We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced and cramped, edgy staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon to your Saves list
Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Ataulfo de Paiva, 1280, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22440-031, Brazil (Lagoa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“overpriced and cramped, edgy staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

Definetely overpriced. Rooms are small and spartan, but the all-white furniture is new. The location is very good, if noisy. The breakfast is standard, but the coffee was lukewarm and weak. At the reception we were told that there was a small safe in the room at the cost of around six dollars a day. When I declined, they put a form in front of me, telling me to sign it. As I perused the form, it stated that since I declined the safe, I was releasing he hotel from any responsibility for the theft of any possession I had. As I found this too extreme and a bit unlawful, I declined to sign it, and was told then to take the safe or sign the form, or leave the hotel.
Since accomodations were difficult at the time , I had to backtrack, and pay for the so called "safe", which was a small metallic box fastened to the floor inside the closet, and which required a back breaking motion to put things into it.
But, on the plus side, if you do not question them, the staff keeps grinning all the time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    47
    34
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
41
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

Exteremly epensive i.e. 400$ per day for a suite of 4. Greedy in charging extras such as internet access and safe in room. Far from being a warm hospitality. The suite was very nice. Great location.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madrid
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Positive:
- Good location in Leblon. Close to the beach, shops, restaurants.
- Room is clean.

Negative:
-This is not a luxury hotel.
- Room furniture, decor, bathroom is basic.
- Absolutely overpriced for what they offer. We paid 380RB and it is not worth more than 200

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

Positive:
- Good location in Leblon. Close to the beach, shops, restaurants.
- Room is clean.
- Excellent breakfast.

Negative:
- Even though the name might refer to the Ritz hotel in Paris, this hotel has nothing to do with it! This is not a luxury hotel.
- Room furniture, decor, bathroom is basic.
- We had booked a transfer on our first day from the airport which never arrived!
- The safe closes with a key that you have to carry around. Don't lose it or you will pay and will have to wait that your safe is drilled into.
- For the same level of comfort (except the swimming pool), I would go to the Ipanema Inn (much cheaper).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2009

it's a great hotel. quiet, a/c worked, very clean, cable television. newly renovated with pretty rooms. the service is great and they helped us arrange a lot of activities. i recommend walking to the cab stand a couple of blocks away as the cabs they called for us were more expensive.
internet access is an additional charge, but our breakfast was included. two blocks from the beach in leblon. leblon is a nice area with bars around, but it's pretty distant from copacabana and lebon.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, PR
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

Ritz Plaza Hotel is a great option in Leblon, the standard rooms are nice and spacious, recently renovated bathroom ( very unusual in Rio), lobby and restaurant very well decorated, cozy and charming furniture. Breakfast buffet ( included ) was delicious! Didn’t try the restaurant neither the bar. But the location beats it all: in the heart of Leblon area, very safe and lots of things to do around.
Alert 1: Confirm your reservation by phone before arrive, the e-mail is not enough.
Alert 2: Don’t count on the pool, dirty & cold!
Alert 3: Service has many many flaws: charge for use the safe almost US$ 20 per day, no iron available for the guests, house keeper insist on get in the room even with the tag “do not disturb” ( thanks there was a lock),
For us that spent all day out and just come back to have a good night of sleep, it was perfect. After all, I recommend it ! Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2008

I stayed at the Ritz Hotel in Rio, for business in Nov 2008.
I did the reservation over their website, and I received a confirmation number from them. I never had to put my CC (the common thing to do on any reservation), but since they sent me a confirmation code I gave for granted that the booking was fine. I arrive to the hotel at noon, only to find that the booking has been canceled and that they say that there are no rooms available.
So when I entered in panic mode, there is a sudden call from "the booking office" which appears that the suite it is available at higher price (~$260), which at this moment and on a business trip I was forced to take (regular price was ~$150).

As for "the suite" it had a nice view and it was quite well appointed on the sitting area, with a big plasma TV and small kitchen.
As for the bedroom, it was not so well appointed and the bathroom was small. The sheet were cheap and the decoration was cheap also.

Obviously the hotel was not full and beside the crafty attitude of the personnel the lobby it is nice, and the room it just ok.

In conclusion for less $150/night it is an ok option, anywhere on top of that it is a ripping off.

  • Liked — lobby
  • Disliked — room decoration
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon

Address: Avenida Ataulfo de Paiva, 1280, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22440-031, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#40 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz Plaza Leblon is a charming 4 star hotel located in the best areas of the city of Rio de Janeiro, surrounded by literary cafes, restaurants, bars, bookstores and is two blocks from Leblon beach. The Ritz is synonymous with design and elegance. It has 70 modern and comfortable rooms, equipped with LCD TV, cable channels, minibar, air conditioning, sound, hair dryer, phone and individual safes. The hotel offers Wi Fi high-speed service. For leisure time, guests have at their disposal a pool, sauna and gym with the latest generation equipment. The Tropical Lobby Bar invites you to relax and enjoy specialty cocktails. The best food is present in the restaurant, which offers a full breakfast, and room service. Friendliness and professionalism are part of the commitment of the staff of Ritz, who spared no efforts to delight customers. The Ritz is close to the point of gourmet Rua Dias Ferreira where are located the best restaurants in the South Zone of Rio, with the best venues in town. The hotel is located only 200mt from Leblon beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Ritz Plaza
Rio De Janeiro Ritz
Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritz Plaza Hotel Leblon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.