We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will take Miami any day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copacabana Beach

Copacabana Beach
Avenida Atlantica, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Copacabana)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$65*
and up
Guanabara Bay Cruise with Optional Seafood Lunch
Ranked #43 of 338 Attractions in Rio de Janeiro
Type: Wharfs/ Piers/ Boardwalks, Beaches, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: For sunning, relaxing and people watching, join the thousands who flock each year to this lively, world-famous beach lined with shops, bars, restaurants and hotels.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
“I will take Miami any day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It was great to see and I loved the mountians around there but as far as beaches go I would take Miami over Rio any day. Sorry love the people but the people in florida are great too. I did like jogging on the path out front of the beach and stayed at the Marriot right on the beach.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,696
    1,216
    423
    97
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Broadbeach, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were so excited to be coming to Rio & staying on Copacabana beach but its not quiet the beach we expected...being Australian I guess we are spoilt as far as beaches go but where it makes up for it is with the little bars & chafes that litter both the beaches & footpaths...now this has it all over OZ. I love the vibe of the place & as far as all the warnings about safety blah,blah,blah...if you are that unawares of your environment then you deserve to get rolled.We have been here for 5 days already & have walked around all times of day & night + being Australian we have consumed our fair share of cachaca so ignore all the crap from the 5* tourists & get down amongst it & enjoy!!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“regular beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

it's a must go, one of the most famous beaches in the world.
but you can find so many other beaches that are more beautiful, cleaner, and less crowded than this. don't waist too much time there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great beaches....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

the water a little bit cold, but you can spend a perfect day there. There are cold water showers, and nice people that helps you clean your feet when your leaving the beach. I recommend this beach for a family stay and a romantic as well.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cyprus
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
97 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Splendid beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Magnificent beach regularly cleaned . The place to see and be seen in skimpy bikini. Place to play handball, run, exercise, jog. Listen to music. A very easy and happy place full of young and old. In spite of warnings it appeared to be perfectly safe. A must.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copacabana Beach also viewed

 
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
 

Been to Copacabana Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copacabana Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.