We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out dated Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantico Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantico Copacabana Hotel to your Saves list
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Sigueira Campos, 90 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22031-070, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #159 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
BIRMINGHAM ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Out dated Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I was very dissapointed with this hotel. The location is great the rooms are outdated and we would not use the shower because it stank. In the bedroom was a big air conditioner which was very noisey. The Pool was cold even though the temperature was over 90 degrees in the sun. Internet expensive and breakfast dissapointing. Out dated Bedrooms Lifts Dining area very noisey bedrooms. If this is a four star hotel then Im George Clooney whoever rated this hotel wants sacking...

Room Tip: Dont book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    210
    225
    120
    67
See reviews for
162
163
61
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was the worst Hotel I have EVER stayed in! Bad odour, cockroach, gap in the wall through which you can see the people in the next room, insect bites, bad service from front desk, I can just keep on going...
People, STAY AWAY FROM THIS HOTEL!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We are arrived at 2am from a vey long trip to find out that our room reservation met nothing to them,The desk clerk stated that due to pluming issues they were going to send us to el centro, downtown.After a half hour of our tour guide protesting we were sent to the Astoria Copacabana which was even worse.The headboard was a piece of styrophone in one of the 3 beds .We had paid for a triple room .There was not room to put suitcases even on the floor.The next day we went back to Atlantico wich has the tackyest lobby with dingy orange furniture and plastic flowers.The only good ting was the food at breakfast.I would not stay at either hotel again.

Room Tip: suites in higher floor had a little nore room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south Wales
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Hotel is located a few blocks from the beach and near public transportation. Wifi is charged for by the day or hour. Rates are exstortionate in the hotel and better if you book through a third party.

Reception staff are genarally misarable and look you up and down when you check in. This hotel boast nothing nor service that would suggest that flip flops and a backpack are not acceptable altough the staff are dilluded to this.

Rooms are basic and in need of some touch ups and a few extra nails here and there. Shower was great.

Breakfast was decent and probably the highlight of the services.

Roof top pool had great panoramic views and not crowded.

Average hotel let down by grumpy reception staff who don't seem to like what they do. Porters and restaurant staff were nice and friendly.

Could be so much better if you felt like you were welcome.

We had an incident in Rio that left us shook up and anxious. Altough no fault of the hotel, some compasion and reasurrance would have been nice altough so long as we could pay for the mini bar they we happy.

This place needs to step up and there are far better options available close by.

Room Tip: Make sure you see your room before you part with any money! Our was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

My friend and I had booked two rooms at the Hotel Astoria, Copacabana. However, upon arriving, we were told that the rooms were full at that hotel, and the guy at the front desk offered us the option of moving to Atlantico Copacabana, which he said was just a short distance away and was a four star hotel. We didn't quibble with this because we had arrived on a late flight and were anxious to check in and have a rest.

Upon reaching Atlantico Copacabana, the front service desk took a long time to get us our rooms. Initially, they said they only had one room with three beds, and was it okay if my friend and I shared a room. I was quite firm about this and insisted we needed two separate rooms. It took some time before they were able to honour our booking and find two rooms for us.

The rooms were horrible. They were dated, old and my bathroom stank of sewage. There were only two elevators to serve 14 floors, and on the second day we were there, only one was working.

To add insult to injury, both my friend and i discovered on the second day that our access cards to the room would not work. This was after a long day out, and we were anxious to go back to our rooms to freshen up and recharge. We headed down to the reception area to get our access cards fixed. We went up again (after waiting forever for the old, cranky elevator. Only one was working.) only to discover that the problem had not been fixed. We went down again for the second time to get the cards fixed. Went up again, and still the access cards would not work. It took three trips up and down the hotel in a very old, cranky lift before the problem was finally fixed. All in all, half an hour spent just trying to gain access into our rooms. All this time, there was no apology from the front service desk, who were rather dismissive towards us.

Internet cost R$0.25 a minute, but access in the rooms was so slow, my friend was unable even to log on to gmail. After all our woes, we thought the hotel would have been kind enough to grant us a late check out that we requested for. They turned us down many times and kept asking us to check back. They also said that the latest time for check out was 1pm, one hour later than the regular check out time at noon. I asked them if, in view of the problems we had encountered, whether they would be able to extend this to 3pm. The front desk officer serving me checked the system and it seemed that the hotel wasn't fully booked so he could have allowed this, but he turned and asked his manager, who very brusquely said no. So.. essentially, they could have allowed this, but refused to do so.

That was not the end of our woes. We asked the hotel front service staff to please call a taxi company to arrange a pick up for us and they refused. The answer was: "You may only make calls from your room." We explained that we had already checked out so was it possible that they help us? The answer: "Use your own cellphones."

I have never stayed in a more horrible hotel than this, with service staff that are so rude, ungracious and unhelpful. Avoid this stinkhole at all costs. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This hotel was made very cheaply - cove moldings, cheap veneers, threadbare carpeting, etc. However, I assumed that the hotel probably looked pretty nice when it was new. However, it's been allowed to run down so it's rather depressing now. Rooms were adequate except that one could hear one's neighbors taking showers, flushing the toilet, etc. The only thing this hotel has going for it is that it is located only a few blocks away from the Copacabana Beach. One could do much better, however, by renting a hotel in the Botafogo area of Rio. The hotel would most likely be better maintained and considerably cheaper - a small trade-off for having to call a cab (for about $10) in order to get to the beach (assuming one is reluctant to ride the Metro). [I rode the Metro frequently, admittedly not at night, and did not feel nervous or threatened in any way.]

I would not recommend this hotel. I am torn as to whether to give it 2 stars or 3 - definitely no better than average and, I think, a bit worse than average.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel is new. The deal was expensive but the staffs were professional and often professionally un-helpful. Being a new hotel and new room it was nice to stay but the room was so small that I couldn't even stand and walk good in the room (see in the photo, what you see that you have). The Manager, a German speaking guy, declared that they have all rooms same size. Restaurant was too expensive.
I would go to this hotel but only if I have no other choice.

Room Tip: Offer less price for small room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantico Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantico Copacabana Hotel

Address: Rua Sigueira Campos, 90 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22031-070, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #159 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantico Copacabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantico Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Atlantico Copacabana
Atlantico Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Atlantico Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantico Copacabana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.