We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel- fab location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mar Ipanema Hotel to your Saves list
Mar Ipanema Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Visconde De Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil (Lagoa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Caipirinhas are on us!
Ranked #33 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel- fab location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed here with my partner recently for a week during the World Cup. The double room we had was very spacious. The bed and pillows were comfy, air con was good, TV a reasonable size and had a mini bar with some very cheaply priced water- less than £1 each. The bathroom was also pretty big. There was no bath but the shower fitted both of us nicely with good water pressure. There was plenty of shelf space for all of our toiletries.
The staff all spoke English and we found them to be very friendly and helpful. You can borrow towels, umbrellas and chairs to take to the beach (which is a 2 minute walk away) for no charge. They were also kind enough to leave a gift in our room of 2 pairs of havaiana flip flops and a beach wrap- thank you Mar Ipanema!!
The roof of the hotel has a very nice little bar with views all around- including Christ the Redeemer. At the bottom of the hotel is a great bar/restaurant- Devassa, where we had a really good buffet breakfast every day. Great choice of juices and hot and cold foods. We ate and drank there on other occasions too- v good menu and caipirinhas.
The location of the hotel though, has to be one of the best things about it. The area is very safe, there are lots of nice shops, restaurants and bars nearby and the beach is only 2 short blocks away. Copacabana isn't far in a taxi- about £5 to get there.
Overall, I can't recommend this hotel enough. If we ever return to Rio, I'll be more than happy to stay here again

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your reviewing our hotel at Tripadvisor. I’m glad to know you had a great stay at our property.

I’m thrilled to know that you enjoyed our location. Mar Ipanema Hotel located in a very upscale residential neighborhood, surrounded by Rio’s best restaurants and boutiques. As you pointed out, just a stone’s throw from both Ipanema beach and Lagoon.

It’s good to know that you enjoyed our rooms. As you mentioned, we do not use carpets in order to have cleaner and allergy-free rooms. Also, our amenities are from Natura, a famous Brazilian brand that uses only natural components such as fruits.

It’s exciting to read that you enjoyed our rooftop, which we inaugurated just after carnival, together with our gym and sauna!

Concerning the beach equipment, I’m happy to read that you made use of our beach equipment. We provide our guests complimentary use of each towels, chairs and umbrellas, which are really handy, since the daily rent at the beach costs up to R$ 20.00 per day!

Once again, thank you very much for your great reviews and compliments to our property. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    428
    133
    31
    22
See reviews for
113
371
74
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Good location in Central Ipanema, close to the Ipanema beach and Lagoa.
Close to shops and restaurants.
Very nice restaurant and roof top bar at the hotel. Very friendly staff.

The rooms are nice with TV and AC.

Room Tip: 11th floor has nice view and is close to the roof top bar and gym/sauna
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Google Translation
Prezado hóspede,

Muito obrigado pelo seu comentário e por escolher o Mar Ipanema Hotel como sua casa no Rio de Janeiro.

Fico muito contente com o fato do Sr. ter apreciados os nossos renovados apartamentos, que bem como a nova área no terraço. Ainda, agradeço pelos elogios feitos à nossa muito competente equipe.

Mais uma vez agradeço por escolher o Mar Ipanema Hotel.

Esperamos revê-lo mais uma vez em breve,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I stayed at the Mar Ipanema in a standard room for a week in March 2014. Everything about this hotel is fantastic. The room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The A/C worked well and was not too noisy. The bathroom was a good size. It has a nice rooftop lounge area with great views of the hills. The location was excellent - a ten minute walk from the beach in one direction and a 15 minute walk to the lagoon in the other. Lots of shops and restaurants, including a drugstore, in the immediate vicinity of the hotel, which is convenient for grabbing a meal or getting basics like toiletries and simple clothes (my luggage was lost...more on this below). When I booked my ticket, my rate included vouchers for breakfast at the Devassa restaurant adjacent to the hotel (they share an internal entrance), and the buffet offered lots of tasty options.

What is best about this hotel is the staff though. My luggage was lost by Tam Airlines and their customer service was horrible. The hotel staff volunteered to call and follow-up, in Portuguese, until my luggage was delivered. I couldn't have managed without them!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your stay in Rio de Janeiro. I hope you had a great time.

As you said, our location is no less than unbeatable. Two short blocks away from the marvelous Ipanema beach and surrounded by Rio’s best restaurants and finest shops, Mar Ipanema Hotel offers its guest the perfect location to discover what the city has best.

It was a pleasure to assist you with the issue concerning your luggage. Also, I’m glad to read that our staff was equally helpful. I’ll congratulate them personally!

I’m thrilled to read that you enjoyed our rooftop, which we inaugurated just after carnival, together with our gym and sauna!

I’m happy to know you found our breakfast delicious. Did you try the Brazilian delicacies that are served there, such as pão-de-queijo, matte, tropical fruits and many more?

It’s nice to know that you found our rooms clean and comfortable. In fact we consider Mar Ipanema Hotel a boutique hotel. Our decoration, inspired in our cities postcards grants our property a unique character, greatly different than what happens with chain hotels. The same occurs with our rooms, which are decorated by prestigious Brazilian designers.

Once again, I would like to thank you very much for your complete and amazing review. At Mar Ipanema Hotel we take very much our guests’ feedback in consideration in order to improve our services and receiving complete reviews like yours is really helpful. We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The Mar Ipanema hotel was perfect for our 3-night stay in Rio. The location is ideal--it's a short walk to Ipanema Beach, and to the lagoon--the price is reasonable, and the service is impeccable. For example, our luggage failed to make it on our flight and the airline (TAM) promised to deliver it to the hotel. When the luggage didn't show, the Mar Ipanema staff called the airline repeatedly until they delivered it. (This was a huge help, given our limited Portuguese skills). The hotel manager--from home--left comments on the airline's Facebook page to prompt them to act quicker. The bags finally came late in the day, thanks in no small part to the Mar Ipanema.

You'll find the hotel is quiet and clean, and the wi-fi works great (and is free). They have a small rooftop bar that is quiet and nice to visit, although it appears it closes early. (It remained unlocked, though, so we could still sit outside in the night air).

Highly recommended! I would return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your stay in Rio de Janeiro. I hope you had a great time.

As you said, our location is no less than unbeatable. Two short blocks away from the marvelous Ipanema beach and surrounded by Rio’s best restaurants and finest shops, Mar Ipanema Hotel offers its guest the perfect location to discover what the city has best.

It was a pleasure to assist you with the issue concerning your luggage. Also, I’m glad to read that our staff was equally helpful. I’ll congratulate them personally!

I’m thrilled to read that you enjoyed our rooftop, which we inaugurated just after carnival, together with our gym and sauna!

Once again, I would like to thank you very much for your complete and amazing review. At Mar Ipanema Hotel we take very much our guests’ feedback in consideration in order to improve our services and receiving complete reviews like yours is really helpful. We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

stayed here during Carnival 2014, we had a great stay. Nice toiletries, ice cold Air con, lovely and helpful staff. Very clean and great wifi. We never made it to breakfast...:) lovely roof top terrace. would have been perfect if it had a pool but the beach is steps away! Rooms are very quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying at Mar Ipanema Hotel during such an exciting period for us cariocas. I’m glad to know you had a great stay and our staff has helpful. Also, thank you very much for your compliments concerning our rooftop area that was inaugurated during your stay, which includes sauna, rooftop bar and fitness center. Unfortunately we do not have a pool at this point but since we are so close to the wonderful Ipanema beach, we feel that if we built a pool, it would be hard to compete for attention with all the wonderful sites Rio de Janeiro has to offer.

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

No carpet! I love that. Natura brand shampoo, conditioner and soap, excellent. They are 2 blocks from the Rodrigo de Freitas Lagoon and also 2 blocks from Ipanema beach (posto 10). They have chairs, towels, and umbrellas available all day. The price is fair, it's Rio, though. The restaurant for breakfast is a signature pub at night. On the top floor you see the big statue, and the beach. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Try to get a big statue view from your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your reviewing our hotel at Tripadvisor. I’m glad to know you had a great stay at our property.

I’m glad to know that you enjoyed our location. Mar Ipanema Hotel located in a very upscale residential neighborhood, surrounded by Rio’s best restaurants and boutiques. As you pointed out, just a stone’s throw from both Ipanema beach and Lagoon.

It’s good to know that you enjoyed our rooms. As you mentioned, we do not use carpets in order to have cleaner and allergy-free rooms. Also, our amenities are from Natura, a famous Brazilian brand that uses only natural components such as fruits.

Concerning the beach equipment, we provide our guests complimentary use of each towels, chairs and umbrellas, which are really handy, since the daily rent at the beach costs up to R$ 20.00 per day!

Once again, thank you very much for your great reviews and compliments to our property. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Staffs speak good english and it is not far from the beach. Around 2 blocks.Location is great for shopping or eating. Free wifi but the wifi is not good in the room only works well in yhe lobby.Breakfast is not bad though the same menu everyday.the bed is comfortable but the shower is to small.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenriqueAbreuB, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your candid comments on our property. I’m glad to know you had such a great stay in Rio de Janeiro.

It’s nice to know that you found our hotel modern and beautiful. In fact we consider Mar Ipanema Hotel a boutique hotel. Our decoration, inspired in our cities postcards grants our property a unique character, greatly different than what happens with chain hotels. The same occurs with our rooms, which are decorated by prestigious Brazilian designers.

I’m happy to know you found our breakfast delicious. Did you try the Brazilian delicacies that are served there, such as pão-de-queijo, matte, tropical fruits and many more?

In connection with our wifi, I apologize for the inconvenience caused. During your stay we unfortunately had some problems with a router and now repairs were quickly concluded.

Once again, thank you very much for your great reviews and compliments to our property. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Henrique de Abreu
Mar Ipanema Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mar Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Ipanema Hotel

Address: Rua Visconde De Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#35 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#42 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Ipanema Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mar Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Mar Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar Ipanema Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.