We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orla Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Orla Copacabana Hotel to your Saves list
Orla Copacabana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 4122, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #69 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location just across the Copacabana beach. The Ipanema beach it is just 3 or 4 blocks away. The rooms very clean! The staff very friendly! The rooms are small but cozy and more importantly… very clean!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    358
    168
    56
    24
See reviews for
109
278
43
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Orla Copacabana, like much of Rio, seems to have seen better days. While the room was kept immaculately clean and every staff member was accommodating, friendly, and knowledgeable; there are certain shortcomings of the hotel which are not really befitting a four star property. The rooms seem to lack insulation and sound proofing as doors and televisions can clearly be heard between rooms and from the hallway. General maintenance seems to have been deferred as upholstery in the lobby and in rooms was torn or stained. The rooftop "pool" and lounge area are ridiculously small and lack any sort of amenities aside from plastic loungers and a few umbrellas. Breakfast was a nice service though the spread lacked variety over the course of a week long stay. Adequate but disappointing is how I would describe the accommodation and most of Copacabana.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

first the positive: excellent location right across from the beach in Copacabana, they have a small swimming pool and exercise room on the terrace with a magnificent view of the ocean and the beach. the free breakfast has the best selection of fresh fruits we have had in south America. Now for the disappointment: we had a relatively small room (708) "called superior" adjoining a paper-thin wall separating us from the next room. Every time the neighbours flushed the toilet or used the shower we could hear it. Even their conversation was heard sometimes. The room had a small window with no view, and worst of all a bad smell emanated at night from the shower drain. bathroom had no vent or window. TV had many stations all in Portuguese! No other language. WIFI is quite slow

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean, high floor if possible, but pay more for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for the first time in this hotel. I chose it because of its location, walking distance from a conference I had to attend at another hotel. It ended up being a good choice. Staff at check-in was attentive and welcoming. The room is not big, but I had what one needs for a business trip: Nice bed, air conditioning (one cannot live in Rio without one), good shower. Wifi works but it is quite slow. If you want faster, gotta pay for it (didn't try it, so can't say if it is really faster, though).
Breakfast was good. Restaurant seemed too tiny at first, but I think all guests fit in throughout the morning. Check-out was quick and hassle-free. Hotel receives a lot of foreigners, so no problem for English, Spanish nor French speakers. One point to note was the amount of mosquitoes I had to kill, in my room and the elevator, With dengue and chikunguya fevers around, it would deserve a closer attention on insecticide usage by the governance. Still, I do recommend for business travelers and even tourists who will stay most of the day out sightseeing or on the beach. They do have a swimming pool, but I confess I have not checked it out to give my opinion.

Room Tip: If you can choose/pay for an Ocean view room, that will definitely be the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquimbito, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Tiny room, lousy hot and cold shower, few useful channels on TV, quirky Wy fy.
For breakfast - bad fake OJ and grapefruit juice. Dirty knife. Tasteless pastry.
Perchas resbalosas, se caen los pantalones.
Don’t come again, is not even cheap! Takes forever to check out.
Avoid!

Room Tip: go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We stayed at the Orla for 3 nights -- two nights in a row, and then a third night two nights later. The rooms are comfortable though a bit small. Bathroom relatively large and well appointed. Air conditioning is excellent. We had a large, queen sized bed that was quite comfortable. Space for large luggage is a bit cramped. Nice table for writing with multiple outlets accommodating multiple plugs -- American, French, Brazilian, etc. There is a nice swimming pool with workout equipment on the roof of the hotel; nice view of Copacabana beach and the bay. Also, free Internet (and high speed Internet option for about US8 per night. The Breakfast was very good with a large assortment of eggs, meats, fruits, yogurts, coffee rolls and muffins. The front desk staff was pleasant, accommodating, and knowledgeable. We were allowed a late check-out -- 2 PM -- at no extra cost. A nice place to stay in RJ for those on a budget.

Room Tip: We were given a nice room on the 7th floor -- by happenstance (were told) the same room on both occa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

This hotel is perfectly situated for exploring both Copacabana and Ipnaema beaches. It is on Copacabana but is only 5/10min walk to the other beach.

The room was well appointed in relation to the price we paid and the air conditioning worked well. Also the mini bar was really reasonable.

The roof top pool and terrace is small and a little jaded with age, but perfectly reasonable. It has the most spectacular views over copacabana however.

The breakfast is delicious. Lots of fresh fruit and pastries. Limited hot selection, but it is not what you fancy in the Rio heat in any case. One morning we came down later at around 09:00 and had to wait for a table as it was peak time. We waited around 5 mins which was fine.

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orla Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orla Copacabana Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 4122, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orla Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orla Copacabana Hotel is just off famous Copacabana beach, a half-mile from Ipanema Beach and downtown Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Highlights at include hotel-wide complimentary WiFi Internet access, a rooftop swimming pool, poolside bar, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Orla Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orla Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Orla Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orla Copacabana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.