We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“easy access to most attractions” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Rio Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Rio Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Duvivier 82 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-020, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“easy access to most attractions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We only stayed for two days in brazil but this hotel in within easy walking distance to CopaCabana Beach it also is not too far from the Airport Taxis fare being 110 Reals. The rooms were spacious and clean, breakfast had plenty to choose from, buffet style and very relaxing. The statue of Christ the redeemer could be booked just around the corner and a bus on the main street was easily available for sugar top mountain cable car both at reasonable fares. Reception staff spoke english and were very helpful if you needed to book taxis. The roof top pool was nice but small not too much space for sitting.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    292
    96
    29
    14
See reviews for
126
140
20
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hotel pretends to be as much of a business hotel as a vacation hotel, however, on arrival none of my plug sockets would work, I travel constantly and tend to be in Rio 4-5 times a year. It transpires that the plug sockets had recently been changed but needed a 'special' longer than normal adapter for them to work. However, it took me threatening to leave the hotel to get taken seriously. Internet worked on day 1 but day two would not work in the bedroom, day three was the same. Worked in bar area but when you are on business you want/need your own space to work. Asking if I could have late check out was like asking for the crown jewels, a decision will not even be made until the day at 9am. I was eventually offered a late check out but before the time I would be back from a meeting so not good, this was despite not checking in until 9am on first day (booked from night before) so room was not cleaned. Bathroom offered jacuzzi and sauna but both were very old and needed replacing, smell of damp in the bedroom. No view and 3 blocks back from the beach. Breakfast was good but reception staff - who pretended to be helpful had no power over any other staff so no complaints were dealt with sufficiently. Might be OK if you are on holiday but I will not recommend it for business travelleres and will not stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The rooms are a decent standard as you would expect. We had several issues with our air conditioning breaking but the staff were friendly and apologetic so I can not hold this against them.

Very close to CopaCabana beach so was ideal for New Years Eve as we could walk 3 blocks to the beach.

Rooftop has a bar with very good Caipirinhas and a nice pool (as well as the gym). Views are fantastic - go up for sunset.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Good: The front desk guys that we usually dealt with (Junior and Fernando) were super helpful and spoke surprisingly good English. All of their advice was helpful and saved us time and money (like opting for the van in lieu of the tram to Corcovado Christ Statue). The free breakfast was good, constantly refreshed and had lots of variety. Clean rooms, no street noise with windows shut (which you want anyway for the AC, that works really well).
So-So: They need a full time concierge to advise on restaurants, as this is not in the current hotel clerks' skill set. Security: Room mini safes are not secured and can be carried out, there is also not a hotel safe in the lobby. Elevators do not have secure access to the floors. Rooftop pool is too small and too warm during the hot days.
Overall, a little pricey for what you get, but for New Years' in Rio it was still a good option. Would definitely return some other time.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is just about average on everything. Location is ok, a little bit off the rest of copacabana restaurant area. Seems to be difficult to find a really good hotel in rio at a non ridiculous cost. This fills your needs though! Can't really say anything bad about it but I guess a little boring would be the adequate term.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 5 days in this hotel with my family. The rooms are huge with tile floors, and good natural light. The bathroom included a spa tub. The intternet was wifi and included in the price of the room, but it was inconsistent. Breakfast was included and a wonderful plus to have a complete breakfast buffet with deliscious fresh fruit and everything you can desire. Staff was very helpfull. The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the beach. Brazil is brilliant, I will come again, and again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick Parish, Bermuda
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

After reading all the different reviews of this hotel on different hotel booking websites, my expectations were pretty low. Overall, I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel facade is pretty modern. The rooms are basic, but do what they need to do. They have a stunning roof top pool with amazing sunset views. Staff were helpful even though language barrier. Location was perfect - just a 3-5 minute walk and you are on coco cabana beach. Breakfast was included and a reasonable wide selection to choose from. Good pricing. Only small annoying item was the wi-fi and poor speeds.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Rio Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Rio Palace Hotel

Address: Rua Duvivier 82 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-020, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#18 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#29 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Rio Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Rio Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Rio Palace
Royal Rio Palace De Janeiro
Royal Rio Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Rio Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.