We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museu Nacional De Belas Artes

Museu Nacional De Belas Artes
Av. Rio Branco, 199 | Centro (Cinelandia), Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20040, Brazil
+55(21) 3299-0600
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Museu Nacional De Belas Artes like an insider
Top Rated
$174*
and up
Corcovado Mountain, Christ Redeemer and Sugar...
Ranked #60 of 572 things to do in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Inside this French Renaissance-style building is a collection of paintings by Brazil's finest contemporary artists as well as an impressive array of folk and African art.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Spent the afternoon here when I arrived in Rio. Great museum. Lots of Beutiful art. Very easy to get to via Subway. Nice area in Downtown Rio. Defitnely worth a visit if you have some extra time to spare

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    114
    30
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cyprus
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
121 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A good collection of international and Brazilian art. Well laid out and representative of nations rich art history. Well worth visiting for anyone interested in cultural side of Brasil.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Small museum, not a must see.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Its only one floor so there isnt much to see. I think its all brazilian artists from mostly 18-19th century. It is free so if you are in the area, like art and have 30 mins-1 hr to spare worth a stop in. One strange thing we noticed was that a lot of the tourists like to have their picture taken in front of every painting, but dont actually look at it. This became slightly annoying after a whle as you are always stopping for someone to take a picture.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had this fine museum almost all to myself. I think it was suppose to cost about $1.50 to get in, but for some reason I was told I didn't have to pay. My favorite painting was probably a bare chested man who was identified as "the master of smack." I really liked the sculpture garden

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The best museum in Rio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The best spot, the best exibits, the best permanents, nice place to go for arts in the heart of the historic city

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museu Nacional De Belas Artes also viewed

 

Been to Museu Nacional De Belas Artes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museu Nacional De Belas Artes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.