We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel back in time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Premier Copacabana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Premier Copacabana to your Saves list
Hotel Premier Copacabana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Tonelero 205 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Travel back in time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Everything is from the 80's. - The decor the furnishings the elevator the doormen. Rooms smelled, not bad, but old. It's described as elegant meh. Maybe in the...you guessed it...the 80's. We overpaid soooo much for this place but it was for the WC so can't really harp on that too much. The staff was nice and helpful. Cleaning staff was loud and we are not early risers. All in all it was ok.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    142
    88
    33
    20
See reviews for
55
88
21
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

From the USA traveling for two weeks with a friend for World Cup ,Management asked who I was and did I really have a reservation I was treated like a homeless person and no one would help me with my bags I am seriously thinking of getting therapy for the nightmare stay I had, this hotel is the worst I asked for a taxi and I was ignored by everyone I was charged an extra 60 because my room was not left clean the and the staff is conceited and rude ,the best thing about the hotel is when I checked out !!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Booked the hotel last minute as we decided to head to Rio for the end of our World Cup trip. Check in was easy and the front desk were helpful with getting us a room quickly in a full hotel. The rooms look like college dorms. Moderately clean. The bathroom was filthy. Sheets were like paper. The mattresses were as hard as concrete blocks. The A/C was loud and made me sick. The location was okay as it's a few blocks from the beach. The morning I checked out I realized a gold necklace I purchased in Brazil was missing. I had been keeping it in the safes of all hotels I had been in but recalled I left it on the dresser night before. I told hotel staff. They came up with the house keeper and helped me look. Nowhere to be found.... It was the only thing missing and only thing of any value not in the safe. Draw your own conclusions.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Landed in Rio on a business trip during the World Cup and was let down by my booking agents who were supposed to have booked me a room here but turns out they did not. I was lucky there was a room available when I arrived but I have to stay the staff on the reception were very cold and unwelcoming.

Nevertheless, I paid for my room (for 1 night!) and off I went to the 3rd floor. The room was adequate for one night to be honest. Air con was pretty noisy so I had to turn this off while I slept.

Woke up early due to jet lag and decided to go for a run on the famous Copacabana which was a 5-10 minute walk away and easy to find. On my return I decided to check out the gym on the top floor which which was pretty small and standard but the views as the sun was coming up was incredible and you get a distant view of Christ The Redeemer.

Back down for breakfast which I thought was quite average but did the job all the same...

Wifi was very poor and only free for a short time also.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Premier for two nights during the world cup. I tend to agree with the other reviews that the hotel is very antiquated, however it was still clean - no frills but a decent hotel to stay at. Unlike the other reviews, I found the staff to be very helpful and kind - especially Marcelo. Granted this was World Cup time, I knew I would be paying higher prices and may have to compromise the quality of hotel but Premier was still a good choice for this occasion. When I go back to Rio however, I will most likely stay in another hotel when it's not a peak time like the World Cup. Note - the wireless is horrible and you have you have to pay for it. The breakfast was simple - very average/poor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

To the owner: we really don't understand how can you keep the receptionist (old, white hair) in your staff... He is the most unwelcoming person to a very nice hotel... He completely ruined our stay with his attitude, we felt completely disrespected. He does not understand anything about online booking, very slow, aggressive and disrespectful.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I recently spent 4 nights at this hotel for business trip to Rio , I felt the hotel was a little dated but the staff made up for it , Cesar the front desk manager was great and very very helpful and really made my stay . One word of warning is the Wireless is very poor and you will not be able to connect in your room , however the business center is great and I cool and peaceful .
Location is great and surrounded by great restaurants and 10 mins walk from the beach ..
In General a good standard business hotel no frills good value .

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the back of the hotel !!!! not a sound
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Premier Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Premier Copacabana

Address: Rua Tonelero 205 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Premier Copacabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has elegant suites and a great location just over a quarter mile from Copacabana Beach. The panoramic rooftop pool offers views of the iconic Christ the Redeemer Statue, 2 miles away.Rooms at Premier Copacabana Hotel have light cream colors and chocolate brown furniture. All come with LCD and cable TV, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi.Guests can enjoy a delicious caipirinha from the bar, while relaxing in the atrium, designed by Burle Marx. The restaurant serves international cuisine and a daily breakfast with croissants and eggs.Hotel Premier Copacabana is next to Siqueira Campos Metro station and is 2 blocks from Rio de Janeiro bus terminal. Parking is available for small cars. The staff speaks English and German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Premier Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Copacabana Hotel
Premier Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Premier Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Premier Copacabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.