We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible and lazy service.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Premier Copacabana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Premier Copacabana to your Saves list
Hotel Premier Copacabana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Tonelero 205 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 216 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible and lazy service.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 days and the people on front desk couldnt be worst. They are lazy and complitely unhappy with the idea of working. They are rude, the hotel is not clean and copacabana smells. If you are coming to rio, stay at ipanema/leblon area.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    150
    93
    33
    22
See reviews for
61
91
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The World
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for business while in Rio. The location is good, about 3 blocks from Copacabana beach. The rooms are very sparse but functional as with bathrooms. Service was efficient but not friendly.
Wifi worked well if there on business
Breakfast was included and decent.
Overall the hotel was fine, and for the price in Rio I probably would stay again but would not rave about it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sallanches, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Renovated and clean rooms. We were lucky to have a 15th floor room. Service was perfect everyone is nice and ready to help. Breakfast is very good with fresh juices and good food. Swimming pool on top of the building is nice with a cool view on Corcovado.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The hotel is ok, but nothing special. The rooms are ok but a bit tired. The staff ranged from the very helpful to unhelpful to the point of rudeness. The hotel is a couple of blocks back from the beach and there is a small swimming pool on the roof. ok if you are staying in rio for a night or two, but not for a long stay. Aircon very noisy

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasil,France
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Thats a good location hotel, small, staff not so good, overpriced , a basic hotel, the only good thing is that near to the beach. I dont know how the prices in Rio are so expensive, and the rates in this hotel, for the service and instalations are ridiculous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel is VERY overpriced. Looks like their last renovation was in 1970. Everything is in very bad condition.

Aircondition was not working very good. Sound isolation not very good. Rooftop pool was very small and not clean. Staff went inside our room even though we had do not disturb sign on.

The area is very boring. There is nothing to do in this area. Only ripoff bars and not many restaurants. I would not reccomend Copacaban/Ipanema area. Better to live in the center or on the outskirts of Rio!

Staff was not very friendly or helpful. I did not see one person smile even once.

Oh yes i did see it once, when they ordered a taxi for me which was a RIP OFF!! They guys in reception said something to each other on Portuguese and laughed.
They told me it was safer and cheaper if they ordered the taxi, rather taking one of the street. In real life they just hijacked a taxi from the street, the taxi was at a fixed overprice and the driver and the reception staff split the overprice 50/50. I saw the money exchange with my own eyes!! I now what should have been the price on the meter and the money the staff got was precise 50% of the overprice.

I travel a lot (around 3 months a year). This hotel is very bad value for money and i would not recommend it for anybody!

I saw other hotels in the same area, much better quality for the same price. But in the end of the day, i would recommend to get a room in the city center or Santa Teresa instead. Much better quality for cheaper prices!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

basic, noisey & average would be the best words to describe this hotel. My room was located at the front of the hotel which is on a very busy main road, heavy traffic & car horns heard from early morning! Rooms were a little dated & quite dark. Breakfast was good, nice selection of pastries & scrambled Egg & bacon was on offer. The front desk had limited english & friendliness was not at the fore front (I felt, anyway!) Location was a few blocks from Copacabana Beach, for the price paid I expected more but then hotel prices in Rio seem to be on the expensive side. I would probably stay here again if I could get a room situated in a quieter part of the hotel & if I was sharing with someone to reduce the costs of the rate I paid for 3 nights as it was not cheap for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Premier Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Premier Copacabana

Address: Rua Tonelero 205 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Premier Copacabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has elegant suites and a great location just over a quarter mile from Copacabana Beach. The panoramic rooftop pool offers views of the iconic Christ the Redeemer Statue, 2 miles away.Rooms at Premier Copacabana Hotel have light cream colors and chocolate brown furniture. All come with LCD and cable TV, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi.Guests can enjoy a delicious caipirinha from the bar, while relaxing in the atrium, designed by Burle Marx. The restaurant serves international cuisine and a daily breakfast with croissants and eggs.Hotel Premier Copacabana is next to Siqueira Campos Metro station and is 2 blocks from Rio de Janeiro bus terminal. Parking is available for small cars. The staff speaks English and German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Premier Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Copacabana Hotel
Premier Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Premier Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Premier Copacabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.