We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For 210 reals, not a bad hotel in overpriced Rio” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibiza Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibiza Copacabana Hotel to your Saves list
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Belford Roxo 250, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020010, Brazil (Copacabana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #112 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
London, UK
1 review
“For 210 reals, not a bad hotel in overpriced Rio”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

The attractions - on paper - are great: swimming pool, sauna, but the reality is the pool is tiny, on the roof, but the sauna is good. The room was fine, but the hotel did seem to be infested with very small ant-like insects, for which we were given an aerosol killer spray. The lifts require a lot of patience: small and stopped at every floor. BUT, what did it for us was the absolutely brilliant breakfasts, upon which, I am afraid, we gorged ourselves - fresh melons, watermelons, pineapple, pawpaw, etc. I think the manager in the brown sports jacket ("Brown man", as I christened him) was relieved when we left! The lady receptionist was very nice, as were all the staff. All in all not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    61
    48
    7
    9
See reviews for
45
44
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

I booked a room with this hotel and confirmed it the night before arrival, upon getting there I was ignored at the desk for quite some time, until finally my boyfriend came in and then the hotel clerk came to help us. At that time she informed us that she indeed, had our reservation, but no room for us.
We were able to get a hotel right down the street but that was not a good start to our weekend in Rio.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

OK. The staff were fine with the exception of the fact that they are of course interested in extracting money. They overcharge for wireless internet, and some rooms hardly have any electrical outlets. I found the decoration to be pure 1960s, but the beds were fine, and the breakfast great.

Antonio, the "motorista" more or less attached to the hotel is honest and helpful. I'm not sure if he speaks English because we communicated in Portuñol.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — electricity
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

This is an excellent budget hotel. As mentioned in other reviews, the reception staff speak perfect English, give a great welcome and are extremely helpful. The hotel is located a couple of blocks back from Copacabana beach, so you sacrifice the view that you would get from a more expensive beach front hotel, but I enjoyed being in the local neighbourhood and mixing with the local people going about their daily lives at the shops, cafes and restaurants.

Whilst safety is an issue to be aware of in Rio and you wouldn’t want to walk down any empty streets at night, the hotel is located in an area that certainly appeared to be busy and had plenty of people around at all times of the day and night when I visited.

The rooms are a fair size for the price, very clean and the breakfasts
were very good. The reception area is very well laid out, there is a small bar and a couple of PCs with internet access.

The only two downsides, which in my opinion were acceptable for the price, were that the air conditioning machine in our room was incredibly noisy and the lifts are very slow to arrive when you call for them.

Overall, a good budget hotel in a nice location that is only 5 minutes
walk from the beach, close to the shops, transport links, restaurants and bars. It also has great staff who will make you feel valued and welcome.

  • Liked — Excellent staff, good location
  • Disliked — Slow lifts
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

I stayed in this hotel with my friend during our backpacking tour of Brazil. Staying in a hotel was a splash out treat in our efforts to recover from dirty hostels and communal bathrooms.

On arrival to the hotel we were greeted by staff that actually wanted our trade and their hospitality extended throughout stay. Our room was a reasonable size and immactuately clean. The room had a lovely little balcony that overlooked a bustling street and caught the sunset. The breakfast was faultless. I'd have no problem staying here again though i would look a proper view of the Copacabana!

  • Liked — location, staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2006

First off, the service of the hotel is very well and the people at the front desk speak pretty fluent english. Even the doormen were really kind and spoke in little conversations. When you first walk in it seems very elegant with nice marble flooring and very nice furniture with a bar on the side. Elevators take FOREVER to move up and down the hotel, but there is I think 12 floors so take your pick on elevator or stairs. The rooms themselves are very plain, nothing fancy at all, but overall a decent and clean room. There's two things about the location of the hotel. One is that it is very close to the Copacabana Beach, which is very beautiful and a very big joy and great for relaxation.The flip side is that the hotel is right in the center of things as far as the neighborhood. Everything is so close to each other, almost no breathing room.Couple tips for Brazil in general..DO NOT go out at night, in can be very, very dangerous with easy pickpocketers..If you're going to buy something off of a vendor, DO NOT just pay what they ask. Drop the price 15-20 Reals and bargain a little. They can't say no cause they'd rather get something then nothing, especially from an american. Last, just have fun! Brazil is a beautiful place to visit and recomended it to anyone.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — inter-city location
  • Tips/Secrets — don't get careless in Brazil as fas as saftey goes
  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2006

The hotel could not be located in a better place, it´s near Copacabana, virtually just 2 (small) blocks from the sea front and near some really nice places to eat out. The decoration is a bit outdated and I wouldn´t recommend a nightly stroll on your own, although I never felt unsafe, do get a taxi after the sun is down. Breakfast was simple but tasty. Don´t fall for their tropical breakfast feast: it is a just Continental breakfast but staff is attentive and kind. Be sure to request a room facing Belfort Street as they are bigger, rooms at the rear of the hotel are very smokey and really small.If you´re a looking for a simple hotel but in the heart of fun, then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibiza Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibiza Copacabana Hotel

Address: Rua Belford Roxo 250, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22020010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 214 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibiza Copacabana Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibiza Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ibiza Copacabana
Ibiza Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibiza Copacabana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.