We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable stay in Rio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Domingos Ferreira, 06 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22050010, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Affordable stay in Rio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Nice hotel - block off Av. Atlantica. Rooms are clean, staff is very friendly. We have stayed at the Miramar, Windsor Atlantica and Windsor Barra - the Windsor Palace is not as nice as those hotels but is an affordable alternative in an expensive city. A nice option for the cost conscious traveller.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo F, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Mr. Jeff
Thanks for posting your comments of Windsor Palace Hotel.
It makes me really happy to know you have approved our services. More importante than anything to us is the treatment we give to our guests. We might not have that much space but we try to provide a little bit of everything.
So, once again, thanks for all your compliments. They'll be foward to all staff.

Best Regards,

MFigueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    195
    69
    15
    2
See reviews for
89
124
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I chose for this hotel because of the location (close to the beach). The hotel is located near a street where a lot of traffic is driving. I guess it does not matter which hotel you choose near the beach because they will all have this traffic situation. The room which i had was located at the front side and The traffic did not really bother me. The room is small but everything is there and clean. breakfast included different hot and cold dishes and is ok. You can borrow a umbrella and towels when going to the beach, very convenient! from the hotel to the beach is only a 2min walk. The view from the pool at the top is great!

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo F, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Mike ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Windsor Palace Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed all the details implemented by our teams to satisfy you!
While waiting to welcome you again in the Windsor Palace Hotel, we send you our sincere greetings.

Kind regards,


MFigueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Until you arrive at a hotel you never know what you are going to get.well I can say we never regretted once choosing the windsor palace.all the staff were courteous,welcoming and very friendly.we were allocated a corner balcony room from where we could see copa cabana and sugar loaf mountain.the room was very spacious and spotlessly clean.housekeeping maintained thr room immaculately during our 5 night stay.there is a small roof top dip pool with a bar and a few sun loungers.from here you can peep round and see Christ the redeemer monument.a very comprehensive buffet breakfast is served in the ground floor restaurants and we particularly liked the linen tablecloths and napkins.copacabana is only one block away and the hotel loans out beach towels and sun umbrellas.chairs on the beach only run at 5 reals for the day.the hotel contributed in a big way to making our stay in Rio very memorable and we just cannot recommend the windsor palace enough.you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to get a balcony room.they are higher up and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo F, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear trev602,
Thanks for posting your comments of Windsor Palace Hotel.
It makes me really happy to know you have approved our services. More importante than anything to us is the treatment we give to our guests. We might not have that much space but we try to provide a little bit of everything.
So, once again, thanks for all your compliments. They'll be foward to all staff.

Best Regards,


Marcelo Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was the first trip my boyfriend and i took. From the moment we arrived we received the best service. We asked if we could upgrade our room to receive a beach view and that was honored at no additional cost BONUS. The rooms are spacious and very clean. When we saw the hotel had breakfast we figured it would be toast and coffee, oh were we wrong we got the full treatment for breakfast. You have eggs bacon, large variety of fruit, juices , cereal, pastries great way to start your morning. The hotel is a 2 min walk from the beach. The only thing i recommend you bring is an outlet adapter lucky for us the hotel had one we could borrow. The hotel offers WIFI with quick speed
BRAZIL beautiful place i'm sure to come back again next year

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo F, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thanks for posting your comments of Windsor Palace Hotel.
It makes me really happy to know you have approved our services. More importante than anything to us is the treatment we give to our guests. We might not have that much space but we try to provide a little bit of everything.
So, once again, thanks for all your compliments. They'll be foward to all staff.

Best Regards,


Marcelo Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When we arrived, we had to wait about 2 hours. When we got our rooms, The excuse was that we could see the beach- well we could between the other tall buildings!! Apart from that the hotel was excellent with a large room with a balcony. We could sit out in the evening and it was not too noisy. The roof top bar was excellent with a very helpful bar man.
We could just walk down the road to the beach and to restaurants. A very pleasant hotel

Room Tip: The higher the room is less noise you hear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo F, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Maureen,
We would like to thank you for choosing and recommending the Windsor Palace Hotel.
We are really glad to know that our services were up to your expectations and we look forward to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,


M Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A traditional hotel that stays 300 meters from the Copacabana beach. Good service and everything you could expect to care about you and enjoy your time when you need to think about rest and sleep. Comfortable bed, very good quality of towels, mattress, pillows, frigobar full of drinks that you can choose and taste without the need of call anybody, bathroom with a lot of space where you can relax during your shower. The gym has a very good equipments for you to keep your exercises on time.
The team that works at the hotel are very keen in helping you anytime starting with a smile.
So a very well equipped hotel where the only problem I faced is the elevators that seems are slowly, but it's because the are only 2 and a good hotel like that stays always full. Take your time and enjoy...yes because you are in Rio!

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo F, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thanks for posting your comments of Windsor Palace Hotel.
It makes me really happy to know you have approved our services. More importante than anything to us is the treatment we give to our guests. We might not have that much space but we try to provide a little bit of everything.
So, once again, thanks for all your compliments. They'll be foward to all staff.

Best Regards,

Marcelo Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've just spent 3 nights at the Windsor Palace Hotel and I really couldn't fault it. From the moment we arrived we were both really impressed. Staff were really friendly and helpful. They upgraded our room free of charge, so we're on a higher floor with a balcony, which was brilliant for enjoying a cold beer after a day of sight seeing. The room itself was clean, tidy and well kept. The rooftop pool area, was a little in the small side, but we never had an issue with finding somewhere to sit if we wanted a quick dip, or to enjoy the lovely view. The breakfast was brilliant, huge selection of hot and cold food which was all delicious. The location was also spot on, close to the beach and there were plenty of eateries nearby and we always felt safe.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcelo F, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thanks for posting your comments of Windsor Palace Hotel.
It makes me really happy to know you have approved our services. More importante than anything to us is the treatment we give to our guests. We might not have that much space but we try to provide a little bit of everything.
So, once again, thanks for all your compliments. They'll be foward to all staff.

Best Regards,

Marcelo Figueiredo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Palace Hotel

Address: Rua Domingos Ferreira, 06 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22050010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#31 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#33 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Windsor Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Palace
Windsor Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.