We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - very helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Copa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Copa Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Copa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Nossa Senhora De Copacabana 335, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-002, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We wanted a nice hotel, affordable and in a safe location - we didn't go wrong with this hotel. The staff on reception could not have been more helpful - they checked us in early (without charge), they answered and questions and queries we had and organised a city tour for us. The room was bright, very clean and spacious enough for what we needed. The location was extremely convinient for Copacabana beach. Would stay here again. The only thing we missed was a hotel bar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Mrs. Ruthie,

thank you very much for your preference while choosing Windsor Copa!

I am glad you have enjoyed our location, in the very heart Copacabana , 1 block from the beach and from the great restaurants and stores of the area, as much as you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon back at Windsor Copa Hotel.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    211
    42
    4
    3
See reviews for
79
131
30
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A modern, clean, comfortable hotel in a great location. Only one small block from Copacabana beach. Ideal as a base for a few nights when exploring Rio.
Sensibly priced and helpful staff. The facilities are limited but when there is a whole, incredible city outside your door, it's more than adequate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your preference while choosing Windsor Copa Hotel!
Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast, our location and our helpful staff. We all hope to welcome you back here soon!

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We wanted a clean hotel in a good location with a nice bathroom and good wifi and this was perfect. Not cheap by European standards but I think that is common in Rio. This seemed good value compared to other similar hotels. The location is great, 1 block from Copacabana and only a couple of blocks from the nearest metro stop. Breakfasts were ample and had a great choice. Wifi was really good, I managed a half hour Skype video call to the uk with no problem at all. Only slight downside would be the lack of bath (only had a huge shower) but I think that is probably common in similar hotels in Rio. Overall good value for Rio.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Andrea,

Thank you very much for your preference while choosing Windsor Copa!
Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast, with a large variety of fresh seasonal fruits and juices. I am glad you have enjoyed our location, in the very heart Copacabana , 1 block from the beach and from the great restaurants and stores of the área.
We look forward to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights and we felt we chose the right place. Staff were friendly, they also helped us choose the restaurants around. Breakfast was amazing. This hotel is perfectly located, Copacabana was just a few blocks away and the walk to beach was amazing. It was raining when we were in Rio, yet we had fun. Worth all your dollars !!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us at Windsor Copa Hotel.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as the varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices and breads; our location and services provide by our staff.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

In this hotel, we were particularly surprised by the service of the front desk staff. They were happy to arrange tours and book airport transfers and were very helpful when needing an information.
The rooms very clean and comfortable but not very big.
The hotel is ideally located close to the beach and a subway station.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Mrs Sara,

In the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor.The most important for the staff and management is your satisfaction. We are really glad to hear that our front desk helped you to arrange tours, providing you with an unforgettable experience!
I will be informing our staff of your positive observations to motivate them even further.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again soon.

Warm Regards from Rio!

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Rio. The location of the Windsor Copa was very good for the value. It was one block from the beach and restaurants as well as 3 blocks from a supermarket and 2 blocks from the Metro. The bellmen were extremely helpful as was Leonardo at reception. All the staff from the waiters at breakfast, the bellmen, and reception staff were very attentive and professional. There were 2 staff who spoke English which was helpful for transportation issues.
Some of the rooms appeared small but we had a corner room which was larger and overlooked the street. No street noise. Room was comfortable and had both 110 and 220 volt outlets. Bed was comfortable.
Breakfast buffet was plentiful with interesting juices including various shakes. They offered excellent selection of fresh fruits as well as waffles and toasted cheese sandwiches.
There was lots of granite throughout the hotel. Hallways, rooms, bathroom all had granite floors, and counter. Shower was excellent with great water pressure.
Overall a good value and Location.
Although the Hotel had free WIFI, it lacked a business center (computer) to use. Rooms were somewhat noisy at times.
A problem occurred on our departure with the airport shuttle. We were originally scheduled for a 1915 shuttle but changed it to 1615. At 1545 we were informed the shuttle would not arrive due to mechanical problem (not the hotel's fault) . The staff said there were no vacancies on the next 2 shuttles so we left for the public bus. A bellman came after us to inform us that we got on the 1715 shuttle which arrived at 1730 with 6 empty seats after we got on. Not sure if the shuttle service was not correct or the staff was incorrect.

Room Tip: Room 504 Larger room with king bed facing the Street. Corner rooms seem to be bigger. Avoid rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your superb review about your recent stay with us at Windsor Copa Hotel.

We are thrilled to hear how much you have enjoyed our great level of services, as much as you have enjoyed our prime location. We are indeed located in the very centre of Copacabana, just a few steps from the beach!

Also, I would like to thank you for your lovely comment about all staff. We will be informing all of them of your positive observations to motivate them even further!
We all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Rio.

Sincerely Grateful,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We just spent 3 night at the Windsor Copa. It was great. The lobby and coridors were bright and cheery. The room was super clean and good size. The bed was large (King Size) and comfortable. The shower was amazing. It included a huge breakfast. The staff was super friendly and spoke English. We were one block from the beach Directly behind the Copacabana Palace ant over 3 times the rate.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Bob S.,

thank you for your recent review, on Trip Advisor. Your comments are really important to us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Windsor Copa Hotel. Our staff thrives to make each guest's stay memorable and exceed their expectations. I will share your comments with our team and celebrate another satisfied guest !
I hope you do have the opportunity to visit us again.

Kind regards,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Copa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Copa Hotel

Address: Av. Nossa Senhora De Copacabana 335, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Copa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Copa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Copa Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Copa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.