We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We stayed one night extra.. :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ipanema Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ipanema Inn to your Saves list
Ipanema Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Maria Quiteria, 27, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-040, Brazil (Ipanema)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We stayed one night extra.. :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We had a very good experience with our stay at the Ipanema Inn in Rio de Janeiro! It's location is very close the Ipanema beach, the service of all the staff was exellent and they were all smiling! Our room, the 804, was very nice and modern.The AC was very new and quiet! Good beds and pillows

Very good, but simple breakfast! We were asked if wanted an omelett especially made! Loved it!

Compared with the hotel Arpoador Inn (same hotell chain), the Ipanema Inn surpasses them in every aspect by FAR, espcially the staff that did NOT live up to our expectations at the Arpoador Inn.

Will come back to the Ipanema Inn next time we're in Rio :)

Room Tip: The 804 has a very quiet AC, couldn't hear it, but it was very efficent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest,

It is lovely to hear your thoughts on the hotels run by us, so thank you so much for this amazing review.

Your compliments to our breakfast were transmitted to the restaurant team at the IPANEMA INN, who were very happy to know. The good news are that very soon we will also be running the restaurant in our other hotel.

I am happy to hear that our happy staff was always cheering and welcoming you into the hotel, as that shows how happy they are with working as a team at the IPANEMA INN. In addition to that, our air con system is brand new and has been working perfectly, right? I am glad you enjoyed staying in a Superior room, facing the tree-lined beautiful street.

Hope to see you back soon at the IPANEMA INN.

My very best wishes,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    340
    86
    19
    8
See reviews for
126
270
54
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We stayed at Ipanema Inn on July 27 & 28. The location is very good, only 2min walk from Ipanema beach. Friendly staff, quiet room and excellent breakfast which has nothing to envy to 5 star hotels (the breakfast is really good).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the fantastic comments related to the fantastic breakfast served as a courtesy, daily, at the IPANEMA INN.

Christian Garcia, our Executive Chef, was recently taken on board and on top of creating a fantastic menu based on the Brazilian Contemporary cuisine, he has developed delicious recipes for our daily breakfast. That includes the daily specials and the fresh and seasonal ingredients.

We hope to welcome you back soon at the IPANEMA INN.

My kindest regards,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

A small hotel in a great neighborhood, just 1/2 a block off Ipanema Beach and close to shopping, public transportation, and restaurants too. The staff was always friendly and helpful and a terrific breakfast is included in the room rate--nothing like starting the day with watermelon juice, fresh breads, and made to order eggs. Our room was very small with no view, but quiet, recently renovated, quite functional and comfortable--after all, we didn't come to Rio to hang out in a hotel room!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for the fantastic comments to IPANEMA INN's location, breakfast and staff.

Thank you so much for the rich description of the daily breakfast developed by our Chef Christian Garcia and which includes a myriad of options of locally sourced products. Most of these are produced by our bakers and cooks, such as the breads, jams and compotes.

I am particularly happy by your comments to the Standard room you stayed in and would love you to see our spacious Superior and Duplex Suite categories.

My very best wishes,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great place to stay if you want to be near Ipanema beach - which is simply fabulous. Sunsets here are spectacular and it's great to walk to Aproador and enjoy the views. We had the deluxe suite which was fantastic and very spacious with a lovely balcony. Views of the city and the beach. Staff was very helpful and friendly. The only negative is that the free wifi was barely functional.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the fantastic comments regarding your recent stay with us at the IPANEMA INN.

We are very happy to hear how joyful staying at the Duplex Suite at the IPANEMA INN has been, with its terrace with lateral view of the beach and the mountains of Rio, two spacious bathrooms and luxury amenities. The internet signal, which is a courtesy by the hotel, has now been strengthened by the provider, so thank you very much for raising that.

We hope to welcome you back here soon.

My kindest regards,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Sp
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a small hotel in the heart of Ipanema Beach.
It has recently been renovated and the rooms are small yet very clean and confortable.
The service is impecable with a friendly staff. I stayed there with my wife and baby and they did the best to please us.
The restaurant is in the lobby and the breakfast in excellent too, with fresh fruit juices everyday, fruits, cereal and home made bread - they also offer "pão de queijo".
The bed sheets, pillows and towels are of high quality, and the shower is very good too.
Just one block from the Beach and another block from the main street of Ipanema - it is also walking distance from Leblon Beach or Arpoador (in the intersection from Copacabana).
I highly recommend this hotel for people that like simplicity, location and service!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We are flattered by the incredible comments regarding your recent stay with us at the IPANEMA INN.

I am particularly glad that you noticed the high level of services in our boutique hotel. We constantly run training on excellency services with the various teams of the hotel, so it is rewarding to see that this has transpired during your stay in RIo de Janeiro.

We hope to see you back soon at the IPANEMA INN, when you will be able to enjoy the nicely decorated rooms (do request one of our spacious Duplex Suites next time - I would love to hear your thoughts on this), in addition to the specialty breakfast and wonderful location.

As you said: simplicity, location and service is what you will find at the IPANEMA INN.

My kindest regards,
Daniel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Wonderful, nice people from the front desk to the waiters to the chef to the bellman. clean room and all areas.Good value for the money.
People take good care of customers
good breakfast with wide range of option

Room Tip: high floors and in the back will have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for recommending the Standard rooms at the IPANEMA INN for guests all around the world. It is in fact a fantastic good value for money and a very comfortable option.

Your compliments were transmitted to our teams. We hope to you back at the IPANEMA INN soon.

My very best wishes,
Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Loved this little hotel right off Ipanema Beach. Newly renovated rooms, good internet connection, great breakfast and helpful staff. Much better than the other, much more expensive, hotels we stayed in. 1 minute walk to the beach, what else can you ask for :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your fantastic comments about you stay at the IPANEMA INN.

We are thankful for your preference and compliments and hope to welcome you back again, when you will be able to also experience our new restaurant with a selection of local dishes prepared in a Contemporary way by our chef Christian Garcia.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ipanema Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Inn

Address: Rua Maria Quiteria, 27, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#10 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ipanema Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IPANEMA INN is located in the very centre of the iconic Ipanema neighbourhood, in Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is a stone's throw from the beach, on charming Maria Quitéria street, with a myriad of restaurants and bars around the corner and within a district with a buzzing cultural scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Ipanema Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Ipanema Inn Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ipanema Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.