We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean hotel with nice breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Regina to your Saves list
Hotel Regina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ferreira Viana 29 | Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22210-040, Brazil (Botafogo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Zaandam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Good, clean hotel with nice breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

The hotel is conveniently close to the beach (about 5 mins walk), the domestic terminal (about 10 mins drive) and again 5 mins walk from a lot of shops and restaurants. The first impression is very good, the reception area is clean, spacious and staff will speak English. It does tend to get a bit chaotic, especially in the morning or afternoon, but everything will be sorted out in time.

The hallways smell, probably because of some cleaning liquid, but rooms are OK and fitted with airconditioning. Rooms are clean and bathroom is fine as well. Rooms are noisy though, the hotels telephone system is very loud (and can be heard from a other rooms) and some other noises (like the elevator) are loud and clear in your room, add a nosiy airconditioning and you should bring earplugs to get a 5-star sleep quality.

The breakfastbuffet is very nice, lots of choice of fresh fruit, fruit juices, bread and cereal and a limited choice of hot foods. A great choice (included with bookings through booking.com) for the morning. The a-la-carte menu for the evening is of less quality unfortunately. The ordered tenderloin seemed to be a Chuck Steak and the rest of the food was not to good either. Strangest thing was the restaurant advertised all day for a R$25 (incl drinks&dessert) buffet but it is only available on certain days (not mentioned earlier).

Still the hotel is a good choice, especially since free (and fast) wireless internet is included and service overall is good. Do not book your tours with the hotel though, the tours are heavily overpriced (like in most hotels), you can get much better deals online or on the street.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    214
    61
    8
    6
See reviews for
87
69
18
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

A lot of the staff were rude, helping us as little as possible. Some of the staff were wonderful - there was one porter that helped us a lot, and the guy in the restaurant was really friendly. But others completely ignored us - we asked for help with our luggage, and the porter told us to go and ask at the desk. Nobody (except for the guy in the cafe) said 'Thanks for staying here, hope you'll stay again' or anything like that.

The room was OK - the bed was comfortable, and the air conditioning worked. There were lots of plug sockets, a working safe and the bathroom was very clean. However, there was a bad smell from the bathroom most of the time - like sewage backing up the pipe. We had to keep the door closed to block the smell from the bedroom.

The area itself was fairly quiet, so most of the time we were able to sleep. However, a service phone outside our room rang every single morning from about 7am, every few minutes. If it was picked up (which sometimes it wasn't - the phone just rang and rang) then it was followed by a loud conversation. All in all, it was impossible to sleep past 7am any day we were there (we stayed there 5 days).

The breakfast was great, and we enjoyed it. Dinner was OK, if a little expensive (R$25 per person) given there wasn't that much variety, especially for desserts. However, the staff in the restaurant were at least friendly and helpful, unlike most of the reception staff.

In summary, it felt like staying in a private room at a youth hostel, instead of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed here for carnival 2011. Modern clean hotel, friendly staff, always willing to help. Breakfast was amazing!!!! Full buffet. Hotel is just across the road from buses into copacabana, leblon, ipanema and leme. Easy to get to Corcovado and sugar loaf mountain. Loads of restaurants within 2 mins walking and catete tube station just around the corner. Awesome power shower!! As a couple we would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

The hotel is well located, centralized with a metro station and bus stops nearby, so its easy go to the turistic places, there's a lot of restaurants nearby . The rooms are quite comfortable and very clean. The employees are very polite and helpful. The breakfast is wonderful, varied and tasty. Worth the price paid

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2010

Overall, I can truly recommend Hotel Regina. The area around the Hotel is suprisingly pretty good for (daily/non-exclusive) shopping and food. The hotel is located directly at a Metro station, so that you can escape easily. The rooms and the service are ok. The staff at the front desk can speak English, which might be helpful for some travelers. The buffet for breakfast (included in our deal) was very good and compared to other hotels in this prize range in Brazil on of the best ones.

The only complaint I had, was the booking of taxi tours. Due to our tight travel schedule, we had to make arranged taxi tours. The trip to Corcovado and to Pão de Açúcar was 50 Reais per person. That is a pretty rip-off due to the fact, that we had to pay any additional costs. So probably, do not book a taxi tour with one of the waiters at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

I was going to attend a two-day meeting and called Hotel Regina for reservations. I was told to confirm my request through email, and I did it. Right after, I received an email confirming my reservation and the fare.
Once I got there, after a whole day of meeting, around 7 PM, I was told there was no reservation for me. I don't use to print anything unless it is explicitly marked as necessary, so I didn't have the printed copy of that confirmation email. I suggested I could show them right there on the front desk computer, then the woman in charge, called Maria, ended that conversation in these (or equivalent) words:
"There is no room available, even if you show me any paper. I suggest you walk two blocks in that direction and try to find a place in another hotel called...".
First: they seem to have no control over the reservation process;
Second: they did not allow me to check my email and show them I had a reservation;
Third: in total lack of professionalism, the attendant "suggested" that I started walking in search for another available room somewhere else.
What else can I say? Don't run that risk, there are plenty of good hotels in Rio.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed in Regina for an overnight in Rio and were very pleased with the clean and comfortable rooms. A great choice for families as they have quad rooms.
Excellent breakfasts.
Contact the hotel directly if you are booking last minute, we got a great deal.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: Rua Ferreira Viana 29 | Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22210-040, Brazil
Phone Number:
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Botafogo
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#28 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#41 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Regina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.