We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive cor what it is...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pobre Juan

Pobre Juan
Av. das Americas 3,900 30 piso | Vllage Mall, Barra da Tijuca, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
21 3252 2637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #269 of 8,676 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
México
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Too expensive cor what it is...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We were a party of 6 and had a quite bad situation when one of our collegues said his meat was overcooked.
The waiter took it away for the manager bring the same one after few minutes to say that that is the way they cook it. My collegue started eating it again not very happy and the waiter then said he was gonna prepare another one. Just wrong!
My fish was tasteless and the kept forgeting to bring our drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    143
    57
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Picanha - Expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was one of the best restaurants i have tried in Rio. Very good Picanha, Nice Atmosphere. The restaurant is situated in a new Shopping Mall, and it says expensive all the way till the restaurant. And it is in fact expensive. Not a enormous huge bill, but not a normal restaurant for a daily meal. Anyway, the service was good, not excellent, but the food was amazing. A Guy playing a Piano inside the restaurant but not loud enough to ruin a nice conversation between friends or colleagues. The best Picanha i have tried in Rio.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
“The best meat in Rio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

All the dishes of Argentinean food. You can eat morcilla, chorizo and empanadas. And you don't need to go to Buenos Aires. The meat is as good as what you have in the best restaurants in Argentina. Try the "Pobre Juan" beef with papas sufflé and "farofa Pobre Juan".

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good food disappointing service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I had a business lunch and thought this would be a great place to go. Things went wrong from the start. We arrived just before noon and the doors were open. We walked in and were ignored by everyone before someone came and told us to wait outside on the bench. A few minutes later we were greeted by the other people who had previously ignored us as long lost friends. We accepted the couvert (not cheap) and this was ok, overpriced but good quality. We ordered Salmon and Steak and then waited close to 40 minutes for it to arrive. As first through the door we would have expected more rapid service. Food was very good but my dining partner ate his steak in record time and ran off to another meeting. Bill was high R$250 for 2. HATE it when the receipt doesn't match the amount charged. Other restaurants issue a receipt with service why can't they.
Overall i am left underwhelmed at the experience. Might try the other location at Fashion Mall but suspect that might have to go to Sao Paulo to get anything like customer service

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We were overjoyed when Pobre Juan opened (a little late) a new branch in Village Mall on Avenida das Americas, only minutes from our Apartment and we have been regular, sometimes weekly, visitors ever since. Despite a mishap with our first attempt to book a table using the online website, and continued issues with the unavailability of the cardapio on the same site, this restaurant excels with sublime steaks and side dishes - by far the best steaks we've ever eaten. The service can sometimes be a little haphazard, teething issues clearly, but the atmosphere is friendly and bustling, the waiters are keen to help and so attentive it's unbelievable. The wine menu is vast and the beautiful wine 'cellar' is the centrepiece of the restaurant. The array of cuts of steak is amazing, and unlike other supposedly 'specialist' restaurants we've tried (like Gaucho's in Richmond upon Thames and Kew Grill) the steak comes exactly as requested. If you want rare you get rare. The mash potato is gorgeous and piping hot, smooth and creamy - one portion is more than enough for two. I particularly love the Palmito, but sadly this isn't always available. The mushrooms provencal are buttery, garlicky and divine, and the grilled pepper is soft and sweet. The broccoli is a wee bit too garlic overladen for my taste, but may appeal to others. Overall, however, our absolute favourite is the Morcello - the Black Pudding. My husband, who was born and raised in St Helens and favours the famous Bury Black Pudding, was even moved last time to say that the Pobre Juan version exceeded the Bury version! It is warm and fat and sweet, peppery, juicy and mealy, all at the same time. A single portion, often 3 or 4 chunky little sausages, is an ideal starter and we almost cry when we're told they don't have it available! Thoroughly recommend this restaurant, the setting is gorgeous, the outside deck fabulous with wonderful views, the bar is large and sturdy with a good selection of beers and spirits and excellent bar snacks, and the serviette model making skills of Jose, one of the Managers, is worthwhile seeing too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pobre Juan also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Pobre Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pobre Juan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.