

I had a cramped, messy dorm right below the bar, with really loud music playing all night. Not the place to stay if you want to get some sleep.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at Stone of a Beach for a total of 5 nights during our trip to Brasil, and stayed in a variety of the room options. If you are planning on staying here, I would definitely recommend booking your room in advance. We were lucky enough to get a bed on the nights that we did not pre-book, but I witnessed many travelers in the lobby who arrived late without reservations and were unable to get a room.

For the first night, we did not make advance reservations, but arrived early enough in the day to book a small private room with a twin bunk. It was upstairs next to the bar/restaurant/hot tub, and was extremely noisy. That room would not have been ideal for our entire stay due to the noise, but we stayed there as we needed to stop for one night before continuing on to Cabo Frio. We left to Cabo Frio, and one week later returned to Copacabana to Stone of a Beach. We had booked reservations for a private double bed room with a private bath, but arrived one day early, and by chance they had two beds open in one of the shared rooms. The beds were clean, as were the bathrooms. We stayed there one night, and then moved into our private room for three more nights, which was clean and very nice. We had a balcony to the front of the hotel as well.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, spoke a variety of languages, and the rooms/bathrooms were over all clean. The only thing that was not very clean was the shared kitchen, but this is more the fault of other travelers and not the staff. The atmosphere was very fun and laid back. My boyfriend and I opted for a more relaxed, quiet vacation, and the hostel fit our needs just fine. Other travelers definitely seemed to come to party, and the rooftop bar and lounge seemed a good fit for this type of traveler as well. The free breakfast was healthy and presented a variety of options.

I would definitely return to Stone of a Beach (this was my boyfriend's third time at this hostel), as we enjoyed our time very much there. One thing to keep in mind is that it IS a hostel, so there will be many people coming and going with a variety of living habits... it won't be as sparkling clean as some hotels may be, but by choosing a hostel like this you are able to have the experience of meeting more people (as amenities are shared), and also you are able to save financially.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stone of a Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone of a Beach

Address: Rua Barata Ribeiro 111 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22011001, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 470 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old 1930's bohemian mansion in the middle of Copacabana! Just a minutes walk to the beach! FREE Internet - FREE breakfast. This place is massive, so we've given you the most spacious rooms with en-suites & air conditioning. Our top floor is a large open sun area with a swimming pool, BBQ and shaded chill out area. We also have a TV room with cable and a wide range of DVDs. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Stone Of a Beach Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Stone Of a Beach Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stone of a Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.