We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good for a short stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Martinique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Martinique Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Martinique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Sa Ferreira, 30, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-100, Brazil (Formerly Martinique Copa Hotel) (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good location, good for a short stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

No-nonsense hotel with excellent location - close to the beach, restaurants, supermarket and other facilities. Room not very spacious, but does the job for a short stay.Rio is always expensive, especially in summer, so all considered this was good value for money. My main requirements of good air conditioning, wi-fi and cleanliness were certainly met. The bar by the pool could do with a proper caipirinha - the "cachaça" they serve there is one I would never offer foreign guests (and being Brazilian I would never drink it myself!).

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, make sure you book a non-smoking room and get one on arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mireleg, Gerente geral at Windsor Martinique Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Sandra,

Thanks for sharing your experience in being a guest at the Windsor Martinique Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We are always working to offer the best service to our guests. Regarding the "cachaça" we make the "caipirinhas", we work with the most well known cachaça in Brazil and I am sorry that you did not like it.

Sincerely,
Mirele Geiger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    343
    105
    19
    6
See reviews for
62
308
59
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We have stayed at the Windsor Martinique Hotel for 5 days on a RTW holiday. It was ideal for us - perhaps 100m to the beach. We explored rio each day and then went down onto the beach every afternoon. Two chairs and an umbrella were E 15. The hotel has free wifi which was great to use to seek out activities and restaurants. We can recommend the rack railway to The Redeemer and hiring bikes from Velostore and riding to the end of Ipanema and round the lagoon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mireleg, Gerente geral at Windsor Martinique Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thanks for choosing the Windsor Martinique Hotel and the comments regarding your stay. We really are conveniently located, near to the beach, the public transportation and the main market in Copacabana.
We hope to see you again in your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely,
Mirele Geiger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, Delaware, United States
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I'm sure like most people on my first trio to Rio I read all kind of reviews and spent hours on trip advisor and Expedia trying to figure out where to go and what to do. After several changes of mind I settled on the Windsor Martinique Hotel in Copacabana. I am happy I did and we made a great choice.
Breakfast is included each morning and is decent, there are meats, eggs, waffles and assortment of fruits, juices, cereals and spreads, jellys pastries and breads. They serve coffee and everything was fresh, hot and of good quality. It was one of the better free breakfasts I have had! I enjoyed the warm chocolate sauce and dulce de leite every morning!
The room was adequate- a bit small but not uncomfortable and certainly clean. Two TV channels were primarily in English -channel 49 had a variety of sit coms and channel 61 was a round the clock movie channel. I cant even tell you how many movies I saw in the 6 nights there. My room was on the fourth floor and faced the front of the building- traffic and street noise were minimal.
The wifi was aggravating and really only one of two complaints I could have.We could only access it in the lobby or the roof top pool area until the last two days where all of a sudden for some reason ( I think by mistake) it started working in our room. The other complaint is that the fitness room (which was tiny) was located on the rooftop area next to the pool- thus rendering the fitness room to be unbelievably hot and not at all reasonable to work out in.

The roof top pool area was quiet. The picture online is misleading- it was a TINY pool, but there was a nice seating area nearby with table and umbrellas. It was very quiet- we spent many mornings there and only ever saw two or three others. There is a nice view right to the ocean from the pool area.

Overall- I found this hotel quiet, clean and friendly.It was over a hundred dollars less than hotels one block away! It is a short one block walk to the beach and within walking distance ( a few blocks) of Ipanema. It is a safe area and I would stay again! If you are spending all day at your hotel and want to lay around a big pool and do things at the hotel you might be bored, but if you want a nice hotel to stay in while you spend your days out at the beaches or in town than this is your place!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mireleg, Gerente geral at Windsor Martinique Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Mrs. Kerri,

Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at our hotel. I was very happy to heard your comments and for sure I will share this with all the staff. We actually are a 3 star hotel and we try to offer the best service possible during the guests stay.

Thank you for choosing the Windsor Martinique Hotel.
We hope to have you as a guest again in your next visit to Rio.

Best regards,
Mirele Geiger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Windsor Martinique is a basic 2.5-3 star hotel. We ended up there by using a blind travel site which had it rated as a 3.5 but really is at best a 3 star. There were some good aspects to the hotel: the staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms were clean, breakfast was excellent (but the dining room is very small) and it is close to the beach.

However there are many things you need to know, #1 although the hotel is about 150m from the beach to the east of the hotel, only 75m to the west along Rua Sa Ferreira is the entrance to a large favela (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Favela) which leaves this part of the Copacabana significantly more sketchy then the more northern aspect of Copacabana or Ipanema. During our vacation we actually heard (and saw the smoke wafting up in the air) from a pretty heated gun battle. At first we thought this must have been fireworks but read in the local papers the next day about incident and the police officer who was shot. In reading the news, there have been gun fights there every week for the past few weeks.

In addition, the rooms are incredibly small and there is no wifi (only plug in) internet in the rooms. So for those with iPhones, iPads and other wifi-centric devices you are forced to head to the small lobby and fight for one of the 4 seats available. The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mireleg, Gerente geral at Windsor Martinique Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your time to share your experience in being a guest at Windsor Martinique Hotel. I am glad that you liked our hotel service and breakfast. Regarding the wifi service, we already provide this service in all common areas and rooms.
Regarding the location, we are in a very well located area, near the Copacabana and Ipanema beach and the local shops and transportation. We are located also near to a local community but in a save area. Probably what happened during your stay was a really bad coincidence that could happen in any other place in Rio.

Thanks for choosing the Windsor Martinique Hotel.

Sincerely,
Mirele Geiger
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

There is nothing spectacular about this hotel. However, if you are looking for a clean, affordable, basic hotel in a perfect location, then this is a good place to stay. It's one block from the beach and was very affordable for budget-oriented family travelers. We stayed here for six nights (family of four) during Thanksgiving break 2013. We spent as little time in the hotel as possible. With 7 year old twin boys, we wanted to be on the beach and out experiencing the sites and flavors of Rio as much as possible. So, for us a hotel on vacation is just a place to sleep at night----and the Windsor adequately meet our needs. The breakfast buffet has a great selection. For family on a budget----good place. Oh, by the way, there is no wireless internet in the rooms. All the guests have to crowd around in the lobby to use the internet----that was extremely annoying.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

3 nights at the Windsor Martinique. The location was perfect, in between ipanema and copacabana. You chose which beach you want to be by walking distance. The staff was very helpful. The hotel up graded our room, so we stayed in a partially sea view room, very comfortable and clean!!! Breakfast was fantastic, great choice of everything .
The only "negative" aspect was the internet wi-fi, in the room only with cable!

Room Tip: 6th/7th floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Great experience! perfect location, amazing staff, supper accommodating and helpful. Claudio and Rodrigo were both supper helpful. Location of the hotel was great specially because we wanted to spend the new year's eve at the Copacabana beach. Hotel rooms were very clean, a bit small but clean and comfortable. we had no wifi access in our room, just cable which was Ok. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ocean view would be great, which is what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Martinique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Martinique Hotel

Address: Rua Sa Ferreira, 30, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-100, Brazil (Formerly Martinique Copa Hotel)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#38 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Martinique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Martinique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Martinique Copa
Martinique Copa Hotel
Martinique Copa Rio De Janeiro
Windsor Martinique Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Martinique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.