We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Employee Theft Issue” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Saionara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Saionara Hotel to your Saves list
Saionara Hotel
Rua do Matoso, No. 11, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20270-132, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Newport Beach, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Employee Theft Issue”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Went to the World Cup final and left baggage in the locked baggage storage next to the reception desk the afternoon of the game. The key to the storage room is kept at the reception desk where one employee works at any given time. I checked baggage in with one gentleman and retrieved it from the storage with another gentleman about six hours later. Went straight to the airport and later realized that a "secret" zip compartment in one of my bags had been opened and cash removed ($3000usd). It could be said that it's my fault for not taking the cash with me but I didn't want to walk around with it on me amidst the crowds. I figured (incorrectly) that it would be safer in locked storage, at a hotel, "guarded" by one person with a key. Very disappointing. Bad way to end the trip.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
8
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This place looks old, dull and scary on the outside. However inside is like brand new and clean. My room had a electronic safe I left my personal stuff there. The rooms are clean and the breakfast is great. The only problem I had was that there were no plug outlets for American appliances in the rooms. Only 1 outlet downstairs which was shared with over 20 persons. I had to visit a nearby electrical store and purchase the connector for 7 reals. I think the hotels should purchase these connectors and have it in the rooms. Getting a taxi/ bus was was easy, and there is a bar and restaurant at the corner that serves good food. It is really a centralized place as it is located close to maracana, lapa, airports, christ redeemer and copacobana

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

With friendly staff and clean, well maintained, rooms in a friendly neighbourhood this is a good option for a budget conscious traveller. Breakfast was good, staff were helpful, rooms were basic but were clean and had new packaged towels every day. A safe in the room is something I'd normally expect and Saionara had it, but a lot of other places didn't.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saionara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saionara Hotel

Address: Rua do Matoso, No. 11, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20270-132, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saionara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saionara Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saionara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.