We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, really friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nomangue

Nomangue
Rua Sa Ferreira, 25 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22071-100, Brazil
(21) 2225-4028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #358 of 8,677 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, really friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were really warmly welcomed to this very friendly family run restaurant. The waiter/manager spoke perfect English too! He was proud to tell us about the traditional food on the menu...and traditional drinks!!! He really did try to accommodate our every need. The Caipirinhas here were excellent, I had mandarin and ginger, my partner the traditional...both were excellent. We ordered Salmon and rice, with a bitter sweet sauce (which was superb) and a filet mignon which was beautifully cooked and succulent. Pricing was average for Copacabana but atmosphere and staff made this one of the best restaurants we went to. Would definitely go again next time we're in Rio.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    52
    19
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I saw a little crab on the sign and said oh seafood! I went in and its small but the staff was immediately friendly and together we struggled in English-Spanish-Portuguese to get a great meal recommendation (daily specials are a great value). The meal was really good, the restaurant is a little expensive but I found thats typical of Rio. Very nice experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The restaurant was recommended to me as a truly local genuine food place with local recipes. It turned out to be exactly that - very nice, simple, delicious place with great service and very nice people. I had the Bobo Camarao - just perfect... like if you were eating at a friend (a gifted cook friend) in Rio. Just loved it! If you are looking for a genuine local place with real local food - nothing fancy, just deliciously real - that is your place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best Seafood Brazilian cuisine in Rio !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My favorite Nomangue it is in Copacaba, at Rua Sá Ferreira, 25 jf B, at the beach block. The owner Vaval is always there, and this garantee great food. Vaval is one of this type of Carioca that work hard to get his goals. And he do one of "The best seafood cuisine with a zip from Bahia". He work with fresh ingredients, and serve the best Pastel (samosas), my favorite is Camarão & Siri, other great choice are Casquinha de Siri (best of my life) & Bobó de Camarão ( dish with manioc and shrimp). Vaval is creative and have his backgroup from a Fish village in Rio call Guaratiba, great place to visit, and there you should look for to eat at his mothers Restaurant "Tia Penha". With his mom he learn cooking, then decide to imbrace as profession and go to Cooking University. But his style of the Fishe Village taste is for sure the best of his food. For sure the Restaurant NOMANGUE is the best choice and most autentic taste of Brazilian seafood cuisine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
“Copabana location - Terrible moqueqa!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I had the moqueqa polvo and it was 99% butter with a good amount of octupus. The butter clearly over powered the stew. Made a trip to the bathroom soon after! Never again. Service was good but chef should be changed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nomangue also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Nomangue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nomangue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.