We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do Not Stay Here!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantico Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantico Copacabana Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Sigueira Campos, 90 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22031-070, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #155 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do Not Stay Here!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel was terrible right from the start!!! A person I was travelling with had their bag stolen at the front desk during our check-in. They claimed the security cameras did not work and none of the security guards or front desk clerks saw anything. . .

They messed up our room by giving us a key to a room that already had occupants. When we finally got another room, the bed was not made from the previous guests' stay. After asking twice for them to come and change the sheets to no avail, we finally went down to the front desk ourselves and asked for sheets and made our own bed.

And on top of all this, our bathroom smelled like sewage the entire time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    190
    202
    113
    59
See reviews for
140
148
53
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overpriced is the word that comes to mind. Bad customer service. Rooms are very old. Showers are old and smell. Elevator is the worst since sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. Really not worth the money you will pay for this hotel.

Room Tip: No such thing. Even if you complain, nothing will get done. Too bad they take your money up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just stayed for 1 night in Dec 2012.
Location: 10min walk from the beach.
Room: spacious, comfortable. The street noise comes from the air conditioning unit. So it sounds like we are sleeping with the window opened. Decoration isn't so nice and would benefit from an update (it looks like a room from the 80's). Buttons were missing on the air conditioning unit, so I couldn't adjust it.
Breakfast: nice, good variety
Staff: friendly, helpful
Swimming Pool: the photos do show that the water is clear. However when I tried it, it was turbid.
Parking: I found the price steep (R$50/day) compared to other hotels in Rio (R$25/day).

I could return if I found a good deal and for a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of the elevators have an extra internal (lobby/leaving) room. Street noise comes fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Several months ago I went to Atlantico Copacabana: I had a really bad experience. But it was not enough for me: I tried it again!, and now I can say: forget it! The hotel is close to the renovated and charming NetRio Theater (former Tereza Rachel Theater): this is the only reason to stay there. The lobby is vulgar and kitsch, the rooms are just okay, and the breakfast … better say nothing! Atlantico Copacabana is located in a crowded, charmless and dirty street, which you will need to face if you want to go to the beach. It is easier to climb the favela behind the hotel: it is closer than Copacabana beach. From the swimming pool, I must declare, you will see the Cristo Redentor statue on the top of Corcovado Mountain – “da janela vê-se o Corcovado, o Redentor, que lindo…” But I need to advise you: take a look just at night.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liss, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is not the best hotel we ever stayed but for this value I would not expect anything much better, yes it is very dated and tired , It would be nice if hotel could invest a bit in renovation as it is needed, Breakfast not a great choice but it wan't so bad , I have seen worst. Let's be honest this is not 5* family friendly big resort style hotel, I would not stay there probably longer than 2-3 days but .....for a short stay is ok , the location is great very close to copacabana beach,
Would i chose this hotel again? ...if I could not get anything better for this value and in similar location then yes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Just stayed here and it wasn't as bad as many of the reviews here. Though - another person in our group went to his room only to find that it wasn't cleaned from the previous stay, and the second room he got had a very noisy A/C. So he waited fo the original room to be cleaned.
Our room was fine - yes it's old and a bit dated, but very spacious. The bathroom was fine - though not super clean and flashy. I noticed a small trail of tiny ants along the mirror, but other than that, it was fine. The shower was warm and had great pressure.
The view was nice too - we could see Christ the Redeemer if you looked to the right of our window, and the ocean if you looked to the left. The roof top patio was also great. The pool a decent size, and the shower was handy for our 10:30pm flight. Just don't tell them that. Technically you aren't allowed to use the pool once you check out... but after spending the day in Rio before a 10:20pm flight, what harm is it to go up there for a quick rinse before a 10hr flight?? We managed to this discreetly and quickly so that we were clean for our flight home.
We were also worried about customer service... but when I requested a spoon for the ice cream that we bought - it was promptly delivered to our room within 5 minutes of my call.

Though it isn't right on the beach, it was within walking distance. A grocery store was just down the street. The break fast buffet was fine as well. Had lots of options and was very tasty.

All in all - a very decent place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack Tri-Lakes, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel was booked as part of a tour. It was the worst one we stayed at during our 15 days in Chile, Argentina and Brazil. As other reviewers have pointed out it is very dated and tired. While SOME of those on the tour reported baths which have been minimally updated, others told horror stories of leaky showers etc. The linens were very old and worn - the bed covered looked like it hadn't been cleaned since the 80s. They were the only hotel on the tour which charged for SLOW internet; supposedly 15 Real/ 24 hrs, but we checked out before the 24 hours were up and found once we did we couldn't use the internet in the lobby where we had to wait for our flight. AND to add insult to injury, they also charge for use of the lock (3 Real) for the room safe. You also have to REQUEST to have the a/c turned on!!!!
The only reason I didn't give this 1 star was that the breakfast was pretty good and the location is convenient.
You can do better than this - pay a little extra if necessary, but don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantico Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantico Copacabana Hotel

Address: Rua Sigueira Campos, 90 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22031-070, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantico Copacabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlantico Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Copacabana
Atlantico Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantico Copacabana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.