We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant quality ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boulangerie Guerin

Boulangerie Guerin
Av. Nossa Senhora De Copacabana 920, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22060-002, Brazil (Copacabana)
+55 21 2523-4140
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 8,471 restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Bakery, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Neighborhood: Copacabana
Description: The Guerin namesake has been aligned with pastry arts for almost a century, Dominique Guerin’s grandfather opened his bakery in the suburbs of Paris in 1921. It was here, during WWII, that Gaston Lenôtre began his training, laying the foundation for the culinary revolution the chef would later lead. A few decades later the Lenôtre-Guerin relationship would take another turn, when in the early seventies a young Dominique Guerin would begin his own training with Lenôtre. Guerin’s work with the master brought the young chef to Rio, for the opening of the Rio Palace (now Sofitel) in 1979. Thirty years have passed and in between Guerin worked in some of the finest restaurants around the world before returning to Copacabana – first as the pastry chef for Sofitel, now as the owner/operator of Boulangerie Guerin."Nathan M. Walters
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant quality ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Despite what others say, the prices are list per 100 grand and actually are much cheaper then you think. We had a full breakfast for 4 people for about 15 usd total. That's pretty good for great quality food. Only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is a serious lack of sit in options...

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    141
    74
    17
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berlin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“The best bakery in Copacabana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Terrific bakery and patissier in the middle of Copacabana. Always crowded, but this speaks for the great quality of brioches, croissants, baguettes and wonderful little tarts. Very helpful and friendly staff. Expensive but it is worth it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great boulangerie now open in Leblon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I was happy to know that Guerin opened in Leblon, but I was rather disappointed with the chosen location. In my opinion, such a nice place deserved a better location, in the heart of Leblon.

The bread (especially the croissant) and the macarons are delicius. The only setback is the product prices. It's very expensive.

But still, I highly recommend this boulangerie.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Nice pastries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

There was little for vegetarians but what was there was great.

The staff didn't speak a work of english I don't speak a word of Portuguese so ordering something vegetarian was challenging. Then what I did end up getting contained meat, however I just swapped with my mate for his chocolate croissant.

I wish the labels also had English on but they were so busy I guess they don't need the tourist trade.

I'd recommend for a sweet pastry or something small to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“High Quality High Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Authentic french bread an pastries like in Paris. Except that the prices are even more expensive than in Paris. Only affordable on a daily basis for the luxury tourist and very high networth Brazilian. The pricing information regarding this place is misleading. You can have one piece of pastry in the price range from 2 - 7 U$, but not an entire meal. This is just a bakery, not a restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boulangerie Guerin also viewed

Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Boulangerie Guerin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boulangerie Guerin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.