We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orla Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Orla Copacabana Hotel to your Saves list
Orla Copacabana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 4122, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #69 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
South Orange, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Small and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

We arrived to an extremely friendly welcome. Our room was not ready so we went upstairs to the miniscule pool which had a good view of Rio.

The rooms are small and nothing special. They have the feel of a modern boutique hotel. We had no view so the room was dark. Our air conditioner did not work correctly, so we actually slept in a different room the first night. The next day they tried to fix it, but it still did not work correctly so they moved our room to another floor. The room was identical to our previous one.

The best part of this hotel was its breakfast. The fresh fruit was abundant and phenomenal.

The location was good because it was at the end of Copacabana closer to Ipanema. Ipanema has the better restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    358
    168
    56
    24
See reviews for
109
278
43
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bollebygd
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

I can really recommend this hotel.
Our stay was fantastic.
Staff was very kind and helpful.
I was upgrade to Master suite with no extra cost.
My klients had all ocean wiev.
Thanks.
Coming back

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

The Orla Copacabana is just fine for business, if you're not planning on being in the room much. The rooms are tiny, and as other reviewers have noted, "extras" abound -- in a city like Rio, you shouldn't have to pay for a room safe, but here you do. The breakfast buffet is good, but very pricey. WiFi is listed as a benefit, but it didn't work in the rooms, only the lobby.

The location is good-- right where Copacabana meets Ipanema -- but a rather poor part of the strip for restaurants, really.

I got a good rate because I was part of an off-season convention in Rio. Bus service to the convention location was included from this location, so it was convenient. But if I was going back to Rio for leisure travel, I would consider another location, and a bigger, international hotel for the sake of services, safety, etc.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

I had an ocean view room for 4 nights.. Checkin slow but the hotel and staff excellent. No complaints at all and would stay here on any future trips to Rio...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

We stayed there for 3 nights in January 2010. Excellent location overlooking full lenght of Copacabana beach with Sugarloaf mountain in the distance. You get this view from the roof top podium or from a Deluxe room - which was our choice. The room was spacious, clean and met our expectations for the price. Staff was very helpful and spoke good English as their second or third language. Free WiFi and breakfast, which was excellent, could not believe the choice on offer. Safe in the room (extra charge) . Minibar in the room came handy to keep our supply of local beer, wine and champagne chilled. The Ipanema beach is just around the corner! Shopping, Supermarkets, Restaurants are just a few minutes walk away.

  • Liked — Location and Price
  • Disliked — Twin single beds pushed together do not make a good double bed.
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

We only stayed for two days, no complaints, everything was fine. The rooms perfect, the staff very, very competent and nice.

Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

We found the Orla Copacabana good value - nothing flash but clean and good value. The location is excellent, the room was adequate and the breakfasts terrific. The staff varied from very helpful to a little surly, but no real complaints. The only negative was that I went on a trip organized through the hotel to watch a soccer game at the Maracana and the information about the quality of the trip given me at the hotel was grossly exaggerated - I complained at the hotel and was given some compensation.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orla Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orla Copacabana Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 4122, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orla Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orla Copacabana Hotel is just off famous Copacabana beach, a half-mile from Ipanema Beach and downtown Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Highlights at include hotel-wide complimentary WiFi Internet access, a rooftop swimming pool, poolside bar, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Orla Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orla Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Orla Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orla Copacabana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.