We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in working class neighborhood” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Premier Copacabana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Premier Copacabana to your Saves list
Hotel Premier Copacabana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Tonelero 205 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 216 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel in working class neighborhood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Visited first time in June and had no problems. Staff was courteous and accommodating. The lobby is really welcoming and secure. Free wifi, free breakfast and they'll happily give you towels to go to the beach. Breakfast was a nice continental spread, with other choices such as cereal, fresh fruit, cheese, veggies, juice and coffee. Servers are on hand so it was a nice way to start the day. Had an absolutely amazing caprinha at their bar one night while waiting for a cab and had a nice chat with the bartender, who spoke to me in Spanish. Rooms were clean and comfortable and yes, a little outdated, but even the higher end hotels in the area seemed to be in the same condition. The best part about the room was the shower! Seems silly but after a long day, its sooo nice to have one with such great water pressure...like standing under a waterfall. Also ours had a jacuzzi but we weren't in room long enough to use it. So after getting free wifi and free breakfast, no complaints about having to pay for use of their safe...we chose to pay the few reales they charge to store our valuables and enjoyed our day, worry free. Every day was an experience and this hotel was a welcome retreat to return to after seeing the sights. A visit to the rooftop is a must, for a beautiful view of Cristo lighting up this beautiful city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    150
    93
    33
    22
See reviews for
61
91
22
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is terrible. Our room was robbed by the maid twice. Besides that the place is way overpriced and not very clean. After we told the management that we were robbed, they stopped cleaning the room and were incredibly disrespectful. The staff here is ridiculously rude and defensive. We witnessed the manager "cesar" verbally abusing a group of asian tourists that obviously did not speak the language. The staff is so rude that our entire stay has been effected. They charge in advance so you cannot check out in advance without penalty. Overall the most horrible hotel i have ever stayed at in the world!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Booked this hotel through booking.com because it was so cheap so did not expect much although it is meant to be 4 star. Location is as it says it is: Be prepared to walk 15 minutes to the beach.
Rooms are adequately clean, but tiny with furnishings that must have been there since the 1960s. The foyer of the hotel is very misleading!
The pool although we did not frequent it, seemed dirty and uninviting.
Breakfast is good.Good choice and fresh.
Staff are very friendly and helpful although con-artists, be warned!
The reception desk advised us to go on a day tour of Rio. It was a little more expensive than others but they suggested it was the best. The tour guide could not even speak English!!! Terrible tour.
Going back to the airport, the hotel arranged us a taxi. Upon getting in, we were told that it was an 80R$ flat fee. On a meter this would have been about half!

I would never go back here unless it was substantially cheaper.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The hotel has a great location as it is directly opposite the Siqueira Campos metro station. It is four blocks from the beach which was about a 10-15min walk.
The rooms are quite comfortable, although they are in need of a bit of a revamp, as the furniture is scuffed and shows it's age. We had a decent view of Christo, with a bit of street noise, even though we were on the 11th floor. Clean bathroom, with a crazy the shower. I felt like I was under waterfall (not in a good way) rather then a shower.
Staff service was as expected, nothing out of the ordinary.
Breakfast is below average, especially as they say they are four star establishment. No yogurt or warm milk, even on request.
It has its perks and some negatives, but all in all it wasn't priced too badly, so I'm happy with what I got.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Poor breakfast (awful coffee!) noisey room and overpriced for this area. Staff not particularly great. 10% tax is a joke I've never paid that anywhere else in Brazil before. Large ugly characterless overpriced. Rooftop pool is tiny but the view is good. Stay here if you can't find anything else but it's not great by any means so don't expect to be bowled over.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Like much of CopaCabana, this hotel feels quite 70s. The reception foyer is misleading - there are some nice design touches here that got my hopes up for the room. Sadly, the decor there could do with an overhaul.

Service-wise, things were a little slow and not particularly jolly or friendly, but everything seems a bit more relaxed there...! They did give us towels to take on the beach every day, so we were grateful for those. And the prices in the minibar were really reasonable.

It was good value compared to others that were available at that time, but normally I would expect much more for the money we paid.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I could not believe how bad this place was. First of all, I went to my assigned room and found the door open, the room not cleaned and generally looking like a construction site. A trek back to the reception resulted in getting a different room (although without anything resembling an apology), but in the end the new room was only marginally better. In fact, it felt like a motel in a bad neighborhood (and in Brazil a motel is priced by the hour for clients who want to spend time with prostitutes). Specifically, I could not count the number of stains on the carpet, resting my arm on the desk resulted in black smudges, and the bed cover smelled like pee. In short, it was disgusting.

In addition, all amenities were extra. The internet that was supposed to be included in the price was so slow it was unusable. Paying an extra charge for high speed improved it a little, but the signal still kept dropping all the time. Also, I try to put my documents in a safe box in my room and after calling the reception I discovered that there was another charge for it daily. At least the breakfast was free, and while not fancy, I was surprised to find that it was edible.

In conclusion, this place was dirty and tried to charge me for basic amenities that should be included. The price is not cheap -- I paid U$ 160 dollars per night. Not recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Premier Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Premier Copacabana

Address: Rua Tonelero 205 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Premier Copacabana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has elegant suites and a great location just over a quarter mile from Copacabana Beach. The panoramic rooftop pool offers views of the iconic Christ the Redeemer Statue, 2 miles away.Rooms at Premier Copacabana Hotel have light cream colors and chocolate brown furniture. All come with LCD and cable TV, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi.Guests can enjoy a delicious caipirinha from the bar, while relaxing in the atrium, designed by Burle Marx. The restaurant serves international cuisine and a daily breakfast with croissants and eggs.Hotel Premier Copacabana is next to Siqueira Campos Metro station and is 2 blocks from Rio de Janeiro bus terminal. Parking is available for small cars. The staff speaks English and German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Premier Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Copacabana Hotel
Premier Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Premier Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Premier Copacabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.