We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hostel in the centre of lapa” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Manga Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Manga Hostel to your Saves list
Manga Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Rua do Lavradio 186, Lapa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20230070, Brazil (Centro)   |  
Hotel amenities
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine hostel in the centre of lapa”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

i had a private room. it was horrible and was tiny, just about fitted a double bed, with a window very high up with a view of a brick wall, but at R$150 this is the price for the centre i guess. Luckily I only stayed for the night.

Staff are very pleasant, a nice young atmosphere. I imagine it's a good place to stay for travellers and people using the dorms.

There is a pool table in the reception, it has a beer fridge 24/7 behind reception. A good area for visiting the centre and Santa Teresa, however, I bit far from the beaches if Zona Sul is your thing, but obviously a much cheaper area to stay and great for people that wanna party and enjoy the night life, of which there is plenty.

Be careful, as it's dangerous at night if you're alone and stray from the brightly lit areas.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    71
    23
    3
    0
See reviews for
13
37
65
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogotá, Cundinamarca, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Excelent experience overall, the hostel has great facilities, the staff is most welcoming and helpful, and the environment is just great! I was there with five friends in a fourteen bed room and always felt I had my own space. The hostel opened a few months ago and everything is top quality and brand new, hope people keep it that way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I've been in so many differents hostels world wide... This one is great!

Busses and Subway station is very close the hostel, using it, in about 20/30 minutes in Copacabana and in all of amazing places Rio has to show you ... As day light makes always easier and safe the locomotion. For evening, the Lapa is the center of the fun! So it's always good and close enough to walk .... 50 meters!

Cleanses, Well located, Friendly staff...

Spotless!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

As you've probably read in other reviews, the staff of this hostel is excellent!!! They speak English very well and are very helpfull when you need any kind of information. I had a room in the back which was fine and clean. I needed the most quiet room (as I like to sleep well after a flight) and besides the sounds of the airco-outside it was ok. (that said: at 6.30 sounds from the kitchen woke me up even with my earplugs in. But I guess you gotta have breakfast too :) )

The location might not be the best for girls travelling alone as eventhough the policestation is opposite to the hostel, the neighbourhood feels kind of sketchy at night. Nevertheless it's a good location if you want to see things in the citycentre, and busses to Copacabana and Ipanema stop close to the hostel.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Pontal room, which is supposed to be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed so i could be as close to the airport as possible, but it is a great location especially if you want to be near the bars and clubs.of lapa. The rooms are.really clean and beds are.pretty good but beware they have triple bunks! The bathrooms are new and clean and the water hot! Other than that the facilities were great and the staff super friendly and helpful! Would stay again but i will always request a bottom bunk!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very nice and very helpful about everything and has answer to every question. In addition the hostel is very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay there and would recomend it to every one who visit rio!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Good location, a bit quite during the days however comes to life at night lots of restaurants and bars close by. 5min wall to Lapa Steps. Staff very friendly and always willing to help, hostel cleaned regularly and beds comfortable. Stayed in an 18bed dorm, slept surprisingly well room was kept cool with good aircon!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manga Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manga Hostel

Address: Rua do Lavradio 186, Lapa, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20230070, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 467 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Manga Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
O Manga Hostel foi inaugurado em 26/12/2012. Localizado na esquina mais boêmia do Rio de Janeiro, este albergue oferece um andar inteiro para uso comum dos amantes da Cidade Maravilhosa. O Hostel possui um bar, sinuca, sala de TV e uma grande área externa com churrasqueira, forno a lenha e uma ducha para os dias mais quentes. A decoração é sensacional e faz você se sentir em casa. Todos os ambientes são climatizados com ar condicionado. É clima de montanha em plena Lapa no verão carioca. A recepção tem opções de passeios fora do eixo tradicional que os alberguistas adoram! Nós promovemos pequenas festas semanais exclusivas para os hóspedes e amigos próximos. Não tenha dúvida, você está no melhor albergue do Rio de Janeiro! Seja bem vindo, relaxe e aproveite ao máximo! Até o caroço! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Manga Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manga Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manga Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.