We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Copa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Copa Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Copa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Nossa Senhora De Copacabana 335, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-002, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Everything you need”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during carnival 2013. The staff were very helpful and friendly and could speak English which was great as the language barrier throughout brasil was difficult at times. The rooms were small but the air conditioner worked and was quiet and the breakfast was great. Lets face it, we were here to explore brasil and party with the locals so we were only sleeping here and it was comfortable. If you are after a resort best look elsewhere, probably Hawaii. We were only 1 block from copacabana beach ( 2 min walk). There was plenty of local restaurants and bars nearby. The price wasn't too bad considering it was carnival, as all hotels and apartments dramatically jump in price this time of year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente de relações com clientes at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for the excellent review about your recent stay with us.

I'm glad that you have enjoyed the various aspects of our hotel, such as our service, location, and the varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices and breads.

We look forward to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    262
    50
    6
    3
See reviews for
94
160
37
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Windsor Copa Hotel. The hotel offers great value for money. The location is superb, only one block from Copacabana beach. The bus stop is right in front of the hotel. The metro station is only a block away. Public transportation is very good in Rio, so this just adds extra convenience. The hotel is very clean and well maintained. The free buffet breakfast has the most amazing variety of exotic fruits and drinks. The customer service is truly outstanding. We stayed there for 3 nights before our cruise. Our flight was at 11 PM on the last day of the cruise. Although we did not have a room for that day, they were very kind to let us store our luggage free of charge until we leave for the airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente de relações com clientes at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you so much for choosing Windsor Copa as your hotel in Rio de Janeiro. Thank you also for your wonderful review about your recent stay with us.

It is a great pleasure for all our staff to be reviewed with such beautiful words.
I am very honoured to hear how much you have enjoyed our breakfast with a large variety of fresh seasonal fruits and juices, as much as you have enjoyed our services and location.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon back at Windsor Copa Hotel!

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TORONTO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We found shopping online for hotels to be challenging for Rio, particularly when looking for a reasonable priced option for 5 nights. We chose the Windsor Copa Hotel for the price and the location to the beach. In this way the hotel succeeded. The location is prime for Copacabana and the price is still very good compared to the alternatives. Don't expect much from the rooms- ours was so small we could barely open two suitcases. It was reminiscent of a college dorm room. Location to restaurants was OK- if your looking for better dining closer to home- stay in Ipanema.

Our complaint with this hotel was with regards to the private car service. In two instances, the hotel front desk staff and concierge attempted to sell us on a private car ( once to Sugar Loaf mountain and once to the airport) in both cases they inflated the price of what a regular taxi would be for our journey. If you pick up one of the Rio city maps at the airport when you arrive, there is a section at the top that outlines the price to get to each location by taxi.
The fact that we were already aware of the prices and they were lying to us was incredibly off putting. As a tourist, you rely on the staff working at the hotel to guide you for your benefit, not theirs. The overall savings by taking taxis instead of private cars was $100 CAD. Do your research beforehand to avoid unnecessary costs.

Our general feeling was that the hotel didn't ruin our stay, but it wasn't a highlight. If we returned, we would stay in Ipanema.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente de relações com clientes at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,

first of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to help us with your comments.
I'm glad that you have enjoyed our location. Unfortunately one of our rooms was not up to your expectations, the rooms have different sizes and depends on the category reserved.

We do have private car service and the reception is always oriented to inform the guest that the price it’s not the same practiced by yellow taxis, because it is a different kind of service. I'm really sorry that you've left with the impression that we inflate the price.
You can be sure that your words will be shown to our staff in order to avoid the same impression to another guests.
We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, On
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed at the Windsor Copa Hotel from January 18th to January 25th, 2013. This hotel is only 1 block away from the beach and also one block away from the subway which worked out well for us. Most of the staff here spoke English. From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely friendly and provided great advice on what to see and do. They organized some tours for us and helped us out when we were trying to book other activities. From day to day their friendly nature and good humour gave us a great impression of the local people and culture.

The breakfast was wonderful. Every morning we enjoyed a variety of fresh fruit, fresh juice, baked goods, and prepared food as well.

The hotel also provides towels in the basement for the beach. The towel staff were also extremely nice.

Overall my best ever hotel experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear guest,

in the name of all our staff I would like to express our gratitude for your comments at Trip Advisor. We are really glad to hear that our front desk staff was helpful and assisted you during your stay. Our Chef will be very pleased to hear such lovely comments about our breakfast service.
Thank you once more for choosing Windsor Copa Hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again very soon!

All the very best,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Windsor Copa for New Years Eve. The hotel was wonderful! The breakfast was excellent, the rooms were very clean and the staff was amazing! They actually spoke good english and were a big help with any of our questions about getting around Rio. There is a door man there always. We never felt unsafe. anthe location to the beach is perfect! I would highly recommend this hotel. And would like to thank them for making our first trip to Brazil an amazing one!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente geral at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear 55farmgirl551,

thank you for your recent review, on Trip Advisor. Your comments are important to us.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Windsor Copa Hotel!
Our staff thrives to make each guest's stay memorable and exceed their expectations. I will personally share your comments with our team and celebrate another pleased guest.

We all look forward to welcome you again on your next visit to "The Wonderful City" !

Sincerely grateful, Mona Samir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been in this hotel after New Year's Eve. It has an excellent position, 50 m from Copacabana beach, close to Copacabana Palace Hotel. The only problem is our room. We had 2 rooms, one for us, one for our teenager sons. Their rooms was OK but our room was very small. They have put a double bed in a single bedroom. We didn't have even any space for our luggages. Thanks God we had our son's room that we could open our luggages.

The breakfast was good and the rooms were clean.

Room Tip: some of rooms are very small, ask for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente de relações com clientes at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for choosing the Windsor Copa on your recent trip to Rio, and also for taking your time to help us through your comments. I'm glad that you have enjoyed our location and varied breakfast with a large selection of fruits, juices and breads! Unfortunately one of our rooms were not up to your expectations (the rooms have different sizes and the size depends on the category reserved). We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back in Rio soon.

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

I traveled solo to Rio De Janeiro and stayed at the Windsor Copa Hotel. They had at least one Front Desk worker who spoke English. The entire staff was very friendly and always greeting you whether you understood or not...so you smile and nod your head. The single room I had was a view of balconies among people who live there. This didn't bother me because the views are out of this realm and I didn't care about paying for an Ocean View. The room was very tidy, neat and clean and I thought the beds slept well. I like the fact that you could put your things in a safe. The internet is free and was a good enough speed. I didn't have any problems with that. This was my first time coming here...the only thing I did not like was when you first come out of customs and you are heading to the outside for a taxi. There are 4 windows of soliciting hustlers of Brazilian women who want you to use the BLUE or RED taxi service. (So this taxi stand area is inside) Stay away from these. They show you the 109 price to take you to Copacabana but it is rigged. They beat me out of $40 extra real when coming back I payed 60 real. The only thing about the yellow taxi driver who charged me 60 real heading back to the airport; was he was driving so damn slow as to make sure he was going to get his 60 real. He drove like we were towing dynamite and I almost told him put the damn pedal to the medal but he wouldn't have understood. I will definitely stay at Windsor Copa as they are only a couple of blocks from the beach and they will provide you with beach towels. When I checked out that morning...they were happy to hold my bags until I came back before heading to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonaSamir, Gerente de relações com clientes at Windsor Copa Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your preference while choosing Windsor Copa!!!

Thank you also for your compliments regarding our delicious breakfast, with a large variety of fresh fruits and juices. I am glad you have enjoyed our location, in the very heart of Copacabana, 1 block from the beach and from the restaurants and stores of the area, as much as you enjoyed the service provided by our staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon back at Windsor Copa!

Sincerely,

Mona Samir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Copa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Copa Hotel

Address: Av. Nossa Senhora De Copacabana 335, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020-002, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#13 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#16 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Copa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Windsor Copa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Copa Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Copa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.