We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel but you won't sleep late” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Princesa Isabel, 263 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22011010, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 217 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Houston
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel but you won't sleep late”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Windsor Plaza is a nice hotel a couple of blocks from the Copacabana beach. The halls and rooms have hard flooring, which makes it a little noisy. Also, the plumbing is quite noisy. When an adjoining room flushes the commode early in the morning, it is loud enough to wake you. They also cleaned the room above us both mornings at 7:30 AM. This involved sweeping and moving furniture. It sounded like the cleaning was actually going on in our room.

Other than the noise, it was a good stay. It's a good hotel for the price. As you know, Rio is crazy expensive.

Room Tip: The roof top pool is nice and has a great view of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeubeBrigagao, General Manager at Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us. Your opinion is truly important to us and to other Trip Advisor users.
We are glad to know that you've enjoyed your stay in Rio and we hope to welcome you again really soon.
Sincerely,
Neube Brigagão
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    328
    107
    25
    5
See reviews for
128
135
27
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Dakar, Senegal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed for 5 days in the hotel, room is pricey and very small. I could not fit into the bed. I did take the superior luxe double room, thinking it would be worth it, but i ended up paying more money for nothing. Staff was really polite, reason for the 2 stars.
The breakfast buffet was good too.
The rooms are noisy, u can hear bathrooms running in the hotel which is a big no no for me

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeubeBrigagao, General Manager at Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for the time dedicated to this evaluation. Unfortunately our rooms were not up to your expectations and for now all I can do is to promise to take your words in consideration for future improvements.
Should you decide to give us a secong chance it will be a great pleasure to help.
Sincerely,
Neube Brigagão
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The choices in Copacabana are so so many yet to find the right one at the right budget can be tricky. I based my choice on review rate and price since I do have a limited budget to spend on hotel. The location of the hotel could not be any better. It is situated in a main street just few blocks from the famous copacabana beach on the right and equally famous Rio Sul shopping center on the left. And in between and behind many shops and supermarkets. The staff were just great. They spoke good English and helped us when ever we needed information. They changed my room when the AC in the one given to me did not work. Breakfast was included in the hotel but to me it was way too simple and basic. The hotel was clean and taken care. My only complaint I guess will be that the rooms were too small, though they were clean and beds comfortable. Also no sound proofing between the rooms so I could hear the TV blaring from the next room and people getting ready for the night out.
For the price paid for the place I would say it is pricy but considering the place and comparing it to other hotels in the area, this hotel is reasonable. I enjoyed what Rio had to offer and I did like the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Staff is polite. This is the only plus. Rooms are small and with old furniture and finishings. Beds are uncomfortable. Rooms are noisy (noise coming both from inside and outside). Quality of breakfast food is very low. Orange juice is water with a few drops of tasteless synthethic orange concentrate. Pool on top floor is more like a bath tub. You arrive at night after a long distance flight and fancy a nice sleep and all you want to do is runaway from this place... definitely not worth staying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeubeBrigagao, General Manager at Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking your time to criticize your stay at the Windsor Plaza. I am really disappointed that our hotel was not up to your expectations as our efforts are always to make a trip to Rio something to be remembered. Our guests needs are our priority and for that reason I assure you that your impressions will be considered for future improvements in our facilities.
Sincerely,
Neube Brigagão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My mother and I stayed at this hotel and the reviews are spot on. The front desk staff is polite and they speak English well. The rooms are small but clean and adequate. The breakfast buffet is well supplied. Dinner buffet is fine, as well, if you don't want to venture out. We received turn down service, every night. Wi-Fi may be slow at times.

The window in the fourth floor room we had looked on to a patio of some sort facing what may have been a residential building. We kept the curtains closed. Perhaps instead of saying the walls are thin I would say that the doors are thin because I could hear footsteps, conversation, etc. in the hallway.

The hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to the airport but you must make a reservation in advance. I suggest doing so early to make sure the time slot you want/need is available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeubeBrigagao, General Manager at Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am glad that you and your mother had a pleasant stay at the Windsor Plaza. I would also like to thank for sharing your experience with other trip advisor guests.
It will be a pleasure to have you as our guest again in the future. Rio de Janeiro is waiting for you!
Cordially,
Neube Brigagão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here the last 2 months.
The front desk is well maned with english speaking and polite personell.
The rooms are nice and I dont find them noisy as others claim. Breakfast buffe is nice. the lunch buffe and the dinner buffe is pretty much the same as the dinner. But if you like the lunch that shouldent be a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeubeBrigagao, Gerente geral at Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for the time you spent doing this evaluation and also for sharing it with the world. We are really glad to hear that your comments are based in two diferent experiences, which certainly will be considered by those who consult Travelclick before booking their rooms.
The Windsor Plaza Hotel is now waiting for your third visit!
Please feel free to contact me in any case.
Sincerely,
Neube Brigagão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights and we were very comfortable. While the room was quite small, and had no view, it was very clean and comfortable. The bed was particularly good. The staff at check-in and those involved in room service were excellent. The buffet breakfast was also very good, although the staff are a bit "enthusiastic" about removing plates, sometimes when still eating! The hotel was also well located in terms of accessing bus services, convenience stores and just a short walk to the Rio Sul shopping centre. It is unfortunate that the areas surrounding the hotel are not so nice, but that's a separate story.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeubeBrigagao, General Manager at Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
I would like to thank you for taking some of your time to share your experience with us and with other Tripadvisor users. I`m sure that your comments will be of great value for them as they were for us.
It will be a great pleasure to have you staying with us again in the future.
Sincerely,
Neube Brigagão
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel

Address: Avenida Princesa Isabel, 263 | Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22011010, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#27 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#29 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renewed in 1999, the Windsor Plaza Hotel has become the perfect choice for business travelers who also wants to enjoy the wonders of Rio de Janeiro. Its facilities were designed to attend the highest expectations of those who need a nice place to work and relax. Our location is simply perfect as we are located just as close to downtown as to the main touristic spots in Rio. The hotel offers 24 hours room service, free high speed internet, cable tv with English, German, French Spanish and Italian spoken channels, beach service, laundry, 2 digital telephone lines in the room, business center and fitness center. We also offer a free transfer to / from the International and local airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Plaza Copacabana
Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Plaza Copacabana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.