We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, convenient location with great staff ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Florida Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Florida Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Florida Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ferreira Viana 81 | Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22210040, Brazil   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 246 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel, convenient location with great staff ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Windsor Florida for 7 nights and it is in a good location, right next to the metro station, which makes it convenient to get to other parts of Rio. The complimentary buffet breakfast was the best I had during my 3 week vacation in Brazil, as the food is of a good quality and there's a great selection.
The rooms are nice, spacious, clean and well designed and there is also a rooftop pool within the hotel that overlooks Christ the Redeemer. The food and drinks in the pool bar are good and reasonably priced, so it's definitely worth a visit.
Only downside to the hotel was the temperamental WiFi in the room and during our stay there were ongoing construction works, so there was a lot of hammering and sawing from 8:30am, which was less than ideal!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here during the World Cup, we had received a deal through an online booking site so it was cheaper then originally quoted. The hotel is located in Flamengo which is 15 minutes by subway to Copacabana beach. During the day the area is nice, however after 9 pm I would use caution when walking around at night, but location is good if you cant get a spot in Copacabana. The breakfast was great with fresh fruit and all the usual items decent Brazilian hotels offer. The staff were nice enough, we had no issues with the hotel during the stay or in the area as well. It is 5 minutes away from Lapa which is a plus as well. Do bear in mind this was during the World Cup so there was police all over the place. The subway is literally across the road from the hotel so transport is not an issue. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikemba Lionel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel is a three star at best. The service is lacking, has no bar, the breakfast buffet with vey little options, no hair dryier in the room, expensive bottled water and rude concierges. The hotel was under construction or remodeling the 4 days we stayed.
Not worth the price at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corisAtlantaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Obviously during the world cup, everyone is trying to make a profit and that is ok, but at least do an effort to try to provide a service that matches your price. Not a great location, expensive and noisy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank popskunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

If the hotel itself was as a good as the staff, this stay would have been a home run, er, goal! Many of the front desk staff spoke English, which was good for us since our Portuguese is minimal. The room itself was clean and spacious, but the AC was marginal at best. The walls are a little thin as we heard the television from the next door room. The rooftop pool had amazing views of the city. The hotel is a very close 200 yard walk to the Catete subway station, which is a convenient 4 stops away from Copacabana. We were in town for the World Cup and everything was crazy busy but the staff was very friendly. The complimentary breakfast was ok. As noted by others, the hotel is in a residential area.

Room Tip: The higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captainnole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We looked for a suitable hotel for our stay in Rio de Janeiro during the World Cup. This one was well priced, not price gouging like so many around Rio. It is excellently located in the Catete Bario, next to Flamengo. Given the reputation that Rio de Janeiro has for some less than safe neighborhoods we were delighted to find this hotel on a side street just off the main Rua do Catete. The Catete metro station was about 50 m from the hotel and the main Largo do Machado about five minutes walk down the street.
We used the metro and the numerous bus lines to get around the city, to visit Corcovado - where the large statue of Christ is located, Ipanema, Copacabana, and the Jardim Botanico.
The room was well appointed, clean, ample hot water and quiet, even though in the middle of the big city.
On top was a small, but clean swimming pool area with an adjacent bar.
The restaurant was very large and quite busy at breakfast time. The breakfast, included with the room tariff, was well stocked with a wide range of fruit and pastries and cereals and just about everything you could want.
In room WiFi was excellent. It was speedy, reliable, and supported regular and VPN access to the internet at large. Also provided in the room was a safe large enough to accommodate laptops and tablets while you are away sightseeing.
The only thing missing was any appreciable lobby seating or meeting. The bar was just a few tables gathered in the corner, but give we were in the heart of a neighborhood in the city that presented no issue as we were able to stroll out into the locale and enjoy the hustle and bustle of Rio, and feel completely safe.
If I visit Rio again I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel. It rates as top value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWycombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We ended up going to Rio last minute while in Brazil for The World Cup. The pricing per night was around $450 USD which is crazy for what we got. But, it was during the World Cup, so I understand that prices were inflated.

The first room we were shown was teeny tiny and smelled like an overuse of floral deodorant to cover up the smell of cigarettes. I explained to them that we didn't want to stay in there and we were given another room with a bit more space. It was an average room. We were there for just 2 nights and spent most of our time out of the room so it wasn't too bad.

The location is not great. I would personally stay in Barra, Ipanema, Leblon or Copacabana. However, it is right across the street from the Metro so getting to Ipanema and Copacabana was very easy.

The customer service there is not great. We went diving one morning and we had to leave at 6:00 AM. We grabbed some fruit for breakfast and put it on a plate. They chased us out of the hotel asking about the plate. You'd think we were running out with their register. We also asked for more towels and they made us give a dirty towel for a clean towel. It was just odd. Lastly, I asked for a sewing kit 4 times and they never brought it to us. Their response was I already asked for you. Sounded rude, but it could have been a language barrier. All and all the customer service was lacking.

This hotel is "fine" but not a place I would want to stay again. There are better properties out there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannabrooke7h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
Merlin Copacabana Hotel
#17 of 246 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Copacabana
Orla Copacabana Hotel
Orla Copacabana Hotel
#72 of 246 in Rio de Janeiro
3.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
Promenade Barra First
#55 of 246 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
Royal Rio Palace Hotel
#70 of 246 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 1,013 reviews
Copacabana
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
Miramar Hotel by Windsor
#2 of 246 in Rio de Janeiro
4.5 of 5 stars 1,595 reviews
Copacabana
Windsor Copa Hotel
Windsor Copa Hotel
#20 of 246 in Rio de Janeiro
4.0 of 5 stars 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Florida Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Florida Hotel

Address: Rua Ferreira Viana 81 | Flamengo, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22210040, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#17 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#26 Family Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Florida Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Windsor Florida Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Windsor Florida
Windsor Florida Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing