We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, service and hostel :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Hostel to your Saves list
Discovery Hostel
Rua Benjamin Constant 26 | Gloria, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241150, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great staff, service and hostel :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

It is a shame I only stayed here for 2 nights, as it is hands down the best hostel I stayed in whilst in South America. The staff are extremely friendly and informative. On first seeing the interior and the design of the hostel, you know that this alone sets it apart from other hostels. It boosts a very welcoming setting, run by fellow travellers, where small details are met, such as a shelf, plug and light beside every bed. The breakfast alone was worth the 49BR.

Cheers discovery :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    24
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
51
113
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Discovery and in particular their staff are what really sets this hostel apart.

It's not the biggest or a Party hostel but you will make a ton of fellow travelling friends due to this.

Communal breakfasts and late night drinks with fellow travellers to share tips for your adventures in Rio or any else for that matter. Keep an eye out for the activity boad for some great suggestions on what's going on in this City.

I was travelling with my wife so opted for a private which was a lovely size...showers were shared somewhat although there are only 2 private rooms so not an issue.

A truly great base for seeing Rio...you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Shower temperature and pressure can be hit and miss... Only open water tap slightly to maximise heat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin,TX
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

emails went smoothly then they messed up our reservation and we lost our private room and we all had to do dorms. That and the taxi not picking us up were the only issues though.
Tip! get an aero taxi just outside the airport it's aroundR$60 and the hostel charges R$90 and their guy didn't show up and kept us waiting 30mins and the hostel didn't seem to think this was a big deal when we called them so that service is overpriced and unreliable. Pass. The owner Ricky is a really nice guy who offered us free caipirinhas after the mix ups when we met him. The Aussie girl working the front desk was also friendly and helpful. there was a guy with black curly hair who didn't seem to know anything and was new and spoke little English not an ideal receptionist at a hostel. Overall a clean friendly & convenient hostel. like all 4 star and below options out there they are what you make of them and that's what separates them from the 5star. Nice pillows and that's always appreciated. Avoid the reg private room it's right next to the common room dinning area so loud and no privacy to pee and shower. The female dorm had more privacy and ensuite was helpful since not a lot of toilets here.
Bring your own lock they overcharge you for a dinky lil annoying one here.
Avoid the vodka in brazil it's really weak as is the local beer and drink the bottle with the 51 on it. Ask about samba de sol on Fridays and Mondays it's free and awesome!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was the best hostel I've ever stayed at. You can tell that it is run by travellers, as they have taken care with small details (a shelf, light and plug by every bed). The atmosphere is great, not a party hostel, but certainly a social hostel. The location is great, close enough to walk to the parties in Lapa, and right by the Metro for easy access to all the sights in Rio.
Make sure you try the caipirinhas at the hostel, they are far better than the ones at street parties and most restaurants!

Room Tip: The female only dorm has an ensuite bathroom. The bunks are 3 high, so if you're worried about h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had an amazing time at the Discovery Hostel. The staff are super friendly and the hostel is located in a beautiful old home which creates a homely feeling. The hostel was always kept clean and it is a great place for meeting other travellers. The location is also perfect, it's walking distance to Lapa and there is also a subway at the end of the road which takes you directly to all the touristy sites and beaches. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I loved Discovery hostel! The staff are great and create a real homely atmosphere. The beds are the best of any hostel I've ever been to, real high quality mattress and pillow. The place is always clean and breakfast is amazing. Also, location is perfect, right near Lapa!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I would stay at Discovery again in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone staying in Rio. It is the best hostel I've ever stayed in. It's like these guys sat down one day and wrote a list of what would make the perfect hostel, and then went away and made it.

I was initially daunted about taking on Rio solo, but within a very short time I had fallen in love with the city and didn't want to leave. That is almost certainly thanks to some excellent tips from the staff at Discovery, not only on check in but any time I had a question or asked about an activity in Rio.

Zion, Enrique and Diego in particular were incredibly helpful at every turn and they were cool guys as well.

It isn't right on the beach and it costs a little more than many other places, but honestly, it's near the Metro so the location is excellent and you get what you pay for. Don't waste your time searching beyond Discovery. Just book it and know that you'll be happy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#1 of 234 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Santa Tere Hostel
#2 of 515 in Rio de Janeiro
5.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Botafogo
Injoy Hostel
Injoy Hostel
#9 of 515 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lagoa
Rioow Hostel
Rioow Hostel
#12 of 515 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Centro
Manga Hostel
Manga Hostel
#24 of 515 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Botafogo
Gaia Comfort Hostel
Gaia Comfort Hostel
#15 of 515 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Hostel

Address: Rua Benjamin Constant 26 | Gloria, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20241150, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 515 Specialty Lodging in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summer Olympics Rio 2016 Hostel Package Accommodations in Rio de Janeiro are now available! Developed by world travelers, Discovery Hostel in Rio de Janiero, Brazil, provides backpackers and budget-minded globetrotters all the comfort of a boutique hostel and the coziness and warmth of a home-stay. We have a strong focus on creating a clean, open and friendly social environment making Discovery Hostel the ideal base for travelers who want to explore Rio and have an experience of a lifetime. We take pride in hosting you in the former vacation home of Rio Negro's baroness, Eufrasia Teixeira Leite. The premises include: fully equipped kitchen, computer's lounge, reception & tourist information desk, TV area, bar & chill out patio. Pamper yourself with our customized beds, thick mattresses, big lockers, personal control lights, A/C and all the relaxation you will need for a good night's sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Discovery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hostel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.