We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a shot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana to your Saves list
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nossa Senhora de Copacabana Ave. 552, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-001, Brazil   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Davis, CA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth a shot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Mar Palace during Carnival, after abandoning a wholly unsuitable hotel. Frankly, I am surprised that we got a room for four nights on such short notice. The room was large and comfortable, but on the front of the hotel's third floor, so the street noise was sometimes a bit much. The hotel staff were hugely friendly and helpful. For beach lovers the location is just two short blocks from the middle of Copacabana. There are some OK restaurants close by. The breakfast is extensive, with heaps of fruit, particularly good scrambled eggs and, not surprisingly, good coffee. All that said, if you go during Carnival, the Mar Palace, like every other hotel in Rio, jacks up their price by more than 200%. Still worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    240
    86
    11
    11
See reviews for
145
112
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Hotel prices in Rio were Sky high for the New-Years period. This is a 3-star hotel and we paid more than what we paid for a nice 5-star hotel in Miami previously. But this is the reality of Rio. All hotels are very expensive that time of year. Considering that, this hotel was good value for money.

Positives:
- Clean hotel, modern rooms
- Excellent location - 5 min walk to Copacabana beach
- Good, friendly service
- Good breakfast buffet
- Much better than I expected

Negatives:
- Got zero view from our room ... literally a view of the air conditioning ducts ... make sure you avoid that.

Over all a good choice in a very expensive city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

It is a very good location, very good staff! very friendly and helpful. We stayed there only one night but it was not a problem to leave our luggages and even take a shower in the swimming area after we have already checked out.
The breakfast was excellent, really good.
we stayed in the 4 people room, so nothing so special, but absolutely nothing to complain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Situated one block from the beach it is a modern hotel with functional spacious rooms. Buffet style breakfast and evening meals with good choices. Two blocks away from the Metro for an easy 7 stops,and 15 minute ride to the city centre. There are small restaurants and other hotels for dining though the nearer the beach the higher the prices.
We had booked airport transfers in advance and on the strength of feedback from Tripadvisor we contacted Manu Perclat to arrange this for us and also to give us a private day tour. His advance communications were excellent and although there was a wait at the airport when we arrived due to an accident on the approach roads, everything else went smoothly. His English is very good, also his driving, a bonus in Rio! An early start to go up Sugarloaf and to Christ the Redeemer is vital to beat the queues when the cruise ships dock.

Room Tip: Do not lose the key to the safe, it can prove xpensive..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 days here for the Copacabana Year End Party!! The Hotel was much better than expected. Room we got was very clean, modern setup, nice bed, good LCD tv, minibar, and good working A/C!! Not luxurious hotel, but clean, safe and nice. at the restaurant we only had breakfast, and it was a nice buffet with lots of options and good service. Location of hotel is great, just 2 blocks from the beach, close to all sorts of restaurants, coffee shops, pharmacies, supermarkets. We did not need a taxi during whole stay.
Of course, New Year's Eve is not cheap, but price was way better than many hotels closer that looked not as nice.
But again, the main Plus is the location, so close to the best part of Copacabana beach.
Only negative is that the staff at reception is not very friendly, the lady does not even looks at you when you ask a question, and they did not inform that room service was cancelled on the 31st, we wanted to dine in the room before going out to the party, the reception was not helpful when we asked for food.
Besides this, We really enjoyed our stay here, recommend it!!!!!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Andalucia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We staid here for 3 nights in November. After our hotel in Sao Paulo this place was fantastic!! But in reality it was just a good standard hotel. The room was quite big, everything was clean. One small negative was the internet was not free but in the end it was only US$7 or 24 hours (from memory) and it was simply charged against the room and was nice and fast do it wasn't complicated to get.

The view from the room we had looked out and up to the christ the redemer statue, which was quite nice somehow (although I gather that most people in rio can see this statue...)

The breakfast was fine although not spectacular. It had a good location in Copacabana and was quite close to a nice metro station and there were super markets a block and a half away but it was still on the main street of Copacabana with nice shops, restaurants, etc.

It was on the pricy side though. We got it on a "special" from lastminute.com for US$170 per night which I thought was on the expensive end... I would thus give it say a 3.5 to 4 rating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Was very convenient to everything and just a very short stroll to Copacabana Beach. Staff were very helpful and lovely.
Rooms were huge with a good air conditioner system.
Breakfast was good with lots of hot and cold selections buffet style.
The only negative I can really say about this hotel is that we had to pay for wifi Internet AU$7 per day but in all the hotels we stayed at this was the only one so that was ok.
Good choice when in Rio!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana

Address: Nossa Senhora de Copacabana Ave. 552, Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-001, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#45 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mar Hotel Copacabana Palace offers a great location in the heart of Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro. It is just 80m from the beach and 150 meters from the Metro station Siqueira Campos. In the lobby of the hotel, the restaurant offers a variety of dishes. The terrace has a pool and a bar, where we offer drinks and snacks in the evening. We have spacious and confortable apartments. Services of personal trainer are available at an exclusive area at Copacabana beach. Hotel Mar Palace is nationally known as the sports hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mar Palace Copacabana Hotel
Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mar Palace Copacabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.