We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean. Accomodating. Free airport shuttle. Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Domingos Ferreira, 06 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22050010, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Clean. Accomodating. Free airport shuttle. Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

This hotel was resonably priced for its location ~ 1block from Copocabana Beach. The rooms are quite outdated and a little odd in style. The staff could be friendlier but were quite accomodiating when it came to a late checkout and very professional when it came to leaving our bags for a few hours with the bell hop. We were excited to find they had a free airport shuttle ($40-55 value); however the shuttle driver drove extremely fast. We did spend time at the pool on the roof top which does has a view of the beach and Christ Redemer. Breakfast was good. Our biggest complaint was the sliding glass door. It did not shut completely and thus we had a lot of street noise in our room...very loud.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    156
    60
    13
    2
See reviews for
71
90
21
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

Stayed at the hotel with buddy traveling from USA (2 handsome single guys on holiday in Rio), good location, good breakfast, bad place if you want to meet single girls or bring single girls to rest and relax in your private room. Desk staff watches like a hawk for any invited guest not registered entering. My buddy and I were both turned away with guests on our arms heading up to our room. Very strict staff with absolutely no tolerance for single women accompanying single guests upstairs. I would not recommend a hotel where you cannot bring your new girlfriend up to your room in ANY country - much less in Rio where there are lots of girls to choose from for a good time. In our 10 day stay in December 2009, it rained 7 days in Rio. So, hanging out at the beach all day was not on the agenda. Having cocktails and fun with new girlfriends in Rio was our objective.

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

On a mileage run for three nights in Rio this was a great choice. -- English speaking staff, at least 3 doormen, clean (but spare) room with AC and desktop counter with multiple outlets and lots of work space, internet connection in the room and in the rooftop pool area, excellent breakfast buffet included. Best part was the rooftop pool and bar area where I could view most of the Copa beach, take a dip and work on my laptop. Just around the corner is the very well known churrascaria, Carretao which has one other location in Ipanema. For $75 a night, you can't beat the Windsor Palace.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

I was very nervous about making this reservation! We are from Las Vegas, Nevada and I researched some hotels online for our stay in Rio not knowing what to expect. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised at the hotel and location. It is one block back from the beach and is almost right in the middle of Copacabana and accessible to all the major shopping. The staff at the hotel was the best we have ever had, they are very attentive to your needs and most can speak English. My wife is from Brazil and she was very happy with the way they also treated us. You will not go wrong with this Hotel, my wife and I will return here many times.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We stayed here for 7 nights on our recent holiday to Rio. Assuming you wish to be in Copacabana the location is fantastic for the beach/metro/shops but without having to pay beach front hotel prices. Location is midway along Copacabana beach and one street back from the sea front.

Obviously you won't get a sea view being a road back from the front but for us, the money saved was worth it. Floors 15 and 16 can see the beach just about as they're almost above the height of the other buildings. I believe these floors are the "superior" rooms. These looked like they had just been refurbed - new flat screen tvs in our room. Bed was okay but not stunning - if I moved the mattress moved for my partner which isn't brilliant but we could live with it. Shower and bathroom were all spotless and fully functional. Good water pressure.

The only issue with the room we experienced was the air con unit which was quite noisy. We stayed in two rooms and had the same issue. You can open the balcony door and turn it off or sleep through it. Not ideal but we could live with it for the price.

Breakfast was buffet style and absolutely fine. The staff are always making sure the buffet is fully populated with fresh food and looking after you. There's the usual fruit / cooked breakfast / rolls/ criossants on offer. Breakfast was included in our room price which was nice.

The place is spotless - staff were forever cleaning the place.

There seemed to be a good turnover of holiday makers and some Brazilian business users in the hotel.

Swimming pool on the top floor is tiny / very shallow.. but the beach is 5 mins away.

All in all good value for money and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antalya
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

*This is a simple and clean city hotel, located on the second raw street from the Copa.
*Rooms are normal size, simple furnished but CLEAN all the time (as well as the bathroom).
*Sea view can not be possible.
*Breakfast is a small buffet, enough to feed you and same everyday.
*The stuff was extremely helpfull and mostly informative. They speak well enough English. If you want to go to bars or restaurants, ask for info before to the younger receptionist for the concept. 100% true info.
*Wireless internet in the room.

*At the reception: The rates for the excursions and the Carnaval tickets are more expensive than the street but at least you get what you paid for.
*The concierge tries to fix you the unofficial taxi in front of the hotel, which means you'll be ripped off if you don't bargain hard enough.
*The Carnaval room prices were astronomical as everywhere else, but pre-carnaval rates were reasonable.
*Try the caipirinha on the roof for sunset: well done and suprisingly cheaper than the bars.
*Free transportation to the airport was a big plus.


About Rio:
*This is a dangerous town but it doesn't mean that you can't enjoy it. Be cautious and it'll be OK.
*Learn Portuguese !!! English is not valid in this side of the earth...
*Carnaval time is more fun but it is VERY crowded.
*Bargain everywhere and set the price before.
*Carry hotel address card with you or learn to pronounce the numbers correctly :)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

I went to Rio for the 2008 Carnival with my friend. We stayed in the Windsor Palace Hotel from January 31 to February. 7,(8 days). We paid $154.10/day the first day and $334.65/day the subsequent days. The Windsor is a relatively small hotel with about 78 rooms. It is surrounded by large apartment buildings some of which are in not the best of shape. The Hotel is 2 blocks for Copacabana beach and the beach is obscured by the apartment buildings. Our room had the basic facilities for a hotel. The air condition was noisy and stopped working on our last day. The hotel does not provide iron, ironing board and wash cloth. We had to purchase those items for our comfort. The bath room shower sliding door was very difficult to maneuver and never closed. The hotel has a strict policy of not letting visitors in the guest room. Our female friend from Washington DC who was staying at another hotel visits to our hotel were restricted to the hotel lobby, restaurant and pool. This was very frustrating. However, I was advised by the manager that she can visit our room if I buy another room in the hotel for her.

The pool for the hotel is very small and 4' deep and is located on the top floor. The lobby is small which allows the manager and desk clerks to easily enforce the visitors' restrictions. The food at the restaurant was very expensive but the full breakfast was complimentary. One can get more palatable and less expensive meals at the numerous restaurants located close to the hotel. Copacabana at Rua Siqueira Campos 23 is a very good Brazilian restaurant.

There was a huge markup of every thing bought at the hotel - carnival tickets, tours, money exchange, etc. One will do much better buying on the outside. I recommend DINNO CAMBIO and TURISMO, Rua Airies Saldanha n 40-B [-]. Dinno rate was R$1.8 to $1.00US, the hotel was R$1.6. Carnival parade tickets were $60 - $100US cheaper at Dinno for the same tickets. For the carnival parade, tourists are advised to buy sectors 7 and 9 tickets. Sector 7 is non-reserve and Sector 9 has reserved seating. The tickets are $245 and $500US respectively at Dinno. Box tickets in front of these sectors are $900 - $1100US. All the sectors are exposed to the atmosphere. The parades are Sunday and Monday night (9pm to 5am).

Copacabana beach and neighboring beaches are okay. There are better beaches and cleaner noes in the Caribbean. Also Trinidad has a more vibrant carnival.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Visitors restrictions and room accessories
  • Stayed January 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Palace Hotel

Address: Rua Domingos Ferreira, 06 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22050010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#25 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#29 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Windsor Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Palace
Windsor Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.