We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel with a Good Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Copa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Copa Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Copa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Nossa Senhora De Copacabana 335, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-002, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with a Good Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The facilities and staff in this hotel were great. The room was modern and clean (although the wifi was lacking a little bit). The breakfast was decent as well. But the staff went above and beyond. We lost our luggage and they spent a good amount of time on the phone with the airline tracking it down. They really treated us well and helped us out. Finally, the location is great. The area is safe (doormen also help out), and it is 1-2 blocks (5 minute) walk from Copacabana and a lot of great restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Ryan C,

in the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. We are really glad to hear that our front desk staff was helpful and assisted you during your stay. Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast and our very special location.

We hope to Welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    261
    50
    6
    3
See reviews for
94
159
37
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during soccer world cup. The room was small and the view was bad...the next building four meters away. But the room was clean and all was working. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was really good. Beach was about 5 minutes walk away.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Windsor Copa Hotel
Dear Mr.François C,

first of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to help us with your comments. I'm glad that you have enjoyed our location and our varied breakfast. Unfortunately one of our rooms was not up to your expectations. The rooms have different sizes and views, and it's depends on the category reserved.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back at the Windsor Copa Hotel.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed here during the world cup for 1 night on route to Salvador. The fan fest park is very close walking distance - 1 block away and safe to walk around. Dont walk around with alot of jewellery on or easy to steal backpacks/handbags. Keep money in your pockets and watch your surroundings..just be aware at all times. Front desk speak english. The room is small, but it is probably all you need when you stay in Copacabana. The breakfast was really nice, something different from the standard bacon and eggs breakfasts but well enjoyed by hubby and myself. Cannot fault this hotel, location is great, good breakfast and clean rooms.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Windsor Copa Hotel
Dear guest JeshC03,

thank you very much for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us t Windsor Copa Hotel.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as the varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices and breads; our location and service.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon!

Best regards,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

After trying with many different options on my short trips to Rio de Janeiro, this is one of the two of the same chain I am going to use from now on. Good service, location and staff, unless a bit pricey...
Hope to use it again soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Mr. Alejandro C,

thank you very much for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us at Windsor Copa Hotel.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as our location and service. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Even if for no other reason than its fabulous location, this hotel is an excellent choice. It's just a short walk from the beach, restaurants, and everything else in Copacabana. The hotel itself is also very nice--modern looking and clean. We upgraded to a larger room (a good idea), and appreciated the very comfortable bed and good pillows with nice linens, and the very large bathroom complete with a giant shower with extreme water pressure and excellent towels. There is a good-size closet space WITH hangers and a couple small drawers, a large in-room safe, a large desk/work space WITH outlets (110V), good lighting in the bedroom...the only thing missing was a comfortable chair. The bathroom could use another light, too. There is an on-site gym, and towels to use at the beach are available at no charge, although the chair station on the beach that says "Windor Hotels" does not serve the Copa Windsor, so you will need to rent a chair, if that's your style.

The breakfast buffet offered a good variety of foods, including lots of fresh fruit and juices, cheeses, breads, and hot dishes. Coffee and hot milk were served by the waiters, and sometimes they were a bit slow in refilling the cups, but the coffee was very good.

The staff was helpful and friendly. Postage stamps are available, a very nice commodity.

A negative was the internet--VERY slow at almost every time of the day. Nor did the room have any type of suitcase holder, something I would expect in a hotel of this quality.

We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room faced the road (6th floor), and it was a bit noisy. If you think you'll be bothered, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Director General at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear guest Conairaa,

thank you so much for your great review regarding your recent stay with us at the Windsor Copa Hotel.
We are very happy to hear how much you enjoyed our courtesy breakfast, served as a Brazilian style buffet, with plenty of local and seasonal fresh fruits and juices.
It is fantastic to hear how much you have enjoyed our location, in the very heart of Copacabana, only a few steps from the beach and from the vibrant cultural life of this neighbourhood.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Windsor Copa.

My very best wishes,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

STAFF: Special commendation to all friendly, helpful and professional front desk staff. They were patient in answering all our questions such as directions, money changing and relaying messages. They even helped us to check if certain shop was open, wrote down the address etc.

ROOM: Spacious, well maintained and everything worked without a hitch.

LOCATION: Great, just 2 min walk to Copacabana Beach. It's away from the main road so quieter facing. If you join a local tour bus, you will need to walk to main road for pick-up. Shops and eateries along the streets.

We ate at this local grilled meats joint called Quick Galetos - tasty chicken and thick cut pork well-marinated with liquor. Also a Kilo cafe where you pay by weight of your dish. You can also find shops selling Havaianas slippers and Melissa shoes.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear guest Orbidtank ,

thank you for your recent review, on Trip Advisor. Your comments are important to us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Windsor Copa Hotel. Our staff strives to make each guest's stay memorable and exceed their expectations.
I will personally share your comments with our team and celebrate yet another satisfies guest.
I hope you do have the opportunity in the future to visit us again.

Kind regards,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

This was an excellent hotel to stay in, located a minute or two from Copacabana Beach. The breakfast at this hotel was great, with Brazilian fresh fruits such as mango and pineapple included every day plus the full range you would expect. The rooms are nicely decorated and modern, the shower is fantastic. The rooms are small but who stays in their room in Rio!? The rooms were also clean and quiet at nights. All the staff were superb from the receptionist who greeted us the first night to the bell boy. Special mention however to our breakfast waitress from Rochina who every morning was always happy and smiling. We stayed for 10 nights. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear guest MikeT6128DF,

thank you very much for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us at Windsor Copa Hotel.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as the varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices and breads; our location and service.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon!

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Copa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Copa Hotel

Address: Av. Nossa Senhora De Copacabana 335, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Copa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Windsor Copa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Copa Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Copa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.