We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better the 2nd time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro

Save Saved
You added Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Vieira Souto, 80 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420, Brazil (Formerly Fasano Hotel & Restaurant) (Ipanema)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Better the 2nd time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My 1st stay was in 2012, Superior Room Courtyard (more like neighboor's wall) View - really not worth it as the room is small and has no view. 2nd stay was an Ocean Front, bigger room, beautiful beach view! It was on the 1st floor, but noise didn't bother when the windows were shut.
Of course it will never be worth the rate they charge, but it's Rio de Janeiro, so chill out and enjoy it. Design-wise it's very modern, but classy at the same time, both room and public areas. Big, comfy bed, nice shower, great balcony. The pool at the roof top is the hotel's best feature, as you can enjoy it in style with one of Rio's best views.
Service is not top notch (specially front desk), but can't be considered bad. Breakfast is also disappointing as there's not as much variety as you would expect for a 5* hotel.
Anyways, it's one of Rio's best options, a fun, hip hotel and it's always nice getting back to experience it again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid Superior Rooms, facing the back. They're small and have absolutely no view! Ocen Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    299
    144
    67
    36
    15
See reviews for
61
231
44
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Leading Hotels should review it's policy and consider a minimum size for affiliated properties - This boutique Hotel is centrally located, but not a beachfront Hotel, as a very busy corniche passes in front. Superior rooms are very small, and the smell of humidity is omnipresent. - The price USD 530 for the best available rate, not including USD 35 for breakfast is not adequate to the living quality and inconsistent service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

For that kind of money, there are better restaurants than that of this hotel, but the rest of the hotel was just perfect. The best thing was the service, something I normally don't mind too much. F.i. we arrived dirty, and poorly dressed, coming straight from a jungle trek, and the elegant lady who brought us to one of the cheapest rooms (back side) of the hotel, acted as if we were VIPs. Made me feel great, since I'm still a bit shy entering hotels that grand.

Room Tip: We had a back room, because of the lower price, and we did not regret that
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Booked a deluxe oceanfront room but was automatically upgraded to the suite as an Unlimited Leaders Club member. The suites are fairly large and offer fantastic views of Ipanema Beach and the ocean. On the other hand, the bathroom was rather small and had only one sink. Their website states that the bathtub was supposed to have a ocean view which it does not. Decor was modern with the occasional piece of Dr. Seuss inspired furniture thrown in. The decor can get in the way of function at times as evidenced by the "90 degree" bathroom faucet that dribbled out water and took several minutes to provide warm water. Bathroom amenities and bottled water was plentiful. Other room amenities included a complimentary pair of "Ipanema" flip-flops which are essentially knock-off Havaianas. The 2 other hotels I stayed in in Brazil provided the real deal. The rooftop pool was beautiful, with even better views of Ipanema. The so called "beach service" was rather disappointing as they only had a handful of chairs/lounges available for guests and you had to ask for water rather than be offered. The breakfast buffet was substandard for a five star hotel. Hot items were limited to the same 4 things everyday: scrambled eggs, overcooked bacon, cut up hot dog wieners, and cheese puffs. The selection of fruit and pastries was a bit better. The main restaurant was just as disappointing and overpriced. Ordered the filet with foie gras and black truffles for dinner one night. The truffles came out of a jar and were tasteless and they ran out of foie gras that night (but still charged the full $70.). There are much better restaurants in the area; Sushi Leblon, for example, offers great food (and you even get to dine with the same pretentious crowd that you'll find at the Fasano!) Wi-fi was fast and reliable although I'm glad it was included with my Leaders Club membership because otherwise you'd be paying $30/day PER device. Access to a business center computer was $35 for 15 minutes which is unacceptable for a five star hotel and should be a standard amenity. I simply wanted to print out a boarding pass. To their credit, the concierge offered to print it out for me. On the other hand, the concierge service was unacceptable at time. For example, I requested a restaurant reservation one morning for later that evening at 7:30. When I hadn't heard from them by 6:00, I called them and they said that they weren't able to contact the restaurant yet. They still didn't call me by 7:00 so I gave up and went to the restaurant directly. Later that night around 9:00, I get a note under my door saying that they were unable to get me the reservation. This was obviously too late but the concierges seem to like leaving late notes like this despite there being 3 phones in my room. Other staff like the doormen were pretty good and greeted me by name most of the time. So overall, it was a mixed experience but I will probably be staying at the Copacabana Palace the next time I'm in Rio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Fun experience at the start of Ipanema, wish it was placed up the other end by Leblon as this end is seedier and closer to Copacanba, Pool are is rather small, quite euro trashy, and I'm from Europe!!!. Very expensive, nice to see that much of the furniture is Brazilian. As I said each floor level is strange as they wanted to wood to flow seamlessly...but after a few drinks it takes a while to find where your bed is..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

This must be the best place to stay in Rio. Like being in a Fellini movie from the sixties with the brat pack in the bar. Fantastic design and pool area on the roof. Probably not the best service but who cares. Just loved staying there. Even if it to expensive chose a room with a view, amazing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spent 3 nights here on our vacation in South America. The hotel is designed by Phillippe Starck, so it is very hip (a bit too hip for us) but gets a very chic crowd and is in a great location across from Ipanema Beach. Our suite overlooked the Atlantic Ocean and it was great to hang out on our terrace and people watch. It is a bit noisy, especially at night when they are doing road construction outside our doors, but this is what happens in a busy part of Rio.
We had an excellent tour with Marco, which was set up by the hotel. He is very knowledgeable and a pleasant guide to see the city with. We went to one of the favellos (slums that are all over town) - not my favorite, but an interesting aspect of Rio. We also went to see the buildings designed by Oscar Niemeyer, the brilliant modernist architect who recently died. He is a legend in Brazil!
Breakfast at the hotel is plentiful - a buffet, and you can order eggs done as you like them. The front desk staff mostly speak English which is helpful. They were very professional and did whatever we asked them to do.
Highly recommended for Rio!

Room Tip: Ocean front is best, but noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro

Address: Avenida Vieira Souto, 80 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420, Brazil (Formerly Fasano Hotel & Restaurant)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Avenida Vieira Souto, in the heart of Ipanema beach, the long awaited hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro combines the sophistication of Rio’s most coveted address with modernity and efficiency in design and service. Envisioned by Philippe Starck, everything has been thought out to reverberate the glorious Bossa Nova era, when Ipanema was blossoming into the most charming neighborhood of Rio. The hotel caters to both leisure and business travelers and offers the latest technology in its accommodations and meeting rooms. Guests can experience Fasano's gastronomic legacy at the elegant Fasano al mare restaurant and enjoy signature cocktails and light meals at the ‘scenery’ Baretto-Londra. The breathtaking view from the rooftop swimming pool overlooks the beach and constitutes an attraction in and of itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LHW, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fasano Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Fasano Rio De Janeiro Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Fasano Rio de Janeiro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.