We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NYE, Rio” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Majestic Rio Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Majestic Rio Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Majestic Rio Palace Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua 5 de Julho 195, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22051-030, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“NYE, Rio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Three of us stayed at the Majestic over New Years, Dec,13-Jan14 for 5 nights while on a one month trip around South America. The staff here were exceptionally helpful, the breakfast's were a hightlight and overall we were very happy staying here. Although it is about 5 blocks from the beach, it is in a good location and was the cornerstone for a real enjoyable stay in Rio. Big thumbs up.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    108
    94
    22
    11
See reviews for
56
68
17
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thompson, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a good hotel to stay in terms of price/value. The rooms are narrow but cozy, with a nice bathroom, which has, a glassed in shower, and a baday. For site seers, the hotel provides connection to a tour bus service, which takes passengers through the city's attractions and sites, such as, Maracana Stadium, and Cristo Renator. The bus conveniently picks up tourists at Majestic Rio Palace. For relaxation and recreation, there is a swimming pool, exercise room, sauna, and lounge atop the roof where you may view across Copacabana to the coast. The beach is a 10 minute walk from here; not bad if you would like to experience Copacabana's inner workings and local lifestyle.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I want to commend the staff for their wonderful service and generosity. The reception saw that I was being harassed by a stranger on the street, and they called the police and let me stay in the lobby until the man was apprehended. Kind, thoughtful, and devoted service from a superb staff. Obrigado!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Good location, although for the same price or cheaper you can find something closer to the beach (we also stayed at the Canada hotel, closer to the beach, cheaper... see comments for this hotel).
Good breakfast (depending on the hour, you have to wait for a table) and nice staff.
Internet is free but bad reception on our bedroom, only good reception on the hall.
Don't go there for the swimming pool: ridiculously small.
Old hotel and old furniture but clean. Air conditioning is very very noisy.

We were really DISAPPOINTED by this hotel: we booked and paid in advance a triple room and when we arrived they put us on a double bed room + supplementary bed (really bad small mattress practically on the floor, even a child sleeping there is a shame!!!) but they didn't say anything. We asked for a different room and they said that they could only change us two days after. They acknowledged that the room we were initially in wasn't a triple room. We asked for a refund for the difference in price but instead of giving us our money back they said that we could spend the difference in services (restaurant, bar...). It really felt like if we hadn't say anything they would have left us in the double room!!! Also it is a shame that they couldn't (or wouldn't) refund us our money, we were obliged to "spend" that money in services!!!
I WOULD DEFINITELY NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL BECAUSE THEY WERE COMPLETELY DISHONEST. YOU CAN FIND SAME SERVICE FOR CHEAPER OR SAME PRICE, and keep in mind that Rio de Janeiro is really expensive for a Latin American city, with overpriced hotels.
They also tried to charge with drink we didn't take from the minibar...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed there over new years in 2013-2014 for 5 nights.

The location is quite ok, 10 mins walk from the beach but not compared to other hotels that re literally ON the beach. the rooms are old, noisy, but finely sized if you do not mind the other flaws, and the cleaning stuff is doing a VERY bored and mediocre job. (we can in one day with some sand on our feet that was still in the bathroom 2 days later once we called them).

Also with the exception of the door staff that speaks english do not bother with room service for example cause you will never get anywhere with them.

The hotel manager is very helpful on one occasion I asked him something, but unfortunately the hotel is a poor example and one we would stay again only in need (like this case that everything was booked or stupidly expensive for new years).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valhalla, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hotel was within walking distance from Copacabana beach and the staff were helpful in giving us food recommendations. They also held our bags for us for the day after checkout so that we could enjoy our last day without worrying about our stuff. Breakfast buffet was the highlight of the hotel for us. The room was small, but that made the AC unit so much more effective! Only real complaint I had was that the fitness room is just a treadmill and a lat pulldown shoved into a corner. For the price we paid to be staying near Copacabana in the busy season, this hotel was pretty much what we expected.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The rooms are old and run down. The floors are wooden so you can hear everything from upstairs eg walking steps, talking & even toilet flash! The air con made a loud noise when operating! And the Internet was not working in the room, we had to stand at the door to get the wireless working! We stayed there for one night, two nights ago, and had a bad experience! Would not recommend it at all.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Majestic Rio Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majestic Rio Palace Hotel

Address: Rua 5 de Julho 195, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22051-030, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Majestic Rio Palace Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Majestic Rio Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Rio Palace Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Majestic Rio Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.