We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below average” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Premier Copacabana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Premier Copacabana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Premier Copacabana
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Tonelero 205 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Below average”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Poor breakfast (awful coffee!) noisey room and overpriced for this area. Staff not particularly great. 10% tax is a joke I've never paid that anywhere else in Brazil before. Large ugly characterless overpriced. Rooftop pool is tiny but the view is good. Stay here if you can't find anything else but it's not great by any means so don't expect to be bowled over.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    119
    81
    41
    21
See reviews for
45
72
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Like much of CopaCabana, this hotel feels quite 70s. The reception foyer is misleading - there are some nice design touches here that got my hopes up for the room. Sadly, the decor there could do with an overhaul.

Service-wise, things were a little slow and not particularly jolly or friendly, but everything seems a bit more relaxed there...! They did give us towels to take on the beach every day, so we were grateful for those. And the prices in the minibar were really reasonable.

It was good value compared to others that were available at that time, but normally I would expect much more for the money we paid.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florianopolis, SC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I could not believe how bad this place was. First of all, I went to my assigned room and found the door open, the room not cleaned and generally looking like a construction site. A trek back to the reception resulted in getting a different room (although without anything resembling an apology), but in the end the new room was only marginally better. In fact, it felt like a motel in a bad neighborhood (and in Brazil a motel is priced by the hour for clients who want to spend time with prostitutes). Specifically, I could not count the number of stains on the carpet, resting my arm on the desk resulted in black smudges, and the bed cover smelled like pee. In short, it was disgusting.

In addition, all amenities were extra. The internet that was supposed to be included in the price was so slow it was unusable. Paying an extra charge for high speed improved it a little, but the signal still kept dropping all the time. Also, I try to put my documents in a safe box in my room and after calling the reception I discovered that there was another charge for it daily. At least the breakfast was free, and while not fancy, I was surprised to find that it was edible.

In conclusion, this place was dirty and tried to charge me for basic amenities that should be included. The price is not cheap -- I paid U$ 160 dollars per night. Not recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is located on a stone throw to Copacabana. And that's pretty much all it has to offer. Arrived around 3 am due to a late landing at Rio. The reception desk guy (a gentleman in his sixties) wasn't very happy about that. I think that I might have woken him up, but still, could have been friendlier. Didn't bother to explain much, just gave me the key to the room. I don't think he spoke any English as well, thanks God I speak some portuguese.
The room itself looked as if it hasn't been renovated for some 20+ years. The AC is SO loud I was afraid I might wake up the guests in the other rooms. Not to mention it didn't function properly.
All in all, it is NOT worth the 110 euros I paid for a night there. There are way better hotels in the same area that offer much for the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed over New Years in Dec and had booked 4 nights. We ended up extending and stayed 9 nights as we enjoyed Rio so much. Lovely hotel - couldnt fault it at all but it was ridiculously expensive but then it was peak season when we went. Lovely beds and bathroom. Large rooms with a seperate living room area with sofas and a table. Definately worth a stay if you can get a decent price. Its 3 blocks away from Copacaba Beach which is the liveliest part of Rio (3 blocks 300 metres). Hotel are very good with making sure you keep safe etc. They will even help book your tours for you. Staff couldnt have been more helpful - they were great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed as part of a group for ten nights in July 2012. Firstly I will begin by saying the rooms are lovely, clean,spacious ,comfy and well maintained. The swimming pool is fab with great views. The breakfasts are nice. However I am slow to recommend this hotel for a . Number of reasons; we had numerous items taken from our room ( sunglasses, perfume, expensive make up) and our friends had a guess watch taken fom their dresser in their room. This leads me on to my second fault with the hotel- the staff- so unfriendly and not in the least bit helpful. When i was upset and I reported that things had been taken fom my room they shouted at me that the cleaner had worked for the hotel or years nod wouldn't do such a thing. Another thing to bear in mind is not to book tours forth hotel they are crazy expensive and we got the same tours or literally half the price fom tourist hut on the beach. If you do decide to stay here put everything. !!!!!! In the safe!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Location is good.
The staff is ok but could be more efficient. The bed in the room were not good.
Breakfast is really bad, internet connection works ok.
Overall ok but the rooms need renovation and new beds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Premier Copacabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Premier Copacabana

Address: Rua Tonelero 205 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22030-000, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 210 hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Premier Copacabana 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel has elegant suites and a great location just over a quarter mile from Copacabana Beach. The panoramic rooftop pool offers views of the iconic Christ the Redeemer Statue, 2 miles away.Rooms at Premier Copacabana Hotel have light cream colors and chocolate brown furniture. All come with LCD and cable TV, air conditioning and free Wi-Fi.Guests can enjoy a delicious caipirinha from the bar, while relaxing in the atrium, designed by Burle Marx. The restaurant serves international cuisine and a daily breakfast with croissants and eggs.Hotel Premier Copacabana is next to Siqueira Campos Metro station and is 2 blocks from Rio de Janeiro bus terminal. Parking is available for small cars. The staff speaks English and German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Premier Copacabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Copacabana Hotel
Premier Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Premier Copacabana Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Premier Copacabana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.