We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother. Staff sucks.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residencial Apartt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Residencial Apartt to your Saves list
Residencial Apartt
Rua Francisco Otaviano, No 42, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #199 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't bother. Staff sucks.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Only the housekeeping staff is cool Otherwise, a depressing place. You can do better.

Morning reception clerk wanted 80 Reals for airport taxi. It should only cost 40 to 45 Reals.
The Chinese reception clerk is cool though.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
2
2
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

Although it might not seem good my stay here couldn't have been better. From the service at the front desk, to the cleanliness of the rooms, the quality and size of the breakfast, and of course the location, it was just great!
I really enjoyed the good humor of the personnel at the front desk!
The only thing this hotel needs is new beds and new linens.
If you are travelling to Rio definitely stay here! It's value is well worth it!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villas, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Located behind Arpoador Beach, midway between Copacabana and Ipanema, the location cannot be beat. Easy walking distance to everything. The apartments are small, but spotlessly clean. The included breakfast is served in your room. I have paid a LOT more to stay at the Copacabana Palace and the Sofitel (both great hotels), but this is the best value I have found in Rio. I will be back. The only problem was that the hot water was never really hot. But the weather is so hot that a lukewarm shower was fine.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

I booked the hotel using ipanema.com, which offered me a great discount. I was kind of afraid of going to this hotel since it was very cheap and there weren't many reviews on the internet.

The rooms are noise yes, but it is not that bad as some say. Also, the breakfast served in your room is very nice, everything is very clean, the people are friendly and it's located just 2 blocks from Ipanema and 2 blocks from Copacabana in a very safe neighbourhood.

I really liked the idea of having my own place (bathroom, kitchen, living room, bedroom, fridge, etc) in Rio. It made me feel like at home.

My only "bad" moment was when the rate I had agreed in US$ transformed
into a lot more in R$. At first I thought that they were trying to take advantage of me, but then I realized they were using the
"unofficial" exchange rate, something very common in Brazil, so I paid
in USD instead and everything was fine.

I recommend this hotel and I would return without a doubt.

PS: everything looks exactly as the pictures the other member uploaded (even the view from the room!)

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2005

I recently stayed in Residencial Apartt in Arpoador in Rio de Janeiro.

1. You can not ask for a better location. Located in the middle between IPANEMA and COPACABANA you have a choice every day of walking to the one or the other.

2. You very close to a major bus stop that links you up to the underground or the rest of the city.

3. The place is clean, the staff really friendly and you do get a great breakfast every morning delilivered to your room after you phoned. Juice, coffee, buns, cheese and ham, jam and butter.

4. The place is safe with a lock-up safe in your closet.

5. The price is really unbeatable for the location.

Now for the bad!

1. The place is sooo noisy. Try and get a room at the back of the hotel because the street on the front stays busy till 2 in the morning with busses and cars and the windows just don't keep out the sound. I slep on the couch in the lounge and you could still hear the street through a windown and two closed doors.

2. I had a buch of noisy PORTUGUESE tourists on my floor and they had a perty every night till 4 in the morning. The corridor have hectic echo in, so you heard everything.

If you can live with the noise, this place is really worth it.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residencial Apartt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residencial Apartt

Address: Rua Francisco Otaviano, No 42, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Residencial Apartt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residencial Apartt Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residencial Apartt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.