We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Ipanema Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Promenade Visconti

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Promenade Visconti to your Saves list
Promenade Visconti
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Prudente de Morais 1050 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-042, Brazil (Lagoa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Ipanema Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I recently traveled to Rio for a 5-night stay to attend a friend's wedding. I was 13 weeks pregnant at the time and worried about accommodations, etc. We were pleasantly surprised by how comfortable the Visconti is, and by what an incredible location it has. Our room was ample size, clean, and quiet. The bathroom had a nice shower with good water pressure, a reliable toilet, and plenty of counter space for all of our belongings. The bed was super comfortable and the AC was adjustable. The closet is large with plenty of storage for clothing and luggage. There was a mini-fridge that had room for drinks we purchased on our own. The TV was easy to use with many channels (many of which were English-speaking). The one thing we didn't have was a clock. There was an iPod dock that probably had time-keeping capability, but neither one of us could figure it out. We were on vacation so time really didn't matter anyway :)
We were on the "quiet" side of the building, so we had absolutely no noise each night. Occasionally, we heard honking or a siren from the road, but we are from NYC and this doesn't phase us!
The staff could not have been more accommodating! They spoke English and obviously care very much about the happiness of their guests.
I felt incredibly safe and secure the entire stay. I passed on dinner and drinks one night and stayed in alone, all the while feeling perfectly comfortable and safe.
The hotel is one block from the beach and one block from food, shopping, etc. It really couldn't be a better location!

This is not a big, fancy hotel. If you are looking for a big pool scene, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for cleanliness, dependable service, and great location, stay here!

I would stay here again should we ever return to Rio!

Room Tip: 104 B (or any A or B room) will keep you on the quiet side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    109
    28
    6
    7
See reviews for
27
105
19
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a great hotel for those who want to stay near Ipanema Beach. The hotel is a block from the beach and an easy walk from great restaurants and shopping. No need to bring beach towels, as the hotel will provide them for free. The staff at the front desk spoke English, which was helpful with our limited knowledge of Portuguese. Our room was clean and well maintained. We loved the balcony overlooking the streets of Ipanema. Breakfast consisted of breads, fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, yogurts, coffee, and juices. We felt very safe walking the streets around the hotel both during the day and at night. If I should be lucky enough to return to Rio someday, I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Overall, I'd say the hotel is top notch - as far as being well renovated and clean. It does have the feel of a business hotel so don't go there looking for a hip pool scene. The breakfast offering is fantastic! My only peeve was that I asked for a non smoking room on the quiet side of the building and the request was not honored upon check in. So the first night def. sucked. They moved us to the 4th floor the next day (and to the quiet side of the hotel) and we were very content. Apparently, all rooms on the first floor are smoking friendly. The other floors are non smoking (non smoking stickers are on the outside of each door) although I did stop on each floor out of curiosity and the 3rd floor reeked of cig. smoke. Two of the front desk staffers really stood out - Diego and Mauricio. The others were well suited for a business hotel (read not so enthusiastic). I would stay here again just for the breakfasts - just beware that if you are not a smoker .... confirm that you want to be on a higher floor.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor and on the quiet side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Overall we had a great time at this hotel, the staff were friendly and helpful and it was located very close to the beach and many shops and restaurants.
There is a night club in the next street which encourages large numbers of people to spill into the street, drinking and singing until around 5am each night/morning. We asked to be moved to a quieter room; having been woken up two nights in a row, because of the noise. The staff were very apologetic and moved us.
The only complaint I had was that on the last day we checked out in the morning, but our flight was not until late evening. We were offered a place to shower and change, but this turned out to be the spar area, which had only cold showers and no private changing area.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing towards R. Maria Quitéria, as the people outside the night club are likely to kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was my second week back in Rio and the previous week I stayed at the Aporador Inn because it was cheaper. I learned my lesson so I spent a little (not much more) and stayed at the Visconti hotel.

It was in a perfect location 1 block from the best part of the beach in Ipanema and the hotel was extremely clean and welcoming. The room I stayed in was extremely spacious and when I noticed that the toilet had a leak, they immediately moved me to a new room which was even nicer. The breakfast so was delicious and fresh! Oh, and they were nice enough to suggest good places to go walk around because it was rainy the first day I arrived and they held my bags for me since my flight came in very early and left very late.

Next time I go back I'm staying there for sure because it was a good value for the excellent quality of service, cleanliness and proximity to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We enjoyed our last days in Rio at this hotel. Very clean and the apartment style rooms were an excellent plus. It was 1 block from the beach and very safe. Easily could walk to restaurants, bars, and stores and enjoyed the spacious rooms. Great recommendation.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor - was quiet and room was dark which helps to sleep in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeptEcommerce, Manager E-commerce at Promenade Visconti, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very happy to know that had a great experience in Promenade Visconti.

We will be happy to have again the opportunity to have you as our guest.

Graciously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

we spent part of the week before Christmas in Rio, and the hotel and staff was one of my most favorite parts of the trip. Upon arriving the hotel lobby seems very clean and the hint of the aroma of fresh paint, and the front desk people all are pleasant and speak English very well. The room was tastefully decorated and well planned ( I am a designer ). The bathroom was large and well done in ceramic and granite.The bar where the girl from ipanema was written is a block down the street. The heart of the beach is a block away there are great stores , clubs all walking distance from here. The breakfast is amazing fresh juices and fruits that you only find in Brasil, like fresh pineapple mint juice and fresh orange and fresh papaya ( amazing ) the rest is worthy of a five star restaurant pastries and meats to fresh waffles. Also this place has the best hamburger in Brazil ( i am American i order burgers everywhere this one is hard to beat even by us standards ) Rio is an amazing and this place just makes it that much better.

Room Tip: Ask for ones that face the front they are very quiet. after all your in Rio and this city is a 24 hr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Promenade Visconti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Visconti

Address: Prudente de Morais 1050 | Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22420-042, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#48 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Promenade Visconti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 3-star hotel offers a great location in the heart of the Ipanema district, only one block from the beach and near some of the best restaurants and shopping areas of Rio de Janeiro. The Promenade Visconti Hotel offers a rich breakfast and internet access without any extra charge. Guests also have free access to an indoor pool, Jacuzzi, sauna and gym. The hotel features a restaurant, a bar and a coffee shop, offering regional and international food as well as the typical Brazilian coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Promenade Visconti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Visconti Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Promenade Visconti Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promenade Visconti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.