We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Botanical Garden (Jardim Botanico)

Botanical Garden (Jardim Botanico)
Rua Jardim Botanico 1008, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil (Jardim Botânico)
021-294-6012
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #13 of 479 attractions in Rio de Janeiro
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Two 800-yard-long rows of towering royal palm trees are a highlight of this massive garden containing thousands of plants and trees, including every variety of palm tree imaginable.
Acton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Boatanical Gardens should definitely be on your Rio bucket list. We were there for 2 hours, but could have spent 5. There are trees, shrubs, waterfalls and ponds there that I have seen nowhere else. I initially thought 'how boring', but I was flat-out wrong. Do this.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,919
    1,222
    277
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty pictures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The pictures we took from this place turned out very pretty. Worth the visit. Just hire a taxi to get there.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Green thumb lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Spend a couple hours scrolling here in the Jardim Botanico. Terrific places to take tons of plant pictures if you'll a plant lover.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“amazing variety”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have been to many different gardens around the world and I can assure you, this place is a real gem! You forget the whole heat and noise from the city outside from the moment you step into this place. Amazing variety of very tropical nature, peaceful and relaxing, beautiful, enchanting...

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurreyUK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Do not plan on eating here”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

The garden itself is a very typical big city botanical Garden but there is not unlocked of shade so beware if you do not tolerate the heat and humidity.
We had planned to eat and went to the cafeteria near the main entrance. The queue was enormous and because there was no menu and it was necessary to pay before you could collect food it was very difficult to order food. We ended up with a couple of pies but one mouthful was more than enough as they were very dry.
It was not particularly pleasant sitting in the courtyard as there were piles of rotting fruit by the bins and the staff were trying to shovel them up and cleaned the area but it was pretty smelly.
Not a terribly successful outing

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Botanical Garden (Jardim Botanico) also viewed

 

Been to Botanical Garden (Jardim Botanico)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Botanical Garden (Jardim Botanico), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Botanical Garden (Jardim Botanico) to your Saves list