We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit, but not a thrill” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Modern Art

Museum of Modern Art
Av. Infante Dom Henrique 85 | Parque do Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20021-140 , Brazil
2122404944
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 572 things to do in Rio de Janeiro
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: An impressive collection of the likes of Picasso, Max Ernst, Rodin, Brancusi and other artists from Brazil and elsewhere is housed in this concrete and glass building in Flamengo Park.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, but not a thrill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The art museum scene in Rio de Janeiro is about to change. Untill now, it has been a bit disappointing. Occasional interesting exhibitions occur particularly at the museum of Banco do Brasil and the Museum of Correios (Post office) both at the Centro.

New museums are being build at the Centro and at Copacabana. Some will open just bebore the summer Olympic games (2016). A new museum was just opened at the Centro in March 2013.

Visited The Museum of Modern Art in February 2013. On a rainy day the permanent collection felt a bit grey, outdated and uninspiring. However, we did enjoy the the collection of a temporary show of a visiting artist. For an art enthusiast surely worth a visit, but for a "regular museum goer" this may feel a bit disappointing (compared to what other major cities offer).

We took a cab from Copacabana for about 25 reais. Buses also pass by. The museum is located just before the domestic airport of Santos Dumont. Taxis are also available in fron

The museum has a small shop, friendly staff, elevators.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    136
    45
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
98 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Pleasant...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Mueum of Modern Art is structurally a fine example of Brazillian architecture and worth a visit for only that reason. It houses a collection of modern art. If you are a fan of installation art, this is the place for you.. It also houses the collection of art of Brazillian artists of the 20th century. I didn't see any Picasso or Rodin. Large sections were closed. No guides available to ensure that all might be seen. Still, a pleasant place to spend a few hours.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BLOWN AWAY !!! (in a good way)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I AM BLOWN AWAY! price: 12 reis. way exceeding my expectations. I went to MAM and other contemporary art museums in the Sao Paulo area last week, too. And they are a NOMATCH for this. photos allowed without flash. If you are into contemporary arts in any way, find a way not to miss it. very well laid out, very roomy, they can fit in huge pieces comfortably. compositions are also lovely. large variety. building is just the right spot for this. i ended up taking pics of layouts and building as well. and its right by the sea. it's a no-brainer. i enjoyed it very very much. take your time, I have spent over 2 hours, wish I had more time.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABBruZZese
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Museum haven't permanent exhibition”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

...therefore level of interest can change depending on the quality of exibitions in place. There is a shop of design that really worth a visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Contemporary Brazilian art -- its worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The building itself is amazing, but the art inside is worth a visit. Modern, contemporary Brazilian artwork with all the country's boldness and creativity.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Modern Art also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Modern Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Modern Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.