We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Reasonable Rate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Martinique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windsor Martinique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Windsor Martinique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Sa Ferreira, 30, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-100, Brazil (Formerly Martinique Copa Hotel) (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Location, Reasonable Rate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

The Martinique Copa is the same as the Windsor Martinique Hotel, located in the Copacabana district of Rio de Janeiro. In November 2011, I made two separate stays at this hotel: the first one booked through Expedia and the second one booked on the Windsor Hotel chain website. There was no problem with either reservation. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The breakfeast is somptuous and the meals I took at the restaurant for lunch on two occasions were very good. The quality of the breakfast can hardly be overemphasized; the waiters are also extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms and hallway were spotless. Wi-Fi works in the lobby but unfortunately not in the rooms (a cable must be obtained from the reception for access to the internet service). I enjoyed the location very much. There is no view on the ocean or the beach from the rooms but the hotel is less than one block away. Less than one block away in the other direction lies a major street (Nossa Senhora de Copacabana) with several shops and restaurants. I felt very safe in this area, which is just a few more blocks away from a favela/community. The (very safe) metro is at General Osorio square, just a 10-minute walk following Rua Francisco Sa (the second street on the left). A single room cost me just under $200, which is not too expensive by Rio standards for such a favourable location. The Windsor Martinique is definitely not a budget hotel but I would highly recommend it as an alternative to the much more expensive hotels located right accross from the beach on Avenida Atlantica.

Room Tip: The odd-numbered rooms give on an inner courtyard (no view but quieter) and the even-numbered ones o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    321
    94
    20
    6
See reviews for
50
278
55
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

We have just returned from a fourteen night stay at this great hotel, I picked it firstly from the reviews on this site, and second on price (the hotels in Rio are very overpriced). The location was perfect, the whole hotel is super clean, the breakfast was fresh and tasty, we really enjoyed the fresh fruit every morning and superb coffee. But what makes this hotel extra special is the staff, and I mean all the staff from cleaners to reception, they are smiling, friendly, helpful people.
We would not hesitate to recommend to others, so go on then, what are you waiting for, book !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This place is a great value for money. Breakfast is really good and complete (fresh juices, hot meals, pastries, etc.). Staff very helpful (I had to change of room because of annoying neighbours and they were very supportive). Place is ideally located in front of the beach, very safe and well connected (metro is a couple of blocks away, tons of buses around). I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Just completed a trip to Brazil and Argentina and stayed at the Windsor Martinique for 4 nights. The hotel is in a great location 15 minute walk to Impanema beach, which is an improvement over copa. If I had to do it all over again, and money wasn't an object, I would stay in Impanema. The hotel room was very clean, and was cleaned well each afternoon. When compared to hotels in the US the room we had was quite small - reminded me of a room you would see in a large European city. The staff was extremely helpful with directions, reccomendations for restaurants, ensuring good pricing on cabs, etc. Breakfast at this location was the best of the 3 hotels we stayed at on our trip. The bed was a bit soft and left something to be desired.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They speak English very well. My room was very clean and had a good flat screen TV. I had a standard room which was small but fine for a single person. A couple might prefer a superior room. If you have a late flight they will store your luggage in a locked closet and you can also use the pool area on the top of the hotel which includes restrooms. If you want to stay in Copacabana this is a great place and you are also just a short walk from Ipanema beach.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

It was a tad on the expensive side (I paid around USD 160 / day), but Hotels are generally not cheap in Rio. While it is located in Copacabana, it is at walking distance from Ipanema and Arpoador, whith its nice bars and restaurants. There is also a supermarket nearby, which can be used to stock the minibar and avoid the high prices charged. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is pretty good. Rooms are clean but small, the bathroom is also very clean and ok in size, with a good shower.
I would stay there again if I could find a better deal.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We were travelling with 3 other couples and we all choose different accommodations in RIO all within the same budget and the same area. The Martinique was by far the best one out of all 4 hotels. The hotel is located in an extremely safe area and right beside the beach. The staff was extremely friendly and professional and the reception staff spoke perfect English. I honestly can't fault this hotel - the breakfast buffet was more than I expected, the rooms were spotless, the check-in & out process was so smooth. It's like having your own private condo beside the beach as this hotel doesn't have the feel of a larger establishment and they should keep it that way - good family feel about the place and management are doing a top-notch job here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windsor Martinique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Martinique Hotel

Address: Rua Sa Ferreira, 30, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-100, Brazil (Formerly Martinique Copa Hotel)
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Martinique Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Windsor Martinique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Martinique Copa
Martinique Copa Hotel
Martinique Copa Rio De Janeiro
Windsor Martinique Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Martinique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.