We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wolf in sheep's...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ipanema Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ipanema Inn to your Saves list
Ipanema Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Maria Quiteria, 27, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-040, Brazil (Ipanema)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
@los angeles
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wolf in sheep's...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

From the outside this is a very attractive property- marble lobby, good front desk. If only the hotel was as nice. It pains me to do this because the location is very good and the staff was super. The manager is nice and all the breakfast folks terrific.
Now for the rest of the story: this is an old hotel that is trying to appear young again and it just doesn't work.
The building is old, the rooms small and shabby and the furniture looks like something out of the Bate's Motel. There are also lots of young families with noisy kids- maybe that's their demographic.
In my dream of Ipanema the room is white and be achy and the girls tall and tan...
Find another place, this was depressing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing your recent stay with us.

I am particularly happy with your compliments to our staff, as we have recently been through training on excellency services. I am truly glad that you have noticed it.

Thank you also for your compliments to the property look. We are aiming to finish the renovation of the apartments by mid-2013, when you will be able to experience the newest and most modern suites in Rio de Janeiro.

Hope to welcome you back soon at IPANEMA INN.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    301
    77
    18
    7
See reviews for
112
218
45
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset UK
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a memorable holiday in Rio staying for ten days at this hotel and having read previous tripadvisor reviews we were not disappointed..We arrived early morning after a long flight and paid extra to check in early and have breakfast. Our room on the 9th floor was clean and comfortable and though not as spacious as one would expect in a modern US style motel was more than adequate for the two of us with the bonus of free wi-fi. All the staff from the smart front desk personnel through to the cleaners were courteous and friendly. The buffet-style breakfast with it's extended hours and excellent variety was a pleasant and leisurely experience with attentive staff always available. For us in particular we found Patricia to be especially helpful as she had a very good command of English and our Portuguese was limited to por favor and obrigado! Bell boy Alan was also worthy of a special mention, always friendly and cheerful though as mentioned before all of the staff were a credit to the hotel.Superb location just a short stroll to the beach (towels and parasols available at the front desk) and within a block of the main shopping area. Anyone interested in English football should try The Lord Jim pub on Rua Paul Redfern (10 mins walk). They sometimes have a cover charge e.g. 30 Reals but only 1 Real per pint but you can opt out and pay full price, about 9 Reals if you are just having a couple. We did a day tour of the main sights with Rio Maximo Tours, booked independently, which was excellent and considerably cheaper than one offered through the front desk.
Finally in spite of the horror stories we walked all around the locality (Ipanema and Copacabana) and never once felt threatened. There was a strong visible police presence on both main beaches during the day but.we never witnessed any trouble at all.

Room Tip: Refurbishment in progress with floors 8 and 9 complete and 7 in progress working towards lower floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your outstanding comments regarding the recent stay with us.

We are grateful for being your choice in Rio de Janeiro and for taking the time to publish your experience here. I am particularly glad that you enjoyed the courtesy high speed wifi throughout the hotel, as well as the extended hours of our brazilian-style buffet breakfast. I hope you managed to try some of the local delicacies served daily by the courteous staff from our restaurant.

Your compliments were transmitted to the various members of staff and teams.
We all hope to welcome you back at IPANEMA INN soon.

My kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boodua
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Nice rooms and helpful staff. Good location to walk to the beach or shops. Breakfast was well presented and a nice start to the day. Wireless internet is available as well as computers in the airy foyer. Definitely recommend if you happen to be in Rio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very honoured by your review.
Thank you so much for the compliments to our staff and for recommending our services to other travellers.

We hope to welcome you back soon, to enjoy a little more of our prime location and services.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Rio in general and Ipanema/Leblon in particular have the highest hotel prices in Brazil. Having said that, it's fair to recognize that Ipanema Inn is one of the best options in that neighborhood. Half a block from the beach, extremely attentive staff (never annoying though) and a great breakfast, with some stuff freshly prepared, like omelets and "tapiocas" (ask the staff for info).
In early march, some of the floors was under refurbishment -- I hope this doesn't mean a price increase.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for reviewing our services with such fantastic words.

We are truly happy to hear how much you have enjoyed the attention of our Front desk team. We are, in fact, always very attentive with every single guest.

Our breakfast also makes us very proud: the courtesy daily dish made to order has been generating a great response from our valued guests, so I am honestly happy to hear that you also enjoyed it.

We hope to see you back to IPANEMA INN soon.

My best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel has a great location just half block from the beautiful beach of Ipanema and one block from the main avenue where all shops are located. Front desk staff is well trained and pleasant; they speak many languages and I could see others being very comfortable with that. Breakfast in the morning has extended hours from 6:30 am till 11am which is really nice if you decided to sleep in for a while. All sorts of yummy plates are in display and hot beverages are served at the table. Just be careful of one thing: not all rooms are remodeled and some of them look like an highway motel.......... Probably in a few months all rooms will be redone. Tip: search for a good deal online as this place could be really expensive.

Room Tip: Some rooms are not remodeled yet, ask for a new one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for rating us here. We are extremely happy with your comments.

I am glad that you managed to enjoy the extended hours of our buffet brazilian breakfast, which now has a courtesy dish of the day, such as omelettes and the brazilian pancake named Tapioca.

We hope to see you back in IPANEMA INN soon, when all the rooms will have been modernised for an even greater comfort.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I had a very enjoyable stay at the Ipanema Inn in early March (2013).

The staff were extremely attentive, friendly and helpful from our arrival to our departure, assisting with information on tours, weather forecasts and providing maps/beach towels and umbrellas. All staff we encountered spoke excellent English.

The location is superb, a 30 second walk to the beautiful beach and within a few minutes walk from a number of excellent restaurants, delis and shops.

Breakfast is great - fresh fruits, yoghurts, warm rolls, excellent coffee served and re-filled by very friendly and attentive staff and a good selection of freshly made juices and the room itself was absolutely fine, clean and with a spacious bathroom. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

We are extremely happy with your review regarding the recent stay at IPANEMA INN.

It is rewarding to see that the staff training, recently undergone, has generated such amazing response from our valued guests. I am happy to hear how helpful our Front desk team has been. Also, it is brilliant to learn how impressed you were by our beach service, location, concierge and breakfast.

Our housekeeping team says a big thank you for the compliments regarding the room you stayed in and wishes, as I do, to welcome you soon back in IPANEMA INN.

Our kindest regards,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Breakfast is awesome! Fresh fruits and they even offer to make you a yummy omelette.
The staff is very helpful and friendly, and helped us get to the sights we wanna see quite smoothly.
The room is a bit old and felt damp, so don't expect too much. I heard they're gonna renovate soon. Bathroom is nice though with a super strong shower!
Location is great, very close to the beach. Hotel lets u borrow their beach towel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel G, Manager at Ipanema Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for such great review about your recent stay with us, at IPANEMA INN.

I am delighted to hear how enjoyable our breakfast is, as we have recently updated it, including a daily special such as the omelette. Your compliments to our Front desk have been transmitted.

We hope to see you back soon, when you will be able to stay in one of our newly modernised apartments.

My very best wishes,

Daniel Gorin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ipanema Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipanema Inn

Address: Rua Maria Quiteria, 27, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22410-040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Ipanema
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#12 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ipanema Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IPANEMA INN is located in the very centre of the iconic Ipanema neighbourhood, in Rio de Janeiro. The hotel is a stone's throw from the beach, on charming Maria Quitéria street, with a myriad of restaurants and bars around the corner and within a district with a buzzing cultural scene. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ipanema Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ipanema Rio De Janeiro
Ipanema Inn Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ipanema Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.