We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel with excellent breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Palace Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Domingos Ferreira, 06 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22050010, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel with excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and absolutely loved it. When we arrived we were told our room was upgraded which was a nice surprise. The room was clean and very comfortable. Service was excellent and breakfast was one of the best I have ever had with lots of healthy options as well as other more common options like eggs, bacon etc. The location is great, just 1 street away from Copacabana beach. We felt very safe in the area and loved our stay. The only issue we had was noisy hotel guests getting back from partying between 2am to 4am and making a lot of noise in the hall, banging their doors, and we could also hear the people next door hiccupping/ being sick. Not sure there's much the hotel can do about this though!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielaMoreira, Director General at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Windsor Palace Reply
Dear MsNinaJ,

Thanks for posting your review about Windsor Palace Hotel. It's a real pleasure to hear you have enjoyed the time spent with us. Our Chef is Always trying new recipes, and thanks to our guest comments, we decided to add more healthy options. Hope to have your as our guest again in the future to try our our new wheat muffins.
Your compliments will be forward to all our staff.
Once again, thanks for choosing us during your visit in Rio de Janeiro.

Regards,

Gabriela Moreira
Genereal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    195
    67
    15
    2
See reviews for
89
123
25
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I found this hotel by reading other Travelocity reviews. They were all spot on about the location to the Copacabana and Ibanema Beaches but the street noise at night was terrible.
As I had a lower level room facing the street I heard all the evening activity as well as the noise in the morning. I would recommend that at check-in you insist on a room on a higher floor.

On the positive side the rooms although small were very clean with a bit more modern fixtures. The shower pressure was tremendous. So much that I got soaked the first time I turned the faucets on.

The bell staff were wonderful! They were extremely pleasant and helpful although their English is very limited. If looking for a reasonably priced clean room, in a safe and accessible area I would recommend this one.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielaMoreira, Director General at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Reply from Windsor Palace Hotel
Dear Vannatta,

Thanks for choosing Windosr Palace Hotel during your stay in Rio de Janeiro. First of all, in the name of all staff, I would like to thank you for your compliments regarding our service. We're aware of the noise problem and is included in our renovation project the substitution of all the building facade to thicker window glasses. Although there were some delays, be belive it will be ready by the end of this year.
Therefore, i invite you to return to Windsor Palace Hotel on your next visit to our city and try out our facilities again.
Regards,

Gabriela Moreira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

Definitely a good address & truly a block away from Copacabana beach. Room (ours on the 11th floor) has a balcony but could only catch a slight glimpse of the beach. The higher floors will probably have a better view. Breakfast is simple but OK. Waiters very attentive & helpful (though language is restricted to Portugese - then again, a bit of hand & feet does the job too ). All in all, very recommendable

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielaMoreira, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Joey K,

Thanks for choosing Windsor Palace Hotel during your stay in Rio de Janeiro and for spending your time writting a review of it.
And specially thanks for recommend us at Tripadvisor.
Hope to have you again as our guest in the future!

Regards,

Gabriela Moreira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

A holiday or City break only really starts upon arrival at your accommodation. A bad experience can affect the mood of a short stay. After extensively searching for a hotel that met with our requirements and budget, we came across the Windsor Palace that was all of that and more. The location is perfect for Copacabana with a rooftop view to die for. We were greeted with enthousiasm and a speedy professional check in. Informed by the receptionist that if we needed anything or local information all we had to was ask. We booked for 3 nights a superior twin room with a balcony that was located on the 16th floor, which was quite spacious and very clean. The large vigourant walk in shower was very welcoming after our flight. Wifi was included and connectivity problem free. A large TV with enough channels in various languages to enjoy a movie or the news( english was my choice) The only problem I had ( in a positive way) is that the bed was so comfortable i fel asleep as soon as I hit the pillows and didnt want to get out of bed the next day......but Rio and its sights were calling. Breakfast was included and one of the best had ever had. Free towels and a parasol were available to make our trip the the beach as comfortable as possible. We would like to thank the receptionists, security, doormen and restaurant staff for the courtesey they have shown us and making our short trip to Rio a memorable one. I have stayed in many hotels in many parts of the world and do not hesitate to recommend this hotel. a well deserved 4 stars. Diego de la Ruelle Belgium

Room Tip: Superiour room with balcony is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielaMoreira, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Diego131,

First of all, thanks for posting your review of Windsor Palace hotel.
It's a big pleasure to read a post like this one you wrote. The Windsor Hotels invests a lot in constant training and renovations in order to offer one of the best hospitality services in Brazil. That's why this company has increased so much in the past few years.
Once again, thanks for all your compliments. They show us we're in the right way to our goals and it's the fuel we need to keep on improving our service.

Hope to be your choice on your next visit to Rio de Janeiro!
Best Regards,

Gabriela Moreira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in June for 5 nights and what a great stay it was,first the staff were just fantastic so polite nothing was ever too much for them always willing to help so thank you to all of them. The breakfast was lovely so much fresh fruit again the staff were very polite and helpful,the room was very good cleaned every day so all was good,Location could not be in a better place one street behind from the Beach and so many lovely restaurants around but please remember that in some of them although you think the price might be high it is for 2 of you so really good value,so I would recommend this hotel to anyone great place thank you to you all the staff for making our stay great.

Room Tip: Please do not ware any good jewellery that is on show,I just took costume jewellery so if it was sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielaMoreira, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Mae B,
Thanks for posting a review of your stay at Windsor Palace Hotel.
It's the most pleasent thing to hear from our guests they have enjoyed the service we provided. The vison of Windsor Hotels is to offer the best hospitality service in Brazil, and reviews like yours show us we're in right path.
Once again, thanks for your compliments and hope to be your option on your next visit to Rio de Janeiro.

Best Regards,

Gabriela Moreira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Before we arrived to Brazil for the World's Cup, my son and I we were having problems finding a hotel well located and reasonably priced. . .It took us almost two months to find something that we wanted, the hotels were either way too expensive or their location was questionable. . .We were lucky to finally come across this property and could not believe it so we made the reservations and pre-paid for our stay at the time of booking. When we got to the hotel, we were pleasantly surprised, the hotel was better than we expected, it was modern, classy, and very comfortable, it was like a small version of a Four Seasons in New York City. They are in Copacabana Beach section. Their included breakfast was buffet style, with linen napkins and silverware. Their food selection was great and their location could not be in a better section, only two blocks from all the bars, restaurants and shops. The Fan Fest tent was only two short blocks away, at the Beach in Copacabana. The staff was the only hotel staff that we came across in Brazil that spoke English and we were treated the way you expect to be treated any where in the world when you are a guest. We are already planning to book this hotel for 2016 when we will be attending the Olympics.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielaMoreira, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Cyberpilot2014,
First of all, thanks for writting us a review of your stay. We're very please to know you have enjoyed your stay.
You'll be more than welcome to come back to stay here with us whenever you visit Rio de Janeiro!
Your compliments will be forward to all our staff.

Best Regards,
Gabriela Moreira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Was there during World Cup. Location is excellent - 3 min walk to Copacabana beach, a couple of good restaurants are almost next door. Safe place, easy to get to. Room was very small with window to quite noisy street, but during World Cup there was no choice. Breakfasts & service were very good. They also have a small pool, bar and tiny wet sauna on the top floor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GabrielaMoreira, Gerente geral at Windsor Palace Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Mr. Dmitry_Ivanov,

Thanks for spending your time posting a review of your stay at Windsor Palace Hotel.
Indeed, our location is priviledged. Close to restaurants and bars, banks, mail office, metro station, but specially the Copacabana Beach.
Compared to our standard rooms, the superior and superior Executive rooms are bigger. Usually we upgrade guests, free of charges, when their reservation is for long periods, like yours. But during the World Cup we were fully booked for almost 40 days straight, and had to block the room type according to what was reserved.
Hope you have another oportunity to visit our city and stay as our guest again. I'm sure you'll be pleasantly surprised

Regards,

Gabriela Moreira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Palace Hotel

Address: Rua Domingos Ferreira, 06 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22050010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#31 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#32 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Windsor Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Palace
Windsor Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.