We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location by day, not by night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Guanabara Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Guanabara Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Presidente Vargas, 392 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20071, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent location by day, not by night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Excellent rooms and exquisite restaurant. The hotel location is excellent if you're on a business trip, since it is located in the downtown middle, close to subway station. The hotel area may be dangerous at night, so don't wander around, specially if you are a foreigner tourist.

Room Tip: All rooms are equally nice. Upper floors have a nice view of the President Vargas Ave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    392
    186
    35
    9
See reviews for
54
72
42
531
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed there recently for one night with breakfast included. The hotel is downtown and therefore if you are doing business downtown it is very convenient.
The rooms were large, mine included a set of table and chairs in a separate annex to the room, but they are dated - as are the bathrooms. The room was very clean though, as was the hotel generally.
The bed was very comfortable.
I went down for breakfast at 830 and it was very busy, however service was good and the buffet was freshly stocked, with a large selection of cooked and baked goods. A good selection of drinks too.
My only negative comment is that check out was extremely slow and frustrating.
Generally, if you want a hotel in this area, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

My colleague and I stayed here at the end of a week of business meetings in Rio, having stayed in a highly unsatisfactory hotel earlier in the week.

The Windsor is a good business hotel if you need to stay in Centro. It's well located and staff are very helpful and accommodating. Those at the front desk have good English and are very hospitable. Rooms are large and clean with good, quiet air conditioning units. Bathrooms have plenty of towels and good lighting as well as a powerful shower and jacuzzi bath.

A nice touch for those on business is the mini "office" just inside the bedroom door which has a good sized table and 2 chairs, making it possible to have meetings in your room without feeling like you're meeting in a bedroom. Very useful when travelling with others and needing to collaborate on work.

Food-wise, it's buffet all the way. That could get boring after a while, and it's true the restaurant has zero atmosphere (and really horrible artwork), but it suited us very well as we had a packed schedule (underestimated how long it takes to get anywhere in Rio traffic using Rio taxis...) and we were able to grab and go. Breakfast had a good selection of juices, pastries, fruit, meats etc. and good coffee. Dinner and lunch buffets also had plenty of variety and interesting (über-sweet!) Brazilian desserts. Restaurant service was friendly and efficient.

There is a bar on the roof as well as a pool (didn't have a dip, no time!) and nice views over the city and the water and mountains.

As our return flight was at 11pm, we wanted to keep our rooms and check out in the evening. The hotel offered us a half day rate for this, which was very reasonable.

Despite the location, even the rooms overlooking Av Presidente Vargas are quiet.

All in all, a very good experience. It may not be the world's most stylish hotel and the decor is very dated and spartan, but it's clean, reliable, friendly and a world away from our experience in another Centro hotel earlier in the week.

Room Tip: If you are a business traveller, make sure you get a room with the separate "office" at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

accesibility : 9/10 - 20-30 minutes from airport.

hospitality : 8/10

food : 9/10 - i love brazillian food :-) though they should improve dessert, and real juices pls.

room: 8/10- good, pretty good. Free wifi :-)

OVERALL: 8/10 - DECENT HOTEL WITH HOSPITABLE STAFF.





Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Due to weather in the USA, our flight from Rio was canceled. Tam Airlines gave us vouchers for dinner and a room at the Windsor Guanabara. We spent only about 6 hours at the hotel. We found it to be completely acceptable. The dinner buffet had decent options; the room was clean. I think the rating based on our short visit only at night is lower than it might have been if we had time to ask the hotel for a room with a functioning air conditioner. The room was hot and the light was dim. But really it was fine for what we needed. However, we payed nothing, so I can't complain. Better by far than a cot at the airport.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights, great location for travelling if your not a beach bum and like the hustle and bustle of city life, about 60 BR from the Airport, use a company inside and they give you a ticket for a registered cab, they all speak english, very helpful.
My room was always clean and good furnish, with air con. The staff were always helpful and service is great. Breakfast was a buffet style with everything you can imagine,. The most thing I enjoyed was siiting on the terrace on the skyscraper roof (has nice outside pool ,and adjacent gym, sauna, best of all after a day of meetings overlooking the bay and chilling out with a cold drink. Ideal business stop but with the replication of a beach hotel at half the price, but your only a 20 min drive from the beach anyway, also there is the harbour nearby (5 mins) and good sight seeing...dont be put off, they were helpful and nice people.. or just use as a stop over..100%

Room Tip: get one at the top, views !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was in Barra for business and had to extend my stay during a long weekend. I tried to find a hotel in Copacabana, but everything was fully booked and I ended up at the Windsor Guanabara. I was of course initially a little disappointed that I could not stay anywhere near a beach, but I have to admit that I started to love this hotel the longer I was there.

My room was nothing special, but comfortable, quiet and really clean. The furniture was a little dated except for a brand new Samsung TV. The WIFI internet worked without any problems and was fast. The staff was very friendly and really understands what service is all about.

What surprised me most was the restaurant. There is an excellent breakfast buffet and also in the evenings there is a very good buffet and an a la carte menu as well. As already pointed out, the rooftop swimming pool is very small, but it is nice to go up there just for the view. I can certainly recommend this hotel when on business in Rio.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Guanabara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Guanabara Hotel

Address: Av. Presidente Vargas, 392 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20071, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#40 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Guanabara Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Windsor Guanabara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Guanabara Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Guanabara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.