We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location right on Copacabana beach with a great breakfast buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orla Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Orla Copacabana Hotel to your Saves list
Orla Copacabana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Atlantica 4122, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #70 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“excellent location right on Copacabana beach with a great breakfast buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed at the Orla Copacabana Hotel for 3 days in early January, 2013. It truly is wedged between two other hotels. It faces Copacabana beach and has a wonderful view from the rooftop pool. The staff was terrific and very helpful and the breakfast buffet is one of the best I've had. I'd read reviews of how crowded the buffet can get, with long waiting times, but we never experienced that. It's a small room but we were always able to be seated immediately. We arrived early in the morning, long before the 1 PM check-in, but our bags were accommodated and we were given our room by 9:30 AM. Our room was an inside one, #906, with only a view of buildings, and small and basic. But, it was clean and included a comfortable queen bed, desk with chair, AC, refrigerator, TV, 2 bedside tables with lamps, small closet with hangers, a good toilet (essential!) and a shower with lots of hot water. The only drawback was that one elevator was broken most of the time so we had to wait for quite awhile for the elevator; we often took the stairs. The restaurant serves all day long; we ate dinner there once on a rainy night. It was good, but overpriced, and not worth it for dinner when there are so many restaurants in Rio. There's a supermarket on the street behind the hotel where you can pick up any food, snacks and bottled water. Ipanema beach is a short walk away. All in all, a good choice. Don't miss Casa de Feijoida for an authentic feijoida meal. Pricey, but worth it and within walking distance of Orla.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    358
    169
    56
    24
See reviews for
109
279
43
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel after reading the good reviews and were surprised to find that the hotel was nothing but a disappointment. The staff is cordial but provide very little help in terms of where to go and what to do in town. They did not offer a map and were vague in their suggestions and always recommended this restaurant called eclipse around the corner with which they clearly have a deal with. Ipanema has a ton of restaurants and bars and they never suggested that area or told us about it. We found out about it on our cab ride back to the airport.

The breakfast is very bland and always the same. There is a selection of two fruits and a few non fresh squeezed juices. The eggs were runny and ineadible everyday. Also the area around the hotel is dangerous at night and we almost got mugged twice. We were approached twice by strangers. The hotel never informed us to be cautious at night in that area.

The room was dark and depressing and wake up calls twice failed. We almost lost our booked tour. They do not bring pool towels to the room as you can only have them in the pool area. Twice the elevators were not working forcing us to take the stairs and we only stayed 4 nights.

Overall too expensive for the room and quality of service offered.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location; what a wonderful view from the pool at roof!
Good breakfast buffet, specially the fruits.
The rooms are VERY SMALL.Well, at least ours, with no view, only the wall from the next building. The free WiFi is slow, sometimes very slow, but the place is clean, rooms are clean and walking from the front of the hotel to the, beach just requires crossing the street.
Ipanema Beach is very close, the hotel is very close to the end of Copacabana, and the beginning of Ipanema, on the Copacabana side. That portion of the beach was my favorite in Copacabana, but, it was a surprise to me the cold temperature of the water in Rio, and the big waves and strong currents.
We stayed 6 nights, the first were right after New Year's Eve, but the last 2 days of our stay, when things went back to normal, included construction noises not far from our room.
Nevertheless we enjoyed our stay, and I may return to it, if I get a good deal, not at a full price, though.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Sound mid market modern hotel. Limited public space and our room (de-luxe) was reasonable size, though smart and with a sea view. Reception spoke English. Rooftop balcony with great views; the claimed pool is little more than a plunge pool. The unexpected plus was the excellent breakfast - one of the best in a 15 day tour of Brazil.

Room Tip: Choose de-luxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

During the New Year celebrations in Rio, it is very difficult to find accommodation that lives up to the hype. This hotel did not live up to it's promises. It is a great location in need of a serious renovation. After viewing several unacceptable rooms, we finally settled in a room that was not even 3 star quality, but appeared brighter than the first ones. The breakfast buffet was very nice and the roof top view was great. This helped us to enjoy our visit, but we would not recommend this hotel to any couple in search of luxury.

Room Tip: Do not book a standard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I know this hotel since years and was always my favorite due to the best position in Rio. Close to Sofitel, in the Orla Arpoador, between Copacabana and Ipanema, its a wonderful location.
The hotel is small but cute n charmig, with a small swimming pool on the 13th floor....but....:
- there is not a big difference between standard-superior-luxo-master suite accomodation exept for the ocean view respect the rooms facing the Av.Copacabana. Maybe less differences and better price strategy would be better.
- carpets, moquetes, inside doars, details are very very old and spoiled
- breackfast room too small and the same chairs since years (during the new years eve you had to queue for minuts because was not in half space for all the guests).
- swimming pool very old as well as the fitness area (on the 31st in the evening instead of organizing something exclusive like a buffet or a dinner very expensive but with an unic view on the fire works, the management closed the access since 9pm on).
- restaurant weak
- elevators (just 2) are not working well not because many people but just because an old system which doesent record the stops (technical problems since ever), and makes guestes waiting for minutes before getting in.
So I hardly understand how this hotel could be a 4 stars, unless stars are given just by the position and I'm asking how Brasil can face the 2014 football world cup or the Olimpic games in the 2016 with those infrastructures.
Its a real shame because with a small yearly budget this hotel could be renovated and could be a little jewel.
I would recommend this hotel on low season.
I've to say something very important about the real added value of the hotel which comes from the staff and the management because they are facing all the problems with professionalism and devotion.

Room Tip: ask for superior room ocean view or Av.copacabana view but as high as possible due to noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The staff was friendly and accommodating. hotel had good location in Copacabana beach and close to Ipanema beach(where the restaurants like garden ,zaza...etc.) the view from the tarase(swiming pool) is more than wonderful

Room Tip: superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orla Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orla Copacabana Hotel

Address: Avenida Atlantica 4122, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22070-002, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#37 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orla Copacabana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Orla Copacabana Hotel is just off famous Copacabana beach, a half-mile from Ipanema Beach and downtown Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Highlights at include hotel-wide complimentary WiFi Internet access, a rooftop swimming pool, poolside bar, and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Orla Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Orla Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Orla Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orla Copacabana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.