We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service and over priced!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantico Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantico Copacabana Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Sigueira Campos, 90 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22031-070, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor service and over priced!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are very dated from the furniture to the linens. Air conditioner provided no relief & is basically just a noisy fan. Lift is tiny & slow. Wait staff in the breakfast area are friendly but expect to see the same menu every morning. Food is reasonable however. When we checked out the concierge charged us for mini bar that was not used. He even pretended to call a maid claiming she could not see the drinks. We ended up paying just to get out of there and then he had the hide to try and tell us we needed to book a cab because there would be no taxis at our departure time which was an absolute load of balony. Avoid Taxis at front of hotel. Walk your bags two doors down and grab your own Taxi. You can also take a short walk down to Copacabana beach and get a bus to the airport. It's air conditioned and far cheaper if you are looking to save a few $$. Called for a late check out and was abruptly told no in a very rude manner. I'm okay with a no but there is a diplomatic and tactful way to let a customer down if there is valid reason for doing so. Bad service combined with dated rooms and facilities leaves this hotel lacking. Skip it and keep looking for alternatives would be my suggestion.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    210
    225
    120
    67
See reviews for
162
163
61
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Upon arrival the reception gave a sense that this may be an ok hotel to stay at, the hotel staff then proceeded to say there was a water contamination problem and I should stay at another hotel just up the road. Fortunately my Brazilian work colleague was aware that they do this and after a rather heated argument a room was suddenly found for me to use.

The pictures on their website are very missleading, these are from a very limited set of rooms which have been updated, the rest of them have not had this done yet. The 5th floor room was very dated, 3x single beds, very noisy AC and poorley installed so it was like having a window open all the time, noisy from the street. The bathroom, complete with comical teledial phone, was smelly and you never felt clean even after having a shower. No working room safe either. The switches behind the bed sometimes worked and sometimes didn't so turning lights on/off became an issue.

Breakfast was average to say the least. You have to pay for WiFi access.

Overall I would suggest you look elsewhere as this place is overpriced and not up to standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Few words.
Old building.
Good location but not so close to the beach of Copacabana. Dangerous traffic cars I mean.
Good breakfast.
Small bath towells.
Terrible beds.
No activities surrounding it than the beach.

Room Tip: Negotiate the value since is a two stars and nothing more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel was terrible right from the start!!! A person I was travelling with had their bag stolen at the front desk during our check-in. They claimed the security cameras did not work and none of the security guards or front desk clerks saw anything. . .

They messed up our room by giving us a key to a room that already had occupants. When we finally got another room, the bed was not made from the previous guests' stay. After asking twice for them to come and change the sheets to no avail, we finally went down to the front desk ourselves and asked for sheets and made our own bed.

And on top of all this, our bathroom smelled like sewage the entire time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overpriced is the word that comes to mind. Bad customer service. Rooms are very old. Showers are old and smell. Elevator is the worst since sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Really not worth the money you will pay for this hotel.

Room Tip: No such thing. Even if you complain, nothing will get done. Too bad they take your money up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just stayed for 1 night in Dec 2012.
Location: 10min walk from the beach.
Room: spacious, comfortable. The street noise comes from the air conditioning unit. So it sounds like we are sleeping with the window opened. Decoration isn't so nice and would benefit from an update (it looks like a room from the 80's). Buttons were missing on the air conditioning unit, so I couldn't adjust it.
Breakfast: nice, good variety
Staff: friendly, helpful
Swimming Pool: the photos do show that the water is clear. However when I tried it, it was turbid.
Parking: I found the price steep (R$50/day) compared to other hotels in Rio (R$25/day).

I could return if I found a good deal and for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of the elevators have an extra internal (lobby/leaving) room. Street noise comes fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Several months ago I went to Atlantico Copacabana: I had a really bad experience. But it was not enough for me: I tried it again!, and now I can say: forget it! The hotel is close to the renovated and charming NetRio Theater (former Tereza Rachel Theater): this is the only reason to stay there. The lobby is vulgar and kitsch, the rooms are just okay, and the breakfast … better say nothing! Atlantico Copacabana is located in a crowded, charmless and dirty street, which you will need to face if you want to go to the beach. It is easier to climb the favela behind the hotel: it is closer than Copacabana beach. From the swimming pool, I must declare, you will see the Cristo Redentor statue on the top of Corcovado Mountain – “da janela vê-se o Corcovado, o Redentor, que lindo…” But I need to advise you: take a look just at night.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantico Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantico Copacabana Hotel

Address: Rua Sigueira Campos, 90 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22031-070, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantico Copacabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantico Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Copacabana
Atlantico Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantico Copacabana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.