We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mar Ipanema Hotel to your Saves list
Mar Ipanema Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Visconde De Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil (Lagoa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Caipirinhas are on us!
Ranked #32 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed at the Mar Ipanema for just under week in April and had a great time. The hotel is just a couple of blocks from the beach on a really nice street and the area felt very safe. The room was very good and had clearly been recently refurbished with a really nice bathroom and full walk-in shower with good water pressure. I thought the breakfast was excellent for a small hotel - lots of choice and good quality food. Reception staff were also helpful. Finally the hotel was spotless with excellent cleaning. I would recommend the hotel - and definitely choose the hotel the next time I am in Rio.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. On behalf of all our staff, I would like to thank you for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel for your stay at Rio de Janeiro.
I’m delighted to know that you noticed that we recently refurbished our hotel. As a matter of fact, Mar Ipanema Hotel is the only entirely refurbished hotel in Ipanema/Leblon districts. All rooms are equipped with ’32 LCD TVs, Ipod Docks, and may other amenities to provide our guests a comfortable stay.
I would like to thank you very much for your compliments on our staff, glad to know they helped you out efficiently. I’ll make sure to personally congratulate them!
Nice to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection. Did you try all the Brazilian delicacies, such as pão de queijo, minas cheese, tapioca, as well as the tropical fruits? Hope you did!
Once again, thank you very much for your review. I’m really glad to know you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back at Mar Ipanema Hotel anytime soon!
Best regards,
Henrique de Abreu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    429
    134
    31
    22
See reviews for
114
372
75
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Vila, Vanuatu
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hotel in the middle of the action in Ipanema and 2 minutes from the beach.
Clean, reasonable, you have all you need in your room, which is not spacious, but since you are out all day that is not a problem. Right in the middle of the action of Ipanema, restaurants, cafés, shopping, disco's and you name it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. At our hotel, since we take very much in consideration our guests’ feedbacks, reviews like yours are really helpful, for us to improve our services.
I’m glad to know you enjoyed our location, which is no less than excellent. Our hotel is a stone’s throw from Ipanema beach, a couple of blocks away from the Lagoon, being surrounded by Rio’s best restaurants and boutiques.
It’s delightful to know that you liked our rooms as well. Mar Ipanema Hotel is the only entirely refurbished hotel in Ipanema/Leblon districts. All rooms are equipped with ’32 LCD TVs, Ipod Docks, and may other amenities to provide our guests a comfortable stay.
Once again, thank you very much for your review. We hope to see you again soon!
Best regards,
Henrique de Abreu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel in late April 2013.
Hotel staff was very friendly. Knowledgeable of surrounding area, tourist sites etc. Hotel was literally 2 blocks from the beach ! very nice, and right in the heart of the Ipanema shopping area , also very nice and convenient to walking to the beautiful neihborhing Leblon area, but a little bit of a hike if you wanted to walk to Copacabana.
Room was ok, barewood floor could have used a nice rug to soften it up , bathroom was VERY small, I literally had to step out from the bathroom to dry myself off. ( my friends bathroom was much larger)
Would have been nice if they provided face/wash clothes, as it was they only provided hand towels and the larger towels. It did have a nice bidet hose next to the toilet for your cleaning pleasure.
Room could definitely used more AC outlets to charge your devices. As it was, I had to charge one of my 2 phones, in the bathroom ( not ideal)
Hotel / room had free wifi-big plus , and a nice ipod docking station/clock radio /speakers, to listen to your tunes.
Complimentary breakfast was provided by the hotel in the adjoining hotel next door.
Complimentary beach towels, and chairs etc. was a nice touch .
All in all...pretty good hotel, for the price. Bare bones, no frills but very close to the beach and restaurants/ shopping area.
I would probably stay there again.

Room Tip: Hotel has " city " views and no swimming pool or fitness area . but comp wifi and is 2 blo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaAbreu, Diretor de vendas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest;

We couldn't be happier about your review! Thank you for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel! We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our services and our prime location!

Nonetheless, please accept our apologies for any inconviniences you might have had with the size of the bathroom and charging your electrical equipments. We appreciate all the feedback that we receive from our guests as it helps us in improving the service that we can give our future guests.

Thank you once again for taking your time to send us your feedback on your stay! We look forward to welcoming you back again when you are next in Rio de Janeiro!

Kind regards,

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A short stay in Rio before travelling to Sao Paolo for a friends wedding and this was a great little find. Rooms are pretty basic but fine for a short stay, good size bathroom and everything was clean. Staff on the desk were helpful and the Devassa bar attached to the hotel was good for food and drinks. This was also where we had breakfast which was nice - enough to set you up for the day! I would recommend this for a stay in Rio and was actually one of the cheapest in the city ( where everything is expensive by the way!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and compliments. I’m glad to hear that you had a nice stay at our hotel.
Nice to know that our front desk staff was helpful. I’ll congratulate them personally!
I’m really glad you enjoyed our Armazém Devassa restaurant, where breakfast, lunch, dinner and late night drinks, including beers from the Devassa microbrewery are served. Did you have any of those?
Concerning our prices, please note that although our property is 100% renovated and located in an exclusive residential area of Rio de Janeiro, our prices are usually 20-30% lower than beachfront hotels.
Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you soon!
Best wishes,
Henrique de Abreu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Mar Ipanema. Good location, walking distance to beach. Clean. Our room must have been one that was remodeled as clean, modern, and well kept. Front desk was extremely helpful in securing reservations for handglidding! Which was great I must say! Would recommend and stay again.
DeVassa resturaunt attached....has excellent food!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Gerente at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments regarding our hotel. At Mar Ipanema Hotel we take very much in consideration our guests’ reviews in order to improve our services.
Good to know you enjoyed our prime location! As you mentioned, Mar Ipanema Hotel is located just two blocks away from the wonderful Ipanema beach in the fancy residential district of Ipanema, being surrounded by the best restaurants and trendiest shops in town.
I’m glad you liked our rooms as well. We are glad to say that Mar Ipanema Hotel is the only entirely refurbished hotel in Ipanema/Leblon districts. All rooms are equipped with ’32 LCD TVs, Ipod Docks, and may other amenities to provide our guests a comfortable stay.
I would like to thank you very much for your compliments on our staff, glad to know they helped you out efficiently. I’ll make sure to personally congratulate them!
Best regards,
Henrique de Abreu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

very good hotel in great location. rooms were a good size and very comfortable. staff were helpful and attanded to any queries very promptly. great breakfast in the devassa cafe next door.
easy walk to the beach and the hotel provide parasols and towells etc if requested
we felt very safe in ipanema and would receommend this area and hotel to anyone planning a trip to rio

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Diretor de vendas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review! It is a great pleasure to know you have enjoyed the services we provide! We are delighted you really appreciated the comfort of the room, as well as our great location! We're also glad you have enjoyed our breakfast at Armazém Devassa; it is actually a chance guests have to try typical Brazilian dishes such as tapioca, rabanada, pão de queijo, coconut bread, queijo de minas and tropical fruits!

We thank you once again for taking your time to give us a such a great feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the Mar Ipanema Hotel anytime soon!

Best regards,

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Just checked into the Mar Ipanema Hotel. Was absolutely lured by the nice pictures in the website, but reality is very bad. The hotel is old and not well cared for. Also the price is totally over rated: us$270!! For this price, in many other places you can stay in very good hotels. A total disappointment!!!

Room Tip: Ask which is the room that appears in the website pictures ... those might be the only ones a bit ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Diretor de vendas at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Paula,

It is with great surprise that we read your comments on Mar Ipanema Hotel. As in our neighborhood most hotels are named after "Ipanema", we truly believe that ours was not the hotel you meant to rate here on Trip Advisor. We are the only 100% refurbished hotel in Ipanema/Leblon, and all of our rooms are equipped with 32" LCD TVs, iPod docks, free complimentary wi-fi internet access, and many other amenities. We understand that sometimes it could be difficult to find a brand new hotel in Rio de Janeiro, but that is honestly not our case and we take pride on that.

Regarding our rates, we are located only two short blocks away from Ipanema beach, in a really up-scale residential area of Rio de Janeiro, and still we are roughly 20-30% cheaper than other hotels in the same area.

Confident that this was an honest mistake, we send you our best regards and invite you to stay with us next time you are in Rio de Janeiro.

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mar Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Ipanema Hotel

Address: Rua Visconde De Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#36 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#41 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Ipanema Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mar Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Mar Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar Ipanema Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.