We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“44 años cultivando amistad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bip Bip

Bip Bip
Rua Almirante Goncalves 50 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
(21) 2267-9696
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 81 nightlife in Rio de Janeiro
Type: Bar/ Clubs
Attraction Details
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“44 años cultivando amistad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

44 años cultivando amistad, this is the theme that Alfredo (owner) has on the entrance, the music is absolute wonderfull, even I dont speak portuguese, i felt like Im whit my BFF at home having a great time. the way tat you take the beer from the refrogerator, and tell your friend alfredo to write ir in the paper... Really a gem near the beach from copacabana.. try to get early

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    11
    2
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hear Samba music at the BIP BIP Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Ok it was not what I expected but it was enjoyable. The music was pretty good and there was a good crowd there. First it is very small in fact you have to sit at on the sidewalk in tables and chairs. The owner is a character but is nice.
The music volume is kind of low since I was on the sidewalk a bit far from the bar and there is not amplification at all. When they played some samba music that I loved, I walk into the bar and it was great. The place is nothing fancy but very interesting.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Very nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a chilled evening there. Nice Brazilian live musik and nice people. Good prizes. I don't know, if it every night the same, but it was not a party atmosphere...

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Essex UK
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
“Authentic local samba”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I like to find authentic, non-touristy places when we are on holiday and the Bip Bip bar certainly fits the bill. We went on a Sunday when the music starts at 7.30pm. It is a very informal place where locals come and play and listen. You help yourself to drinks from the fridge and the slightly scary owner keeps tabs of what you have taken and you pay before you leave.
We had a great evening.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Funky little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent our last evening in Brazil at this little neighborhood bar, where tourists and locals naturally mix. Local artists come and go, play any kind of music whenever they want. You have to sit at a table outside the bar (rain or shine) and take out a beer from the refrigerator yourself, but it's all very fun. The owner, Alfredo, keeps a tally of what you've taken (if you try to pay him right away, he impatiently waves away your money). The atmosphere here is very casual: a guy selling peanuts stops by and sells you peanuts, a guy who collects cans stops by and takes your empty beer cans. Alfredo, despite his unfriendly appearance and attitude is a well-meaning guy who takes care of his neighbors and is a good friend to local artists. He accepts donations to help locals in need and tells you in detail how he used the money to help. It's a feel-good place without artificially trying. Everything here is natural and easy going. A great place to wind down the day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bip Bip also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Bip Bip? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bip Bip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bip Bip to your Saves list