We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mar Ipanema Hotel to your Saves list
Mar Ipanema Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Visconde De Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil (Lagoa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Caipirinhas are on us!
Ranked #32 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We booked this hotel based on previous reviews and although it wasnt bad it was nothing special at the same time. Location is the best thing this place has got going for it. The rooms are small and quite noisy. There was constant traffic outside that kept us awake throughout the night. Rio is an expensive place, but we stayed in a different hotel for the same price which was much better. If you are looking for a european standard 4* hotel this is not the place. Although the rooms were relatively clean, they were old and outdated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarIpanemaHotel, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel. I am truly disappointed to know that you just considered your stay to be average. Indeed our location is unbeatable, however I was surprised to read that you thought our rooms were outdated. In fact, the Mar Ipanema Hotel is the only 100% refurbished hotel in the Ipanema/Leblon district. I would also like to point out that the Mar Ipanema Hotel is a 3 star hotel, and not a 4 star property as you mentioned.
Thank you so much again for your comments, and we wish you the best!
Sincerely,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    428
    134
    31
    22
See reviews for
113
372
75
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Like others have said, great location 2-blocks from beach in heart of shopping area. Always felt safe. Room itself was a bit cell-like with the window partially boarded over where air conditioning unit was and others at a height. That said it was very clean, comfortable bed and relatively quiet. Wi-Fi was free and excellent.
Staff were excellent to good, checked in early and they facilitated payment for a late 6pm checkout which was great on a rainy Rio day.
Before booking I found it hard to find a hotel in Rio with price-quality ratio and overall this hit the spot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaAbreu, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your amazing review and feedback from your recent stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel! It thrills us to know that you enjoyed our property, and were able to enjoy our free wireless internet. The Mar Ipanema Hotel is the only property in the Ipanema/Leblon area to offer free wifi all over the hotel´s premises.
I am very happy that you considered our hotel to be of good value for the price paid!
I truly hope that you can come back soon!

Wish you all the best always!

Thank you again for taking the time to share your experiences with future guests!

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hotels in Rio are so expensive it's hard to get a handle on the place before you arrive. Mar Ipanema was the only reasonably priced and quality place we could find in the heart of the action in Ipanema. Rooms were good, beds comfortable and showers were great. Stayed on the 11th floor so no noise issues mentioned in other posts. Breakfast was ok but not great.

Room Tip: Book a high floor. Don't go to Porcao, their recommended BBQ restaurant a few blocks away, meat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaAbreu, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you so much for choosing Mar Ipanema Hotel to stay during your recent trip to Rio! We are very happy to know that you found our hotel to be a good value property! We are very grateful for all the compliments you made about our hotel! I would love to hear your suggestions to make our breakfast amazing, and not just ok :)
Concerning the BBQ restaurant Porcão, I am very surprised that you did not like it. It is the most traditional and one of the best, if not the best, place in town to try our Brazilian BBQ. Other very nice places for meat here in Rio are: Fogo de Chão, Esplanada Grill, and Giuseppe Grill, however Porcão is my all time favorite.
Again, thank you so much for your comments and I hope you can stay with us again soon!
Best wishes,

Amanda Abreu - Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked this hotel because of its location in one of Rio's safer neighbourhoods. We had no trouble when we walked around the area during the day or went to the beach, though we made sure we dressed down and took nothing with us. The beach is a few minutes' walk and there are plenty of shops and places to eat nearby.

The hotel itself was very clean. The reception staff were excellent at replying to emails and accommodating our room request prior to arrival. We asked for a room on the quieter side road and as high up as possible to get away from traffic noise. In reality, we could still hear the road at night through the single-glazed window. The hotel did tell us they had a special room without windows for guests who wanted particular quiet, though we felt this might feel like a prison cell so we turned it down!

The room was on the small side but had everything we needed and was nicely furnished and clean.

Reception staff were very helpful when it came to arranging tours, and the breakfast in the adjoining cafe was good too.

Overall, the hotel was pricey, as most in Rio seem to be, but we were very happy with it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaAbreu, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you so much for your review! We appreciate that you took the time to share your comments with other travelers. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our amazing location.
Our front desk and reservations staff are incredible, and I am very happy that they were able to help and meet your needs.
We do have 1 room without windows, though it is a much larger room, and many guests really like it because it is very silent.
Again, I would like to thank you for your comments and we are glad to know that you would stay with us again!
Best wishes!
Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Before choosing the Mar Ipanema Hotel we did quite a bit of research on Rio’s hotel as we were somewhat nervous before what would be our first trip to Rio De Janeiro. So many reviews on Trip Advisor and travellers’ comments on other web-site were read carefully, and the streetviews on Google Maps were examined. In the end we decided there was no point in paying the extra cost of a beach-front hotel as we would be spending our time touring around Rio’s famous sights rather than sitting in the hotel room gazing out to sea, and the location of the Mar Ipanema seemed fine.
Although we are widely travelle, in commenting on this hotel we have nothing local against which to compare it as we have not stayed in any other hotel in Rio. So our baseline is really the comments we’ve read on sites like Trip Advisor, plus our prior experience of hotels elsewhere in South America.
We found the hotel was efficiently run, clean and comfortable. All the staff we dealt with were very friendly and helpful. They spoke good English and were knowledgeable on matters of interest. They helped us with information and arrangements as needed.
The location was good, very safe, with lots of boutique-type shops, and shopping activity until late into the evening. The main street on which the hotel is located is a busy thoroughfare with lots of buses going to numerous destinations, and many taxis weaving in and out. There’s a special “Metro” bus that stops near the hotel to bring people to the nearest Ipanema metro (underground) station. We used the metro to get to/from the downtown area, again very safely and efficiently.
The busy street location of course has a downside – street-noise. Although we had a room on a high floor, we were disappointed at the level of traffic noise that would continue until nearly 2am, and pick-up again about 5am. This was somewhat exacerbated by the sounds from the neighbours in the adjacent room, including playing TV sounds, music, and other nocturnal activities. In the end we needed the airline earplugs to ensure a good night’s sleep.
The room was smallish but adequate. No chair in the room, and not much room for one when space is allowed for luggage storage. The wardrobe was compact, but fine, and had a combination-lock safe with space for all our valuable possessions – labtop, camera, handbag, etc. There was a large fridge in the room with the usual merchandise, and nicely it had room for our own purchases as needed. The walk-in power shower was fabulous. Housekeeping standard was good.
Breakfast, included in our room-rate, was served in a restaurant/bar on the ground floor. It has a connecting door to the hotel lobby in the morning but this door is closed later in the day when the restaurant/bar operates independently. We ate there on a couple of evenings as it was quick and convenient for a basic meal at reasonable process.
Overall we enjoyed our stay in the Mar Ipamema and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Roomd without a inter-connecting door may be quieter (from moisy neighbours).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaAbreu, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your great review!!! I am very glad to know that you chose Mar Ipanema Hotel to stay after all that research! I am very happy that you enjoyed our location as well as our restaurant.
I would just like to add that there are chairs in all of our rooms, as well as working desks for our guests.
Some noise sensitive guests might think the street gets noisy sometimes, especially because as you mentioned it is a busy street, full of restaurants, bars, and boutiques. On the other hand, it is a very convenient and safe area to stay,
Again, thank you so much for your comments and we thank you for recommending Mar Ipanema Hotel for other guests!
Wish you the best!

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We just returned from Brazil and stayed 2 nights at the Mar Ipanema. Our room was a corner on the 8th floor and provided good space for two travelers. Although clean, the shower mat had a large dark (blood) stain on it and should have been retired. We found the minbar to be expensive in charging $1.50 US for a "mini" bottle of water. Our biggest issue was the customer service from the front desk which we felt was minimal. We were trying to rent bikes as shown on their service list. They no longer offer them but didn't help with options. When we asked them to call one of the bike renters to insure it was open, they would only assist if they could charge the call to our room. Similar experience in asking about local restaurants and bars.
And the map they provided for touring the city was small and hard to read. Unfortunately, we had given away a large fold-out map earlier that we had received from our Santa Teresa hotel which clearly marked sites, metro stations, etc. We just assumed the Mar Ipanema would have a similar map or information. If you want beach convenience, this would be the place to stay but we also enjoyed the Santa Teresa area for our earlier stay and it would be a toss-up as to which hotel got our business on the next trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaAbreu, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel! Concerning the stain on the bath mat, I can assure you that this is not acceptable and that I will show your review to our housekeeping supervisor right away. About the prices charged on our minibar, we never received any complaints about it before, and I believe that all items offered are very affordable when you consider minibar prices in hotels worldwide.
About the bike rentals, I would like to apologize for not offering this service anymore. However, I would like to know where you saw this information, so that we can correct it as soon as possible. Since Rio is now offering a very affordable bike rental system all over the city, this service was not being requested by guests anymore. This is actually a tip for future guests.
Concerning the maps offered at the front desk, I will personally take a look at those and see if we can provide better maps.
I apologize for any inconvenience, however I would like to thank you a lot for your feedback and comments about your stay!
Best wishes!
Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Excellent location, 100m from the beach. taxis are so cheap in Rio its easy to get around. The Breakfast was excellent and the room clean and spacious. The staff are friendly and very helpful, evne translting for us to tell our taxi driver directions to Corcovado train station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmandaAbreu, Manager at Mar Ipanema Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear guest,

Amazing review!!! Thank you so much for your comments about your stay at Mar Ipanema Hotel! I am so happy to know that you enjoyed our location as well as our breakfast buffet!
We truly appreciate your comments about our front desk staff!
Thank you so much! Hope to see you back soon!
Cheers!

Amanda Abreu
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mar Ipanema Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mar Ipanema Hotel

Address: Rua Visconde De Piraja 539, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-003, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Lagoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#23 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#39 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#41 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mar Ipanema Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mar Ipanema Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mar Ipanema
Mar Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Mar Ipanema Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mar Ipanema Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.