We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison By Dussol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Maison By Dussol to your Saves list
La Maison By Dussol
Rua Sergio Porto, 58 | Gávea, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Formerly La Maison)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 259 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Olly101
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice place run by a really nice chap. This is a bit further away from the centre of Rio than advertised ( not really walkable ) and can be a bit noisy at the weekend but in general it is a stunning place in a stunning location and Jacques (the owner) goes out of his way to offer advice and help you with recommendations. My only really gripe is that the Bathroom could do with a bit of a revamp ( we stayed in Copacabana ) as it had a lot of mould in the tiles etc. The room was lovely though.

In all we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Our location score is based on the view form the review rather than its proximity to the centre of R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    31
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
81
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed at La Maison twice, and both times were pure magic. This gorgeous colonial house up in the Gavea hills welcomes you to a really unique (and perhaps more authentic) Rio experience. I love each member of the staff, and the owners are both warm and very helpful. No, it's not sitting on the beach - but it's an easy cab ride to most of the fun spots in town. I even walked it a couple times got a chance to see the city on foot. The staff will make sure you're taken care of, and you can look down on the city from your amazing balcony while eating a fantastic breakfast they bring right to your room. There is always lovely Brazilian music being softly played throughout the house and you can sip wine while lounging on the couches in one of the main areas. I think this is one of the most magical and special places to stay in the city and highly recommend!

Room Tip: I've stayed in Copacabana both times and LOVE this room!! :) There is a docking station to plug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our 2 week stay. Jacques was a great host, making us feel very welcome and giving us helpful tips for our last couple of days.

The area, Gavea is beautiful and we loved walking around - you can walk to Leblon in about 30 minutes and the Botanical Gardens is also around 20-25 min walk away.

The house is beautiful, very quiet and gorgeous views. We stayed in the blue room (French themed) which was beautiful. The only small negative is that there is only a ceiling fan, no aircon and it was very hot in the evenings. There are quite a lot of mosquitos so leaving the door open was not really an option.

Breakfast was also very good, I loved the mini croissants. Jacques was very kind to let us hang around on our last day when we had a late flight and all the other staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We had 5 wonderful nights at this fantastic boutique hotel. Jacques is a generous host, providing us with excellent dining and touring advice. We had the Copacabana room, the pick of the bunch. All rooms, however, are great with interesting decorating themes. The staff were helpful, although not all speak English - but isn't that why we travel? Breakfasts are good at the communal table and there appears to be no time limit on when breakfast closes. While taxi travel is usually required to get anywhere, they are inexpensive and safe. Jacques' directions for taxi drivers are a must. When the Rio Metro extends, taxis may be less of a requirement. The buses are clean and safe, if you can work out the route and schedule. All up, we will be recommending La Maison to anyone and everyone. Obregado and merci, Jacques

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night at La Maison but we found it a beautiful pousada with a great location for exploring Rio. Jacques is a wonderful and friendly host - and we had the pleasure of meeting his new baby daughter! The breakfast was very good indeed. One small observaton: we weren't there long enough to use the pool - but it did look as if it needed to be cleaned.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

After a long flight from London, to arrive at La Maison was a treat. Amazing view of Rio and staying in the Recamier room was a joy. Jacques the owner is extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast was courses of fruit, and bread, and cheese and jam.

La Maison is a 10 minute cab ride away from the beaches and a great starting point to explore Rio. Gavea itself is a buzzy area and we enjoyed dinner here in the more expensive French restaurant and in the local one.

All in all, a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We spent months in Rio, always staying in Boutique Hotels: La Maison is simply the smartest one. Gávea is beautiful, super safe and very close to Ipanema. The Hotel is lovely, done with fantasy and taste. The breakfast is outstanding: no limit of time, individually prepared, delicious! La Maison is the perfect spot to land in Rio... and all thanks to Jacques, a really great manager, always helpful and in good spirits.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Maison By Dussol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison By Dussol

Address: Rua Sergio Porto, 58 | Gávea, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Formerly La Maison)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LA MAISON BY DUSSOL: A COSY AND ELEGANT HAVEN THAT YOU WILL SOON CALL HOME La Maison By Dussol is a confidential place nested in the heights of Rio de Janeiro, in the residential and central area of Gavea, only a 10 minutes drive from Ipanema and Leblon. La Maison By Dussol is housed in a beautiful villa fully rebuilt and designed by Francois-Xavier and is emblematic of the signature of By Dussol. This haven features a flamboyant Bohemian style reinvented for the 21th century originally combining different styles, designer furniture and a vintage twist with antiques hunted in Rio de Janeiro. With only 5 rooms La Maison By Dussol offers a peaceful and intimate experience. The gests will find themselves at home. The chic and cosy rooms are in perfect tune with the rest of the hotel. Each room is unique, elegantly outfitted and has its private terrace or balcony. Their decor is inspired by the travelling experience of the Dussol brothers around the world. The themes of the rooms are inspired by 5 different places: India (the Ganesha Room), China (the Shanghai Room), Brazil (the Copacabana Room), France (the Recamier Room) and the United-States (the Tiffany Room). The Copacabana and Recamier Suites, as well as the Tiffany Room take advantage of the spectacular view on the Tijuca Forest and the Christ Redeemer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Prestigia so you can book your La Maison By Dussol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Hotel Rio De Janeiro
La Maison By Dussol Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison By Dussol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.