We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, normal hotel, needs improvements.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Premier Copacabana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Premier Copacabana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Premier Copacabana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Tonelero 205 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Brasil,France
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Overpriced, normal hotel, needs improvements.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Thats a good location hotel, small, staff not so good, overpriced , a basic hotel, the only good thing is that near to the beach. I dont know how the prices in Rio are so expensive, and the rates in this hotel, for the service and instalations are ridiculous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    102
    76
    32
    19
See reviews for
45
72
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel is VERY overpriced. Looks like their last renovation was in 1970. Everything is in very bad condition.

Aircondition was not working very good. Sound isolation not very good. Rooftop pool was very small and not clean. Staff went inside our room even though we had do not disturb sign on.

The area is very boring. There is nothing to do in this area. Only ripoff bars and not many restaurants. I would not reccomend Copacaban/Ipanema area. Better to live in the center or on the outskirts of Rio!

Staff was not very friendly or helpful. I did not see one person smile even once.

Oh yes i did see it once, when they ordered a taxi for me which was a RIP OFF!! They guys in reception said something to each other on Portuguese and laughed.
They told me it was safer and cheaper if they ordered the taxi, rather taking one of the street. In real life they just hijacked a taxi from the street, the taxi was at a fixed overprice and the driver and the reception staff split the overprice 50/50. I saw the money exchange with my own eyes!! I now what should have been the price on the meter and the money the staff got was precise 50% of the overprice.

I travel a lot (around 3 months a year). This hotel is very bad value for money and i would not recommend it for anybody!

I saw other hotels in the same area, much better quality for the same price. But in the end of the day, i would recommend to get a room in the city center or Santa Teresa instead. Much better quality for cheaper prices!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

basic, noisey & average would be the best words to describe this hotel. My room was located at the front of the hotel which is on a very busy main road, heavy traffic & car horns heard from early morning! Rooms were a little dated & quite dark. Breakfast was good, nice selection of pastries & scrambled Egg & bacon was on offer. The front desk had limited english & friendliness was not at the fore front (I felt, anyway!) Location was a few blocks from Copacabana Beach, for the price paid I expected more but then hotel prices in Rio seem to be on the expensive side. I would probably stay here again if I could get a room situated in a quieter part of the hotel & if I was sharing with someone to reduce the costs of the rate I paid for 3 nights as it was not cheap for me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Hotel has a nice location... very close to metro station and about 500 m from the beach.

Breakfast is pretty reach, as they offer also exotic fruits like fresh papaya, pineapple and mango. Coffee could be much better. In a restaurant waiters could smile and greet guests when they enter the restaurant.

Rooms are ok - i had a problem with a locker on the room doors. As they opened unexpectedly few times. (Problem of security)

If you need an official receipt - avoid - hotel cant issue an official receipt as managment didnt buy a goverment computer program! We had a really big difficulty to get it - thank god i have a Brazilian friend who helped me to solve a problem. What would happen if a foreigner doesnt speak portuguese - as you can get a receipt by email from goverment office?!

WIFI only works when you are checked at the hotel. 5 minutes after check out you cant use internet as connection closes!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The location of the hotel is great and the facility is quite nice! One of the hotel staff, Simone, took the time to answer our questions and explain hotel policies in detail. She had a pleasant demeanor and was especially helpful in accommodating our specific needs.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Visited first time in June and had no problems. Staff was courteous and accommodating. The lobby is really welcoming and secure. Free wifi, free breakfast and they'll happily give you towels to go to the beach. Breakfast was a nice continental spread, with other choices such as cereal, fresh fruit, cheese, veggies, juice and coffee. Servers are on hand so it was a nice way to start the day. Had an absolutely amazing caprinha at their bar one night while waiting for a cab and had a nice chat with the bartender, who spoke to me in Spanish. Rooms were clean and comfortable and yes, a little outdated, but even the higher end hotels in the area seemed to be in the same condition. The best part about the room was the shower! Seems silly but after a long day, its sooo nice to have one with such great water pressure...like standing under a waterfall. Also ours had a jacuzzi but we weren't in room long enough to use it. So after getting free wifi and free breakfast, no complaints about having to pay for use of their safe...we chose to pay the few reales they charge to store our valuables and enjoyed our day, worry free. Every day was an experience and this hotel was a welcome retreat to return to after seeing the sights. A visit to the rooftop is a must, for a beautiful view of Cristo lighting up this beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is terrible. Our room was robbed by the maid twice. Besides that the place is way overpriced and not very clean. After we told the management that we were robbed, they stopped cleaning the room and were incredibly disrespectful. The staff here is ridiculously rude and defensive. We witnessed the manager "cesar" verbally abusing a group of asian tourists that obviously did not speak the language. The staff is so rude that our entire stay has been effected. They charge in advance so you cannot check out in advance without penalty. Overall the most horrible hotel i have ever stayed at in the world!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Premier Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Premier Copacabana

Address: Rua Tonelero 205 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Premier Copacabana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has elegant suites and a great location just over a quarter mile from Copacabana Beach. The panoramic rooftop pool offers views of the iconic Christ the Redeemer Statue, 2 miles away.Rooms at Premier Copacabana Hotel have light cream colors and chocolate brown furniture. All come with LCD and cable TV, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi.Guests can enjoy a delicious caipirinha from the bar, while relaxing in the atrium, designed by Burle Marx. The restaurant serves international cuisine and a daily breakfast with croissants and eggs.Hotel Premier Copacabana is next to Siqueira Campos Metro station and is 2 blocks from Rio de Janeiro bus terminal. Parking is available for small cars. The staff speaks English and German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Premier Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Copacabana Hotel
Premier Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Premier Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Premier Copacabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.